01
Mar
09

Jan Colley and her Friday Night Mistress

Thanks so much to the Desirabelles for inviting me to blog with you this week. And hello to all my old pals from the Diamonds blog. I am excited to announce the release of my sixth book for Silhouette Desire.

jans-bookFriday Night Mistress began life around Christmas 2007 when for some inexplicable reason, I began to hear Strauss waltzes in my head from morning to night. I have two very old CDs of Strauss’s Famous Viennese waltzes, but suddenly, I couldn’t get the music out of my head so I figured I was meant to write a ball story. My first idea didn’t fly but we eventually wrangled something from the ashes, which turned into two books about Kiwi brothers, Nick and Adam Thorne. I did stage a ball in Friday Night Mistress but as it turned out, the real ball bonanza was relegated to the second story, Adam’s book, which is set in England and Vienna.
 
Friday Night Mistress takes place mostly in Wellington, New Zealand, a pretty city at the bottom of the North Island.   wellington

msoundsNick and his love interest, Jordan, also take a trip on a chartered boat to the Marlborough Sounds, one of the loveliest parts of the country in my opinion. 

Nick Thorne is a financier, a serious, rather conservative man. I fell in love with the Venezuelan supermodel, Enrique Palacios, when I saw him on the Armani Code ad.  A little more delving delivered a wonderful You Tube clip of him in many poses.

armaniThis is one of my favourites (left) – and there actually was a steamy stairwell scene in the book…Gorgeous, intense, purposeful,   he clearly needs a shake-up.   Who better than the flashy, flighty heiress, Jordan Lake, who just happens to be the daughter of Nick’s father’s most hated enemy?

mischa-bartonThat’s Mischa Barton of OC fame (right). Aside from the problems that arise between their families, Jordan has exactly the right amount of flair, notoriety and vulnerability to rock Nick’s ordered and organised world. Nick prides himself on his sense of honour and duty. So much more responsible than his playboy brother, Adam, whom we meet in Friday Night Mistress, and who has Nick shaking his head over the relentless pursuit of his prim and proper PA…

You’ll be happy to know that since I finished writing Adam’s story – which was THE BEST to research – the Strauss music has subsided to an occasional treat.

Now a little story. My neighbor has told me she got goose bumps when she heard Strauss blaring from my house. Apparently the couple who built this house fifty years ago were keen ballroom dancers. We have a lovely big, long lounge with a huge curved window. They used to have dancing afternoons where their friends would come around and they would move the furniture back and waltz around the room. I like that! I always love hearing about different eras in a house’s life. One of our houses was built in 1848 and had a most interesting history – including a suicide – but even Google can’t help me with this place.

I was going to kick off the comments with a question pertaining to family feuds but let’s have some fun. 

house::Shines torch under your chin::  Do you have a snippet of fascinating history from a house you’ve lived in? It can be as creepy, crazy or cuckoo as you like. And if you raise the hairs on the back of my neck or tickle my funny bone, or even just dazzle me with the truth, I have two copies of Friday Night Mistress to give away. Good luck!

40 Responses to “Jan Colley and her Friday Night Mistress”


  1. 1 Pat Cochran
    March 1, 2009 at 9:34 am

    Hi, Jan

    For me, it’s a whole subdivision, not a house! We’ve lived in this house for forty years on June 2.
    Word has it that this area was an old burial site. One family in the first section has reported
    seeing a woman in a long old-fashioned gown, a man in an old-style military uniform, and hearing
    doors opening and closing when there is no one in the house other than the person hearing the sounds.
    We live in section 2: early in residence here, we used to hear faint music in the house and over the
    time here, there have been the sounds of the bedroom doors closing when no one is in that part of the
    house. We inadvertently brought a spirit into our lives: One of my younger sisters passed away due to
    breast cancer in 1975. We became the guardians for her 3 1/2 year old daughter. One day soon after,
    son #1 said he thought Audry had spoken to him. A bit later it became evident that she had come to see
    us. She would announce herself by arriving in a cloud of her favorite Nina Ricci fragrance. I believe
    she came to see how her daughter was doing. The fragrance got so heavy it began to affect my allergies,
    Last year, I finally said to her, “That’s enough, I can’t breathe!” The fragrance has eased back and
    she has visited last earlier this year. My sister lives in section 3: her daughter was changing
    the decor in her room and set new folded linens on the bed. She went to get her brother who was to
    help with the curtains, she wasn’t gone two minutes. When they walked into the room, the folded linens
    were dangling from the non-running ceiling fan. Another thing that happened in their house: a photo
    that sat on a table in the corner of the living room disappeared years ago and has never been seen
    since. BTW, that particular corner is freezing cold all year long!

    Pat Cochran

  2. March 1, 2009 at 12:48 pm

    Oooooh, Pat! My goodness, you have goosebumps running down my back over those stories!

    Jan, lovely to have you here gorgeous!

    Hmm, we had our home built on what used to be farmland but our eldest (3 yrs old at the time) swore a man in a green shirt had been killed by a man in a yellow jacket outside our laundry door. She also referred to the ‘bad Jesus’ ‘the one with sharp teeth.’ Used to set my teeth on edge, I can tell you! Mind you, she also had night terrors when she was about 2 1/2 which scared the living daylights out of me and had me pulling all the freizes and pictures off her walls in the middle of the night because of what she could ‘see’ in them.

    With respect to the green shirt man though, you couldn’t get our kids downstairs near the laundry at night time for years! Even now they hesitate to go in there at night. When we first moved into our house we didn’t have concrete poured outside, nor did we have paint, wallpaper, fences, driveways etc., but once the slab went down she stopped dreaming about the man in the green shirt, thank goodness. Of course, the cat still hisses randomly at the laundry door from time to time…

    And then there was the night my youngest, then about 2, called me to her room and said “can’t you see the sparkles?” I asked what sparkles, and she said, pointing, “there, the ones coming out of the floor.” Honestly, I was not feeling very happy at about that point. Thankfully, with her, that was the only incident. Not bad for a brand new house where you’re supposed to set the ‘soul.’

  3. March 1, 2009 at 7:11 pm

    Jan! Great to see you here and *huge* congrats on Friday Night Mistress. Great title and fabulously scrummy cover 🙂

    I do love ghost stories. Pat, that’s just chilling! Did you feel comforted, in a way, that your sister was visiting?

    Yvonne, I think I’m most freaked out by your cat hissing at the laundry door! ‘The green shirt’ man I can seriously see in a Stephen King novel.

    I have a childhood memory…lying in bed, waiting for sleep, when I heard movement outside my open bedroom door. I focused in the dark and saw a shadowy pair of legs dangling from the ceiling – from the manhole. Frightened out of my brain, I clamped shut my eyes, yanked the blanket up around my neck, and heard the thump as his feet hit the floor.

    Of course, I was seven at the time, and had just finished watching ‘Count Yorga, Vampire’, so perhaps it was imagination 😉

  4. 4 azteclady
    March 2, 2009 at 3:18 am

    *waving* Hi there, Jan! Great to see you here!

    I don’t have many memories of strange happenings, but there is one that still puzzles me, involving a ouija board.

    A group of friends, my sister and I were playing with it when the light in the room turned off, and we left the room screaming. The lights in the rest of the house were on, however, and one of my older brothers scoffed and said that the bulb had probably just burned out. When we reached in to the switch, though, the light came on again.

    I haven’t touched a ouija board since, nor do I plan to 😉

  5. 5 Pat Cochran
    March 2, 2009 at 4:06 am

    Robyn,

    It was comforting to feel the continuing connection and to know she apparently
    was alright! I know she was just keeping an eye on Shannon and now on her 2
    grandsons. On saying that, I recall the boys as babies smiling and cooing at
    the far corner in the living room! That’s the room where Audry visits me!

    Pat Cochran

  6. March 2, 2009 at 6:30 am

    You guys are freaking me out!!

    As a little girl, I lived in a little country town in South Australia and I remember an article in the local papers that was really spooky. Someone was renovating an old homestead into a restaurant and after flagstones were removed from the old wine cellar a ghostly ‘face’ appeared on the stones. Can’t remember the details so I wonder if it had something to do with the Seppeltsfield Winery Ghost, which is something of a local tourist attraction. Apparently the winery was built in the early 1800s by Oscar Benno Seppelt and is said to have turned slightly insane after spending hours confined in his private retreat located behind the trophy cellar. You can go on a summer ghost tour and hear sounds, footsteps above (where there’s no floors!) and see apparitions. Oh, and in the mausoleum of the Seppelt family bloodstains appear on the walls on the anniversary of their deaths (- due to this the Mausoleum was locked and bolted shut in the late 20th century. Moans and whispering can be heard in the dinning hall, which you can hire for functions. Staff and tourists in the garden have heard rifle shots and many tourists have told of cold spots and being pushed by invisible forces.

    Dunno if it’s ALL accurate (blood on the walls???) but I would not like to find out! And who the devil would want to hire the dining hall (which apparently people do)?

  7. March 2, 2009 at 8:27 am

    I’ve just rapidly changed my bedtime reading material. DH is on night shift this week and I *was* going to be reading The Pagan Stone, but remembering how much The Hollow freaked me out there’s no way I’m reading The Pagan Stone without a big strong male in the house at night.

  8. 8 RobynL
    March 2, 2009 at 9:59 am

    One night I awakened and saw a profile of a man standing at the foot of my bed. He was there for a couple of minutes and then disappeared. From that time on I could not sleep with my legs stretched out; I slept in the fetal position. I was just too scared even though the man had done no wrong.

    Off course a bit but at work some nights I hear a walker down the hallway and upon going to investigate which resident is up there is no one. I don’t hear doors shutting but there is no one. The other night I had this happen 3 – 4 times thinking it was the lady from # 14 bedroom who likes to walk at night and day time.
    Go figure. Also, the buzzer went and went but no room number showed up on the board and upon investigation no one needed assistance.

  9. 9 Avi J
    March 2, 2009 at 10:49 am

    Creepy stories. I have a series of incidents to report. I lived on the dorms at my old Culinary arts institute. It was formerly the National Morgue, converted into a school. Many people, including us, always saw people walking through walls in hospital gowns. Then One time my room mate who was resting said “you all get out of my space” we laughed because no one was near her. So she sat up, only to scream shortly afterwards. When we asked her what was wrong, she told us that she felt something warm on her face then she felt something kiss her. Ok we did not sleep properly for weeks. Then On many occasions we saw the main classroom door open and close on its own, we heard that this was the main operating room, so, many dead people were cut open there. To top this I had my Final Culinary exam and alot of us set up camp in an empty class close to the main kitchen. I was slightly injured so I slept early. I opened my eyes shortly after sleeping then I saw my friend on her sleeping bag. I blinked once then I saw nothing, I jumped up ran outside and I was franticly asking if any one was in the room, no one even my friend who I thought I saw, went near there as every one was playing cards. Well no more sleep for me. I was so glad to leave there for good.

  10. 10 Avi J
    March 2, 2009 at 10:51 am

    Oh Hi Jan (Forgot to say that). Love the sound of you book.

  11. 11 Jane
    March 2, 2009 at 11:28 am

    There’s nothing exciting about the building we live in, but when I was in high school, construction workers discovered an African Burial Ground a few blocks from my school. The site dates back to the early 1700s when enslaved Africans weren’t allowed to be buried in a church cemetery. No one knew that this archaeological and sacred site existed in Lower Manhattan. I never felt an spirits or saw anything strange around the area.

  12. 12 limecello
    March 2, 2009 at 1:21 pm

    Hi Jan – loved the post! And wow; always nice to learn about your house – too bad you can’t get more info. Maybe a library?

    As for my house… well I’ve been moving around a lot, but my parents just built their house in 2002, so no stories there. Unless the land was built on something… I always get a little freaked out when you see the news articles where people find out their homes were built on old graveyards…

    So many creepy stories! There were rumors a few buildings on my university’s campus were haunted…

    Also, congratulations on the new books, Jan – they sound great and I can’t wait to read them!

  13. March 2, 2009 at 8:19 pm

    Ooh! Hullo!! I actually forgot I was supposed to be here today. Please forgive me.
    Now I’m wishing I hadn’t dropped in, since dh is on nights and I’m all alone (with just the two hissy cats.) You people are creeping me out!

    Pat!! An entire subdivision, Ye Gods!! Kinda nice to know your sister keeps in touch, and it must be comforting to know it’s actually her (courtesy of the perfume) and not just any old ghostie. Amazing. Thanks for stopping by to fright us all.

  14. March 2, 2009 at 9:50 pm

    Yvonne, I had to go watch Seinfeld to erase the creepy, eerie feeling you instilled with your tales of…creepy eeriness. I have to go down to the laundry now to get sheets to make the bed – passing two cats on the way – and it’s late and dark and I’m all alone. Remind me never to come to your house for the night (not without a vat of wine, anyway.) I do recall my old Minnie cat (she is now 18) staring with huge eyes at the door a couple of times, always when I was alone at night. On a less ghostly and more frightening level, I was having a ciggie outside one night, talking to dh on the phone as he was at work. This was at the backpackers hostel we owned a few years back. Minnie gave me the creeps, kept staring and pacing at the stairs down the side of the house, and I said to dh I was just going to take a peek while I had him on the phone because something had Min rattled. And a strange and yukky looking man was huddled under the stairs, staring at me. I asked what he was doing and he said nothing so I just asked him to get off the property. He went, thank goodness but I didn’t sleep much that night.
    Back to ghosts, that hostel was a place with a ton of history, being built in 1848. One or two of the backpackers over the years had asked if it had a ghost because they had felt something. I was able to find out quite a bit of the history, including a suicide in the sixtes in Room 2. But personally I always felt comforted and safe there.
    Jesus with sharp teeth? Brrrr…

  15. March 2, 2009 at 9:56 pm

    Hi ya Robbie! You have just reminded me I have your Baby Bequest still in my TBR pile. I’ll get on to it ASAP!
    I think sleep creeps are the worst when you’re not quite awake and not quite asleep. I don’t, as a rule, watch anything scary or even read horror stories, because I know they will flood my mind when Les is at work and I get up to go to the loo and freeze halfway across the room. then I usually streak back to bed and spend the next hour with eyes wide open and hardly daring to breath. It’s just not worth it!

  16. March 2, 2009 at 10:01 pm

    Gidday Azteclady, great to see you too! Yes, dabbling with the spirit world is not really my thing, although part of me would like to see a friendly ghost – but I would never see it through, I fear. When my mum died, we spent a few nights in her house afterward. My cousin in Auckland called to say she had been to see a clairvoyant who asked her who the small lady with long silver hair and smoking a cigarette was. She knew it was my mum. The man gave her a message for us. But that night, I was actually sleeping in mum’s bed and the curtain wouldn’t close properly. There was a full moon and I lay in bed and whispered that if mum was there, why wouldnt she give me a message direct. It seemed to me that the moon started to change colour – so what did ole Wussy Pants do? I hid my head under the pillow. No way was I ready to go down that route! Shame really. I do believe there is something there if we could only open our eyes to it, but I am way too gutless to explore.

  17. March 2, 2009 at 10:05 pm

    hi Paula! Hope your conference was fun.
    How fascinating. I love hearing stuff like that – not that I actually ever want to experience it. Sounds very ‘Exorcist’ like.
    Does anyone remember the hype when that movie came out? I did watch it on TV, mostly because I love the Tubular Bells CD. Since watching the film, however, I never listen to it now. Sigh. Get some backbone, girl!

  18. March 2, 2009 at 10:10 pm

    Hi RobynL. Thanks for stopping by.
    How old were you when you saw that? Did you do anything, speak to him? I think that might be my worst nightmare, you feel so vulnerable in bed and I can certainly understand you curling up in a ball to protect yourself.
    I had a nasty experience when I first went flatting. I woke up one night and looked around my room, everything was as it should be except – the door was open and I always sleep with the door closed. As i watched and wondered, the figure of a man came around the door, just like a shadow really. I squealed and dived under the covers – and then I really woke up. Ha ha. When I finally came up for air and looked around the room, everything was fine and the door was closed.
    I am NEVER going to sleep tonight. Just as well I have heaps to do!

  19. March 2, 2009 at 10:17 pm

    Hey AviJ!! Things have changed, you weren’t first!! This is just like old times with you guys here.
    Wow, a culinary school in the old morgue, the mind boggles. That sounds pretty frightening but I bet you were glad you were in dormitories rather than separate rooms.
    I know you graduated top of class, so what are you up to now? Working or still studying? Hope all is well with you. Any nice snack recipes to take our minds off the boogie man???

  20. March 2, 2009 at 10:28 pm

    Hi Jane!
    I remember something about this and when you reminded me, I googled it. Is that the one on Broadway where the remains of about 400 men, women and children were found? I think there is a monument there now and the remains were actually returned to the site. How sad, I don’t suppose there were any services or last rites or anything. Thanks for that little snippet.
    And have you ever felt the urge to go for a wander there at midnight, by yourself? I bet not LOL.

  21. March 2, 2009 at 10:34 pm

    Hi ya Limecello! Seeing you guys around has really cheered me up!
    I would so love to know something about this place. The old couple who built it Fred and Rita, the ballroom dancers, had a lighting business and many years ago, I lived in the suburb where that business was and remember well the white building with Academy Lighting on it. It’s long gone now. We have a few really lovely old garden lights and the neighbour says the house and garden was quite famous in its day because it was all lit up. Sadly the cable is broken and the electrician says we would have to dig up the whole front garden to find where it’s broken and restore the lights. I have googled the couple’s names and the business and the address but nothing comes up. No news is good news, I suppose. I aim to be here forever so perhaps I’ll make history.
    Yeah, right.
    Might I suggest the hauntings on campus were drunken student hijinks???

  22. 22 Maureen
    March 3, 2009 at 5:03 am

    Our neighbor told us that the people we bought our house from many years ago had a son who went into the military and died in a training accident. It was a sad story and, of course when we were first living there any noise made us think of it.

  23. 23 Sandra
    March 3, 2009 at 9:05 am

    Oooh. Glad I’m reading these in broad daylight. Jan – looking forward to reading the book. Love the cover.

    Nothing creepy’s ever happened to me (fingers crossed it never does). A friend however tells a lovelyt story of the time, after she’d been trying for years to fall pregnant, that she woke up to see a young boy standing by her bed, he leant forward and kissed her forehead. And, you guessed it, her next visit to the docotor confirmed she was pregnant and she now has a delightful, loving son.

  24. 24 Avi J
    March 3, 2009 at 10:52 am

    Hi Jan, I am still working but I am planning to do a Masters programme, in about a year, as for a recipie try a, white chocolate mousse, drizzled with a raspberry puree, and served in a bed of hot fudge sauce. Hope it keeps the ghosts away 😀

  25. March 4, 2009 at 5:55 am

    Jan, sorry to have spooked you (really, I am!)

    You know, this thread has reminded me of heaps of stories. I don’t know whether you’ve ever been to the Chateau Tongariro http://www.chateau.co.nz/ (for non-Kiwis, it’s a massive hotel built along the lines of the old fashioned ski/hunting lodges in Canada I believe.) Anyway, when WWII broke out, the hotel was commandeered by the Government and converted into a hospital/asylum. We were told that where the current movie theatre is, was the morgue. Anyway, our conference room was just past the movie theatre. The room itself had three walls of windows facing down the hill (in the pictures its the windowed area below the front portico/driveway) and these were fully curtained at the time (we had been watching video footage but were back to full session mode and all attention was on our speaker,) when for no apparent reason the double doors behind us flew open. We all turned. No one there. Then, and I kid you not, it was as if someone ran around the edge of the room with one hand in the heavy drapes because they swirled all in one direction right around the room. Honestly, the silence in the room was deafening. Even now, remembering the incident, I get goosebumps.

    That hotel is absolutely gorgeous and charming and absolutely perfect if you’re into ghost hunting 🙂 So much history…and then there’s Charlie, on the third floor…

  26. 26 Minna
    March 4, 2009 at 5:57 am

    I don’t excatly have a history from a house I live in, but rather from my cousins summer cottage, which is very close to my home. My grandmother’s brother used to live nearby, he visited us at least twice a day with his cat -who followed him everywhere- and in order to come here he had to walk past our cousins’ summer cottage. He also hated dogs, for some reason. Eventually he died and his cat had to be put down. Now, some years later my cousins who own the cottage told that their son had this imaginary friend, an old man who hates dogs, who has a cat and who passes the cottage with his cat couple of times a day in order to visit my home. They claimed, they hadn’t told anything to their son about the old man who used to live near by. And I don’t know if the cat was the black one or the grey one which he took after his black cat had died.

  27. 27 Pat Cochran
    March 4, 2009 at 7:36 am

    Jan,

    Oral history of the area tells of old German settlements with dairies and farms
    in the region. It seems reasonable that they had to use some of their land for
    burials. When we moved here in 1969, there was still one working dairy farm in
    the area which son # 1 visited on a field trip. Sad to say, within 2/3 years
    progress took that away from us! Re sister Audry, it is good to know that she
    seems to be keeping watch over us and at the same time lets us know she is OK!

    Pat Cochran

  28. March 4, 2009 at 9:48 pm

    Hi Maureen, thanks for dropping by. It’s a romantic notion of mine that houses hold on to all the memories of the past, good and bad. Ours creaks and sighs and cracks sometimes. I wonder if there is such a thing as a house whisperer who comes along and spends a few minutes going around a house and picking up vibes…this was a happy/sad/tragic house etc.

    Sandra, neat to ‘see’ you too. When’s your first book out? Loved your story, I’m thinking immaculate conception thoughts…

    AviJ now that’s spooky. We went out for dinner last night and had a lovely white choc mousse with rasp puree – but no hot fudge sauce. I loved it but now, I’m disappointed I didnt get the fudge…

  29. March 4, 2009 at 9:57 pm

    Yvonne, you did it again, raised the old hairs on the back of my neck. I’m not sure if I’m allowed to give you a prize since you’re part of the team but I better send you something, a cross or maybe a chin-light so you can sit in the dark and put the fear of God into us some more, or a single white sheet or maybe Azteclady’s ouija board that she doesn’t play with anymore..I haven’t been to the Chateau, seen lots of pics of it, but I don’t know it’s a good idea for such a scaredy-cat as me.
    BTW great article in the Aussie Women’s Weekly. Nice not to have any snide one-liners about heaving bosums and throbbing manliness etc

  30. March 4, 2009 at 10:11 pm

    Minna, what a great story, esp the cat going for walks with him – and a black cat as well! I’ve recently heard another story about a child’s imaginary friend who was a real person that died many years before, and there was apparently no way the child could have known the history. Coincidence? I don’t think so…

    I’m with you, Pat, it is comforting, I think, to feel someone close who has passed still has a connection with us. When my mum died, a rainbow came in through the window so now whenever I see a rainbow, I say hi to mum. A few years back, my sister was driving along a country road and saw a rainbow so she stopped the car and sat there chatting to mum. Next thing a big truck came careering down the road toward her, skidding and sliding. If she had still been driving, things might have been tragic. She believes Mum arrived to warn her.

  31. 31 Minna
    March 5, 2009 at 3:38 am

    It could have been the grey cat, too, the one he took after the black one had died. Both cats had learned to follow him around.

  32. 32 Avi J
    March 5, 2009 at 7:43 am

    Jan, that is almost in keeping with the atmosphere of this post, spooky indeed. Oh well just buy a jar of fudge sauce and eat it now, it will be just as enjoyable. 😀

    Btw that is one of my favourite comfort food, the pastry chef at the restaurant I work in always saves a bit for me when she makes a big batch.

  33. 33 Sandra
    March 5, 2009 at 11:51 am

    Jan – give yourself a prize too, I definitely got goosebumps with the rainbow/out of control truk incident (maybe because it reminded me of my car crash a while back where no ‘rainbow’ guided me off the road to avoid disaster). My book’s out in July. Getting scarily close.

    AviJ – I now have a hankering for white chocolate mousse with raspberry puree – blaming you (in a good way).

  34. March 5, 2009 at 1:11 pm

    What? Yvonne’s in the Woman’s Weekly? Will have to check it out now!

    Jan, what a great idea for a story – house whisperer 🙂 If you don’t mind I’m going to store that away for future reference . Oh, and Happy World Book Day, everyone!

  35. March 5, 2009 at 1:13 pm

    hey Sandra – you know you can read your RT review a month in advance if you’re an RT member? Which could be a good thing or a bad thing, depending how you look at it… 😉

  36. 36 Rachel Bailey
    March 5, 2009 at 8:36 pm

    Oh, what great stories!! Love them. And, yep, there are house whisperers already. 🙂

    Jan, congrats on Friday Night Mistress – can’t wait to read it.

  37. March 6, 2009 at 6:36 am

    It’s the NZ edition of the AWW so I don’t think the article will be in your issue in Aus unfortunately, Paula.

    Jan, that rainbow story is beautiful and what a lovely connection to your mum.

  38. March 8, 2009 at 9:02 am

    Goodness, it’s Sunday already and I’m about to be kicked off my perch.
    But first, thanks Rachel, looking forward to your debut also. After I’m done here, I’m off to google house whisperers…

    Right, thanks eveeryone for sharing in the fun and scaring the bejeebers out of me. Too many good tales there. You should all be writing horror stories. Alas, I’m going to choose Pat for her ‘whole subdivision’ of hauntings – and because I love the idea that someone you love is watching over you. Yay, Pat!!
    And RobynL’s scary little story because I think waking up and seeing someone by your bed is the creepiest nightmare I could ever have. I can truly relate to curling myself up into a little ball and praying for it to GO AWAY!!!

    So congrats to Pat and RobynL. If you email me on jan@jancolleydotcom, I’ll have your books in the mail pronto!

    But I have to say, Yvonne, you are the SCARY QUEEN!!! I’m looking at you in a whole new light, friend (like the one under your chin!!) Thanks, and see you all around on the Desirabelles.

  39. 39 azteclady
    March 8, 2009 at 12:32 pm

    Congratulations, Pat and RobynL!

    Nice seeing you, Ms Colley, best of luck with the book, and thank you!

  40. 40 RobynL
    March 10, 2009 at 9:00 am

    woohoo I won; thanks so much Jan and congrats Pat.


Comments are currently closed.

