23
Mar
09

Following Up With Heroes

Mr. Darcy - sigh

Mr. Darcy - sigh

Following Up With Heroes

It seems only logical to follow up the heroine discussion with … heroes. And I have to confess that though I demand a strong heroine I secretly read for the hero I can fall in love with. And there are so many good ones out there. So, I’m making a list, and checking it twice (or maybe twenty times), of some of my favorite heroes. And I’m going to limit myself to five.

First has to be my husband (and not just for family political reasons), he’s the quintessential strong, silent type and is both wise and kind. So while he’s not much chop at a dinner party he’s great in a crisis. And I think there’s something of him in all the heroes I’ve written.

So now that’s ticked that one off the list…

2. Mr. Darcy, (Paula you really do have to read some Austen) What’s not to love about a great looking (in my mind he’ll now forever be Colin Firth striding out of that lake in the BBC version), kind and wealthy (have you checked out Pemberly) guy?

3. Daniel Craig aka James Bond. Suave and deadly fighter of the bad guys – also very nice in a pair of swimming trunks.

4. I’m a recent convert to Buffy so I’m going to put Angel in here. Someone else fighting for the good guys. And there’s such a great conflict between Angel and Buffy – the vampire in love with the vampire slayer. I’ve yet to reach the episodes where Spike comes into play as a hero (not really sure how that’s going to work) and it’s hard to imagine preferring him over Angel but apparently some do, so I’ll withhold my judgment.

5. Given that I’m a creature of the moment I’m going to put in Miles Calverleigh because I’ve just read Black Sheep by Georgette Heyer and he was great. (And I’m not going to mention Suzanne Brockmann’s SEALs or Susan Elizabeth Phillips football players, or Morelli or Ranger, or …you get the picture. And I can’t believe I’ve got no cowboys on my list because I do so love a good cowboy).

So, I’d love to hear who yours are, who I’ve forgotten and who I should be reading.

25 Responses to “Following Up With Heroes”


  1. March 23, 2009 at 1:16 pm

    okay, I consider myself told I shall attempt to read some Austen this year!

    Heroes – OMG, do we have a few weeks??? A hero to me is a guy who may not be outwardly ‘good’ (and let’s face it, some are very, very bad!) but as soon as you read/watch him in action, you know there’s more going on under the surface. They seem to have a strong sense of wrong and right. A few popular heroes of mine would be Seeley Booth (Bones), Mal Reynolds (Firefly) and Logan Echolls (Veronica Mars). I’ve also been watching Season 2 of Life on Mars (the UK version) and even though I adore Sam Tyler, I find Gene Hunt is an amazingly complex hero. He totally makes the series, I reckon 😀

  2. 2 Sandra
    March 23, 2009 at 1:59 pm

    Hey Paula – Firefly’s next on my list to watch once I finish Buffy (only about three or four more seasons to go I think) but I have seen Serentity – loved that one too. And now it looks like I’d best add Bones, Veronica Mars and Life on Mars. Not sure whether to thank you for that or not?

    Was thinking also about The Famous Fives, probably the series that got me hooked into reading, and wondering whether I had a secret crush on Julian! And I can see a generation of teenage girls coming through who will have Edward Cullen as their gold standard (though he didn’t really do it for me – possibly because I’m no longer fifteen).

  3. March 23, 2009 at 3:36 pm

    Hm… some of my favorites are SEP heroes – but apparently the less read books -Alex from Kiss an Angel, Ren from Breathing Room… love them.
    Also Cal from Bet Me by Jennifer Crusie. And a lot of people disagree on this one, but Derek from Dreaming of You by Lisa Kleypas. Or Jack in Suddenly You (same author.)
    I love Simon in the Real Deal by Lucy Monroe because he’s so well… inept!
    Or the hero in “The Trouble with Valentine’s Day” by Rachel Gibson. (I can’t remember his name >.<) Oooohhh and any and all the heroes in Susan Lyon’s “Awesome Foursome” books. 🙂

    Ok I’ll stop now. (I guess I’m slightly less attached to on screen heroes – though I did love Kevin McKidd in “Rome” – and now he’s on Grey’s so I might have to start watching that again…)

  4. March 23, 2009 at 6:14 pm

    oooh, limecello! completely forgot about Alex in Grey’s Anatomy. He has some wonderful backstory 😀 (the writer in me coming out!)

  5. March 23, 2009 at 6:17 pm

    Sandra – I actually watched Serenity before Firefly, then went back afterwards to see it in context. Sooo much more rewarding. And I ADORE the characters and the light/dark shades in Veronica Mars. And the dialog absolutely sparkles too. And well, Bones… what can I say but David Boreanaz? (Although TJ Thine has a smokin’ body underneath that nerdiness).

  6. 6 Sandra
    March 23, 2009 at 7:11 pm

    I need help – I’ve just remembered another great hero (although it was the pairing in the book that really worked), only trouble is I’ve leant the book to someone and I have a complete blank on the title, author and even character names. Alzheimers perhaps? I can see them as I visulaised them, but that’s no help.

    It was a historical, the hero had had a miserable childhood, mother left father for another man, was never spoken of again, the hero was sent off to boarding school etc and basically thought he was unloveable and became something of a degenerate, but never touched ladies of class/breeding. Which of course the heroine was – sweet and innocent but very strong she clashes with him when trying to get her dimwitted brother away from the hero’s influence. The hero unintentionally compromises the heroine and has to marry her. Does anyone know what on earth I’m talking about?

  7. 7 Sandra
    March 23, 2009 at 7:12 pm

    Limecello – I loved Alex from Kiss an Angel. And Bet Me is on my list to read. I really enjoy Jenny Cruisie but still have a lot of her backlist to work through. It’s a tough job but someone’s got to do it…

  8. 8 Rachel Bailey
    March 23, 2009 at 9:40 pm

    Oh, great topic! I agree with Paula – how long have we got? 😀

    My favourites: Mr Darcy and other Austen heroes, like Edmund and Captain Wentworth; Oh, yes, Cal from Bet Me, and the other Crusie heroes like Nick from Crazy for You, and Davy from Faking it; Rupert from Loretta Chase’s Mr Impossible; Harry Pye from Elizabeth Hoyt’s The Leopard Prince; All the SEP heroes; Spike from Buffy; Mal from Firefly; Gideon from Anne Gracie’s The Perfect Rake… I could go on all day!

    Sandra, is that book you’re talking about Lord of Scoundrels?

  9. 9 Minna
    March 24, 2009 at 3:12 am

    Well, there’s agent Booth from Bones, Jarod from Pretender, those brothers from Numb3rs…

  10. 10 Sandra
    March 24, 2009 at 6:01 am

    Rachel – yes it was Lord of Scoundrels – the name finally came to me at about 3am when I should have been sleeping, then I spent far too long deciding whether I really did like him as a hero, finally reaching the conclusion that while I wouldn’t want him for myself, he was still a great hero and perfect for the heroine.

    Minna – I’m with you on Bones, and I’ll look out for Pretender and Numb3rs, haven’t seen either of those yet.

    Helen Kirkman also writes heroes to die for (and who are willing do die for their heroines).

    I’ve been thinking too that I read some authors for their heroines and some for their heroes. But of course it’s the heroes that I fall half in love with. I especially like it when along with the other necessary hero traits they show a sense of humour.

  11. March 24, 2009 at 8:44 am

    I must read this Mr Impossible! 🙂 One hero I adore is Roarke from JD Robb (aka Nora Roberts’) Eve Dallas series. So smooth and capable and there for his lady. A real hero, imb 🙂

  12. March 24, 2009 at 5:34 pm

    So many heroes to choose from. My favourite though is Diana Gabaldon’s Jamie. Just adore him. Of course, there is Mr Darcy, all the heroes from Anne Gracie’s Perfect series (love all different but perfect for the heroines), Quinn from Keri Arthur’s Riley Jensen Guardian series, and I love all Crusie’s heroes.

    From the screen, definitely Cap’n Mal from Firefly/Serenity, Angel from Buffy/Angel, David Boreanaz who is also a great character as Booth in Bones, Dean from Supernatural, Helo and Apollo from Battlestar Galactica, and yes, there is something about Alex in Grey’s Anatomy.

    Then there’s Robert Downey Jr in Iron Man, Hugh Jackman as Wolverine and Van Helsing (actually Hugh Jackman as anyone really), Gerry Butler as The Stranger in Dear Frankie & as King Leonides in 300. 🙂

  13. 13 Sandra
    March 25, 2009 at 4:34 am

    Robyn – looks like I’d better look out for Mr Impossible too.

    Eleni – yes Jamie was lovely – might just have to go back and re-read my favourite bits of that book.

  14. 14 Sandra
    March 25, 2009 at 4:37 am

    I’ve also been thinking of a Kathleen Eagle book I read quite a few years ago. What impressed me the most was that at the beginning I really didn’t like the hero but by the end, and without changing who he was, just showing us more about him I guess, I was totally in love. Sadly, I can’t actually remember which of her books it was, but I think she may even have done that more than once for me. Quite clever. Would love to know if anyone has really sold you on a hero that you didn’t initially like.

  15. March 25, 2009 at 6:42 am

    On a hero I initially didn’t like, Laura Lee Guhrke has it down in THE MARRIAGE BED. Honestly. There was nothing to like about this hero and quite a bit to irritate about the heroine too but LLG amazingly, in my opinion, brought the story, and the hero and heroine, all together in the end.

    My favourite heroes? Probably any one of Suzanne Brockmann’s Seals although Muldoon and Sam Starett both figure quite strongly in my memory. But to my mind, you can’t beat a Linda Howard hero, ever! I would list them all, starting with Black Niall in SON OF THE MORNING, but it would seriously take far far far too long to list them all (and would mean I’d have to dust my bookcase 😉 )

    Eleni’s spot on with Anne Gracie’s heroes. They’re so believable with their heroic traits combined with real men. LH’s guys, well, yeah, I’ll admit it, they’re totally off the richter scale for reality issues, but I think that’s what I love about reading them. I love that completely larger than life hero–the complete knight in shining armour who, okay, can be a bit of a b*st*rd sometimes. That said, I do enjoy reading guys with a touch of reality blended with the heroic. I think I just love heroes.

    Mmmmm, great topic Sandra. I’m sitting here with a sappy smile on my face and a big sigh just thinking about the heroes in the books I’ve loved the most.

  16. 16 Minna
    March 25, 2009 at 7:30 am

    Oh, and then there’s that guy from the series called Life.

  17. 17 Rachel Bailey
    March 25, 2009 at 11:19 am

    Heroes I’ve not liked at the beginning but loved by the end? Most of Susan Elizabeth Phillips’s heroes. Like Gabe Bonner in Dream a Little Dream – he was horrible at the start and then in one scene she turns it completely on its head. Bobby Tom Denton in Heaven, Texas – I couldn’t foresee that I could ever like him at the start but I *loved* him by the end. SEP is an absolute master at that.

  18. 18 azteclady
    March 25, 2009 at 11:55 am

    Oh man, the list of my written and film fiction would be loooooong!

    Roarke from the In Death books for sure, and Jamie from the Outlander books, definitely. Most if not all of Suzanne Brockmann’s heroes as well…

    Gah, I could go on forever, seriously.

    In film, I have two current favorites: Pierce Brosnan as Desmond Doyle in Eveylyn and Gerard Butler as ‘the stranger’ in Dear Frankie

  19. 19 Sandra
    March 25, 2009 at 5:34 pm

    I’m with you Yvonne on enjoying thinking about the heroes – have a hankering to read, so when I finish what I’m working on (hopefully by tomorrow) I’m going to search out Son of the Morning. I read it on loan from a friend but think it’s one I need to own.

    Minna – I don’t think we have Life (the show, that is) here but I’ll look for it in case we get it later. (Correct me if I’m wrong, someone).

    Rachel – you’re right about Bobby Tom, he had some interesting morals, but the heroine soon sorted him out. I don’t remember having a problem with Cal – and sadly I leant that book to a friend who then left the country!

    Azteclady – Pierce Brosnan has long been a favourite of mine (I think partly because he seems like such classic hero material from the little I know of his personal life as well). I haven’t seen Evelyn or Dear Frankie but I’ll add them both to my list. I should have known this blog topic would do wicked things to my To Be Read/Watched list. 🙂

  20. March 26, 2009 at 6:42 am

    Minna, you and I would have a ball with a TV marathon 😀 Sandra, Life is in its 2nd season here – the main actor is actually British! Charlie Crews is a cop, been framed for a mate’s murder and sentenced to life. Gets out after 9 (?) years after an appeal and is awarded millions by the state because of false imprisonment. So the whole 1st season is about him finding out who framed him and having him adjust to the outside world. His character is wonderfully done, and he’s partnered with a female screwup (and she’s got demons of her own). 2nd season and you can tell the writers are having heaps of fun.

    BTW just finished 2nd season of Life of Mars… OMG SUCH brilliant writing! Do you find, you writers, that there’s some great writing lessons in TV series?

  21. 22 Sandra
    March 26, 2009 at 1:45 pm

    News Flash!

    Our very own Nalini has been nominated for a RITA award for her psy/changeling book Mine to Possess – the RITA’s being the romance industry’s equivalent of an Oscar. Go Nalini! The winners will be announced at the Romance Writers of America’s national conference in Washington DC in July (at least I think they’re in July – could be August).

  22. 23 azteclady
    March 27, 2009 at 4:57 am

    (It is in July and in DC—and I’m hoping to be able to sneak in to the literacy signing *crossing fingers* who knows who I’ll find sitting behind a table signing their books?????)

  23. March 27, 2009 at 10:06 am

    :mrgreen: Aztec Lady! I know our own Anna Campbell will be there this year, so drop by and say hi!

  24. 25 Sandra
    March 27, 2009 at 2:30 pm

    I so wish I could be there too. Maybe next year.


Comments are currently closed.

