14
Feb
09

most romantic moments

ddu-valentines1
Bron: I was going to talk about the most romantic moment I’ve experienced but today, while collecting my bunch of perfect rose buds from the florist, I heard about a sweet romantic gesture and I just had to share. 14th wedding anniversary. Lovely man arranges with a florist to deliver 14 single roses to his wife at work, one by one, half an hour apart. Each rose has a single letter attached. The first is I. The second is S, the third T, I, L, L, L, O, V, E, Y, O, U ! A simple, perfect sentiment but how much more romantic is that than a bunch of 14 roses with the
same message attached?
sexy-guy-cooking1
Paula: For romance, you can’t go past the candlelit dinner or unexpected flowers.  But it’s the little gestures that make up the big romantic picture for me – making dinner after a long day, watching House with you when he could be watching  cricket on the other TV, putting together that new Ikea bookshelf even though you’re perfectly capable of doing it yourself.  Holding hands is incredibly romantic, too! For those who’re romantically challenged, Askmen.com has a top 10 list of “small gestures that turn women on” (interesting men use ‘turn on’ and we use ‘romantic’ <vbg>!)  they are:
Organize a sexy scavenger hunt
Tell her she’s beautiful
Write a handwritten letter
Take her out for lunch
Cook her favorite dish
Take her on an ‘official’ date
Buy her a token present
Dance with her
Give her a flower
Pamper her

Scoffee_heart22andra: I don’t have just one special most romantic moment. But a regular small, touching supply. Every weekend, my husband, who is the most practical and pragmatic and generally unromantic person I know, makes me my morning latte. And every time he uses a little gizmo and sprinkles a chocolate heart on my coffee (all neatly aligned because he’s a builder, after all). And every time my own heart melts just a little.

ddu-blog-horse1

Robbie: Here’s something from “the younger generation”. On New Year’s Eve, my daughter went to a party given by the boy who had always liked her in high school. His parent’s house is on acreage, and just before midnight he asked her to walk with him through the paddocks. Along the way, horses began to follow. One nuzzled at her shoulder, as if to push her along. They arrived at an area where a picnic blanket was laid out before two flaming torches. Did the night end in a kiss? I have a feeling that it did.

 
 
 

 

naughty-nights-mh4

Share with us your most romantic moment (or one you’ve heard of) for a chance to win a copy of Robyn’s latest Harlequin release, Naughty Nights in the Millionaire’s Mansion.

 

 

18 Responses to “most romantic moments”


  1. 1 LJ
    February 14, 2009 at 11:20 pm

    I woke up to breakfast in bed all cooked by dh and a back rub while l was eating. (with the baby coming along quickly, it was heavenly) Then he he laid his head on my growing belly an just talked to the baby about how he first met me and all the valentines we celebrated together and how much he loved both of us. It was so moving I could not stop crying through it. Darn pregnancy hormones. I know he was speaking to me as well as the baby. He also gave me this beautiful gold and diamond locket with a picture of us on one side and the next side empty to place the baby’s photo. I loved it and everything about this day. It was by far the best l have celebrated.

    Happy Valentine’s Day everyone

  2. 2 azteclady
    February 15, 2009 at 12:29 am

    Oh my, those are lovely memories!

    LJ, my own eyes just teared up–your husband is a wonderful person indeed!

    And Sandra, what a sweet thing to do for you!

    As for me… 😀 the first year we were together, I got power tools. The next one, a bookstore gift certificate. And so on, and so forth. What a blessing when the love of your life knows you well enough to understand what will make *you* happy, convention be d@mned! 😉

  3. 3 Rachel Bailey
    February 15, 2009 at 9:58 am

    What great stories! Sandra, I get coffee made for me too (though I have it black, so no chance for the gorgeous heart) and you’re right, it’s that regular, small touching supply that makes all the difference.

    LJ, what a perfect Valentine’s Day! I bet you remember that day for the rest of your life. happy sigh.

    Azteclady, that is one special love-of-your-life you have there!

  4. February 15, 2009 at 11:29 am

    Lovely posts and gestures. Happy sigh. And speaking of horses, yesterday I noticed more than one races named the “Marry Me Nicole (or insert given name) Handicap”. The Handicap sort of spoils the idea, and I did wonder if this was a tricky (but expensive) way of getting the girlfriend to the races on Valentine’s Day when normally that just wouldn’t be on. 🙂

    Bron

  5. 5 Sandra
    February 15, 2009 at 7:09 pm

    Bron – when my sister in law Megan was at a big rugby match and saw the words Marry Me Megan, Love Dave on the big screen she turned to her boyfriend who’d organised the proposal gesture and said “Hey there’s a couple with the same names as us.”

  6. 6 Sandra
    February 15, 2009 at 7:13 pm

    LJ – it’s so endearing when guys use a third party to say sweet things.

    Azteclady – for guys powertools is such a gift from the heart. So many have been conditioned (or can’t think of anything better) into the chocolates and flowers way of thinking. But they ‘get’ powertools and it’s so cool that yours can give you what you really want. (BTW my sister and her partner have his and hers chainsaws).

  7. February 16, 2009 at 9:34 pm

    LOL, Sandra, that’s a classic! And his and hers chainsaws? Sound like a match made in Heaven.

    Oh Bron, those clever men. 🙂 I know a husband and wife team who write tickets at the races together. (Don’t know if that’s the right term) It’s good if you can have something in common. But I also think it’s true that opposite attract 🙂

    Rachel, he could put a chocolate heart on the saucer. Yeah, I knew you’d like that idea, lol

    Azeclady, that’s so true. I adore fresh flowers, but books are forever. Diamonds too. 🙂 Er, pass on the powertools. :g:

    LJ, you’ve made me cry! What a sweet man! And what a lucky little babe 🙂

  8. February 17, 2009 at 11:08 am

    What gorgeous stories you guys have! And Sandra – ROFL… That’d be me, I reckon 😀

  9. 9 RobynL
    February 17, 2009 at 6:20 pm

    I heard of the dh taking the wife out to a restaurant where they sat by
    the window and watched the waves hit the shore. After this they went for a stroll hand in hand along the shore and then they stopped at a little Bistro and had coffee and danish while sitting at a little round table on the sidewalk while music from a 3 man band played. Then they went home where he had the neighbor place rose petals from the front door to the bedroom.

  10. February 18, 2009 at 8:36 pm

    LOL, Sandra, that’s too funny. But sorta like what I’d say…

    🙂

    Bron

  11. 11 Jane
    February 19, 2009 at 9:38 am

    I don’t have a personal story to share, but I would love it if someone would surprise me with a trip to Paris or Tahiti and we would spend the week frolicking on beach or visiting one of the most romantic cities in the world. This trip would include champagne and chocolate.

  12. February 20, 2009 at 6:45 am

    Super late… but … most romantic moment? Haha – off the top of my head, when Rhett shows up to save Scarlet (et al) from a burning Atlanta.
    Like Jane, I don’t have a personal one to share – which is also why I didn’t post earlier. 😛

  13. February 20, 2009 at 7:02 am

    RobynL, :sigh: The rose petals would have scored him BIG points, I’m sure 🙂

    Jane, what a fabulous idea! Hmm, wonder how I could hint at my dh to suprise me like that…

    Limecello, what about that kiss! I think it’s my favourite ever motion picture kiss. It was on the other night and I kept thinking, I’ve seen this a million times…but just one more scene.

  14. 14 Avi J
    February 21, 2009 at 6:24 am

    My best friend who works in the restaurant as me had a very unusual valentine. We had to work as this was our most busy day, so after the restaurant closed and we were filing the paper work, a remote control helicopter with a single rose in the base of it, landed on the table with a note attached saying ” Your forever Valentine” so cute so we went looking for the culprit, no one else was around the area, so we thought it was a prank pulled by a co-worker. Then a remote control car with a box of chocolates on top of it pulled up at her foot. Same thing no one we could see. When she opened it though there was a diamond Solitaire stuck in center of a heart shape chocolate in the center. Then her boyfriend popped out of the coat room and proposed right there and then. Well it was so sweet and of course she accepted :D.
    He was a Mechanical Engineer and collects remote control cars, planes etc. Guess we should have figured it out after the helicopter 😀

  15. 15 aliquis
    February 21, 2009 at 4:20 pm

    Robyn – I was thinking about that exact/specific part as well! I think it’s my favorite screen kiss too- and the whole thing!

    AviJ – WOW! That’s so sweet, cute, and what a terrific story! It’s super unique and something they’ll both remember. 🙂 I love it.

  16. February 21, 2009 at 9:20 pm

    There’s some truly wonderful romantic moments here. I think Avi J wins because it’s so cute and different and I can see it happening in a romantic comedy! (With Gerard Butler playing the lead, of course 🙂 )

    Avi, contact me via my website and we’ll organise for a book to be sent out.

    Thanks everyone for sharing! Hope y’all having a great weekend 🙂

  17. February 21, 2009 at 9:22 pm

    LJ, I have a book for you too, coz your husband sounds like a total gem 🙂

  18. 18 azteclady
    February 22, 2009 at 1:17 am

    Congrats, Avi and LJ!

    Thank you, Robyn


Comments are currently closed.

