09
Mar
09

What do you like to win?

I’ve just run a whole lot of contests, giving away ARCs, signed copies of books, and a gift certificate to a bookstore, so I’ve got prizes on the brain. šŸ˜‰ And now I’m going to pick your brains’ on the topic.

My question is: as a reader, what do you most like to win? Do books top the list? ARCs? Gift certs? Promo items?

20 Responses to “What do you like to win?”


  1. March 9, 2009 at 11:30 pm

    Heck, I like all of the above. šŸ™‚ ARCs are always a terrific thing, previous books are also great, and gift certs to get more books are extra cool. So me, I just like anything. šŸ™‚

    Lois

  2. 2 Willa
    March 10, 2009 at 12:25 am

    Books, books, books and the odd ARC thrown in for good measure šŸ˜‰

  3. 3 azteclady
    March 10, 2009 at 12:33 am

    I like swag–tote bags, post it notes, pens, what have you. However, that doesn’t really make me buy an author’s books.

    The best promo, as far as I’m concerned, is the author’s own books (and ARCs of course!), followed closely by other author’s books with that author’s recommendations, and topped with GC for book stores.

  4. 4 Ellen
    March 10, 2009 at 5:12 am

    I guess I’m the same– books, books, books followed by gift certificates for more books and if you throw in a little chocolate that works too.

  5. March 10, 2009 at 8:43 am

    I agree that anything is better than nothing!

    I prefer to win ARCs! Who doesn’t enjoy reading and reviewing a “not yet released” book? I absolutely love it.

    If not ARCs, then of course already released books are cool. Even better if they are signed copies.

    Gift certificates are fun too, but they are so impersonal. It’s money so you really can’t complain. Does that make sense?

    Great topic!

  6. 6 Jane
    March 10, 2009 at 9:18 am

    Books are the best prize, especially the ARC because you get to read it before everyone else. Getting an out of print book from an author’s backlist is also special. Gift certificates are great, too.

  7. March 10, 2009 at 9:57 am

    As I reader I’ll go with books, as a writer I love PENS! And just as me, I love bling. Trinket type bling with sparkles, like cell phone charms or bag charms, keyrings, that sort of thing.

  8. 8 Kat
    March 10, 2009 at 10:49 am

    Definitely books. ARCs if it’s a favourite author or series. Gift vouchers are good, too, and if there’s an option to get a voucher from a local store, that’s even better (because otherwise, shipping costs to Australia can be shocking).

  9. March 10, 2009 at 12:00 pm

    Books for me as well, including ARCs, and also gift certs, but it depends to which store.

    The only thing I don’t really understand as a giveaway is cover flats, because I don’t get the point of them, but other than anything goes I guess!

  10. March 10, 2009 at 12:10 pm

    Oh, Marg’s comment on cover flats reminded me… I wouldn’t mind winning posters of really good cover art (if by some chance they were made into marketing posters, even if it’s just an tear sheet of ad copy). I’ve seen some absolutely gorgeous covers out there.

  11. March 10, 2009 at 12:20 pm

    What do I most like to win? Books, and ARCs. Otherwise, gift certificates are great too. šŸ™‚ And you did have massive giveaways on your site, Nalini! Yay you! šŸ˜› Too bad I didn’t win anything.

  12. 12 kh
    March 10, 2009 at 2:34 pm

    books are always good, gift cards

  13. March 11, 2009 at 3:25 am

    Oh yeah, totally forgot about the coverflats. I know I’ve seen people out there say they aren’t thrilled with them or know what to do with them — but since I discovered what they were when I got my first one, I just loved them. So yep, if I can’t have a book, I’ll take the cover! LOL šŸ™‚

    Lois

  14. March 11, 2009 at 9:49 am

    Thanks for the comments! It’s really interesting for me to see what readers consider good prizes šŸ™‚

  15. 15 Karen H in NC
    March 12, 2009 at 3:25 am

    Was all of the above an option? But seriously, I really like GC followed by a copy of a new book. Other things I like are coffee mugs, pens, t-shirts, etc imprinted with author logo and/or bookcovers. Handmade bookthong bookmarks are fun too! I love bookmarks and have given them for gifts to my dogearring friends.

  16. 16 Minna
    March 12, 2009 at 5:48 am

    If you want to try some different kind of prizes, here’s some interesting stuff:
    http://www.stupid.com/
    Some of that stuff is fun and even useful, but some of it makes you really wonder about the people who come up with this stuff. My personal favorites from that site are penguin tea timer, harvest your own pearl kit, miss army knife and mini animal paper shredder.
    Oh, and recently someone offered a book safe as a prize. I’ve always wanted one *g*.

  17. 17 Sandra
    March 12, 2009 at 6:06 pm

    Off topic but, CONGRATULATIONS Nalini who’s just made the NY Times and USA Today bestseller lists with Angels’ Blood. Wow. Go you.

  18. March 13, 2009 at 7:23 am

    Thanks, Sandra!! šŸ™‚

  19. 19 Rachel Bailey
    March 14, 2009 at 2:27 pm

    I love books as prizes. šŸ™‚ And the best ones are sometimes from an author’s backlist – ones that are harder for me to find.

    And, huge congrats, Nalini on the bestseller lists!!

  20. March 14, 2009 at 6:22 pm

    Yay!! Congrats Nalini!


Comments are currently closed.

