01
Feb
09

I love February!

Let me tell you why…

 

It’s my birthday month (which, just quietly, makes it the best month of the year 😉 ) and, its the first month of release for my Rogue Diamonds mini-series. How did Rogue Diamonds come about as a title for the mini-series? Well, with this year being the 60th anniversary of Harlequin/Silhouette in the USA, it led me to thinking of diamonds. To be honest it really doesn’t take much to get me thinking of diamonds…I do like sparklies, 😀

 

So, anyway, when dreaming up the series I thought of old school buddies who have remained close friends but who liked to play a little on the wild side.

 

The past:

 

“All of the students in your year are diamonds…some polished, some still a little rough. All, except you three. You, sirs, are rogues!”

 

So said Thomas Woodley, the favourite professor of Brent Colby, Adam Palmer and Draco Sandrelli, after he caught them demon riding (high speed runs on their motorbikes on dangerous roads at night with no headlights on) when they should have been at their private boarding school’s honours ceremony.

 

The present:

The Rogue Diamonds are drawn together for the memorial service of Prof. Woodley’s late wife, and after the service two of them are thrown into contact with women they never expected to see again.

 

So, who are the Rogue Diamonds?

 

convenient-marriage-inconvenient-husbandBrent Colby (CONVENIENT MARRIAGE, INCONVENIENT HUSBAND, US Feb 09, Aus/NZ Mar 09) was always the bad boy at school and the one who instigated most of the boys’ adventures. He’s the ‘scholarship boy’ from the poorer side of the family and he always felt he had something to prove. An innovative man, he fell headlong into his first million dollars only to lose it just as fast. Unfortunately, at the same time, he also lost the woman he loved. With his exceptional drive and entrepreneurial skills he’s rebuilt his world, bigger better and far stronger than before, but he’s never forgotten the woman who chose money over his love. When she fronts up to him in the men’s room of the Jubilee Hall at Ashurst Collegiate, he’s more than intrigued about why.

 

secretbabyDraco Sandrelli (SECRET BABY, PUBLIC AFFAIR, US Mar 09, Aus/NZ Apr 09) is the sole surviving son of Italian aristrocracy and lives in the Sandrelli ancestral palazzo in the Tuscan countryside. A natural charmer, he’s had it all, but he learned loss at its most painful level when his fiancee died of a congential heart defect while pregnant with his baby. A short and fiery affair with a New Zealand girl, Blair Carson, touring his homeland has an unexpected repercussion when he discovers Blair is catering the memorial service at Ashurst Collegiate. He wasn’t ready to let her go the first time, he certainly isn’t ready to let her go now, especially not when he discovers she’s carrying his child.

 

pretend-mistress-bona-fide-bossAdam Palmer (PRETEND MISTRESS, BONA FIDE BOSS, US Apr 09, Aus/NZ May 09) is a workaholic. The survivor of twin sons born to the powerful billionaire Palmers, he’s been groomed to take over the running of the family business. All his life he’s only felt as if he was half of what his parents were due and works darn hard to make up for that by being twice as good at everything. His office is run with incredible precision at all times yet somehow secrets are being filtered out to his arch rival, Josh Tremont. When Adam discovers his assistant, Lainey Delacorte, is hiding the truth about herself, he’s determined to get the bottom of her deception and discover if she’s responsible for the information leaks–no matter what it takes.

 

So, do you want to win an autographed copy of the first of the Rogue Diamonds, CONVENIENT MARRIAGE, INCONVENIENT HUSBAND? All you need to do is comment on this blog and hazard a guess at what day my birthday is. If you get it right I’ll include a cute paua shell inlaid kiwi phone charm with your book. If there’s more than one correct answer by the end of the week I’ll put each name in a hat and draw one winner. Happy February!

33 Responses to “I love February!”


  1. 1 Jane
    February 1, 2009 at 12:41 pm

    Congrats on your upcoming release. Looking forward to your Rogue Diamonds mini series. We could celebrate your birthday for the whole month. My guess is February 10.

  2. 2 Rachel Bailey
    February 1, 2009 at 1:12 pm

    Yvonne, those books sound fabulous! I can’t wait to read them.

    And this: “All of the students in your year are diamonds…some polished, some still a little rough. All, except you three. You, sirs, are rogues!” That’s just precious. 🙂

  3. February 1, 2009 at 3:28 pm

    I’m going with the 21st, if my math can be trusted… which it can’t. 😛
    Happy birthday month, Yvonne! And I’m soooooooo excited about this new series!

  4. February 1, 2009 at 3:31 pm

    Hm, I just realized I’m not making sense tonight. That’s ok – haha, I blame it on my late night posting. I agree with Rachel – love the quote! And… the heroes of this trilogy have definitely caught my attention. I think it’s great Harlequin has so much going on for its 60th anniversary, and kudos to them too!

  5. 5 Sandra
    February 1, 2009 at 5:10 pm

    Love the sound of the books Yvonne. Can’t wait to read them.

  6. 6 Lori Ann
    February 2, 2009 at 1:58 am

    Happy Birthday Month! The books in the Rogue Diamonds mini-series sound great!

    My guess for your birthday is February 18th.

  7. 7 annie
    February 2, 2009 at 2:07 am

    Happy Birthday Yvonne! have a great celebration. The books sound wonderful. Birthdate is February 7.

  8. 8 azteclady
    February 2, 2009 at 3:07 am

    First, the books sound great–and they are now in my ohdearlawdsolong wish list.

    Second, I am guessing Feb 23rd, because that’s my s.o.’s bday 😀

    Happy birth month! 😉

  9. February 2, 2009 at 7:46 am

    Hey guys, I’m enjoying seeing these guesses coming through. Keep up the good work! On another note, while languishing in bed this morning there was a knock at the door and there was a courier with my March release! *Sigh* I love getting author copies.

  10. 10 EllenToo
    February 2, 2009 at 10:45 am

    I’ll guess Feb 14….. This series sounds like a really interesting one and I’ll definitely be looking forward to reading it.

  11. 11 Pat Cochran
    February 2, 2009 at 11:05 am

    I’m guessing Feb. 14, which is my eldest’s birthday! We celebrated the first Valentine’s Day after we married with me in labor
    and delivering on the 14th. I must say I can think of much better ways to celebrate! LOL

    Pat Cochran

  12. February 2, 2009 at 12:46 pm

    Hey Yvonne – I thought I knew your birthday but now I can’t remember…. I’ll guess the 17th just for the hell of it 😀

    Yay on your tri-month releases! But also a grrrrr from me because I’ve got a trilogy with similar parameters LOL. But it’s all in the execution, isn’t it? Bet you don’t have a plane crash, a European princess and a 26 year old secret in yours! 😉

  13. February 2, 2009 at 1:49 pm

    Pat, I can definitely think of better ways to celebrate Valentine’s Day than childbirth, but then again, a newborn is a true gift of love.

    Paula, no, I don’t have a plane crash, a European princess and a 26 year old secret in this trilogy, although my Dec release exposes a 30-something year old secret 😉 , but congratulations to you! When are your books due out?

  14. 14 Brigitte
    February 3, 2009 at 12:15 am

    Hi Yvonne, I’m going with Feb. 20th, as your birthday, first day of pisces…don’t ask me why. And Happy Birthday anyway.

  15. 15 Eva S
    February 3, 2009 at 2:28 am

    I love bad boys, these are books for me!
    My guess is Feb. 4, because it’s my birthday!

  16. February 3, 2009 at 7:35 am

    Thanks for the birthday wishes, Brigitte.

    Eva, happy birthday to you for the 4th! And oh yes, I’m with you on the bad boy element. Totally, 😉

  17. February 3, 2009 at 3:44 pm

    Happy birthday month, Yvonne!! I’ll guess the 24th, my favourite number. 🙂 Whatever day, hope you get thoroughly spoiled.

    Your rogue diamond series sounds fabulous! Who said they love a bad boy? Me too 🙂 And the covers are just gorgeous too. Particularly the first one. Love when they get them so right.

  18. 18 Rachel Bailey
    February 3, 2009 at 6:30 pm

    Oh, forgot to have a guess! I’ll pick the 17th.
    Hope every day in February is a fabulous day, Yvonne. 🙂

  19. 19 Teresa W
    February 4, 2009 at 2:43 am

    Hope you have a great birthday, my guess is the 15th!

  20. 20 Crystal B.
    February 4, 2009 at 3:12 am

    I will guess the 20th. 🙂 I hope you have a wonderful birthday.

  21. February 4, 2009 at 11:25 am

    they’re just works-in-progress ATM, Yvonne 😀 And you know, the hero on your first cover looks EXACTLY like my doctor albeit 10 years younger. No kidding…! He’s veeery nice, too.

  22. 22 aliquis
    February 4, 2009 at 3:01 pm

    lol! Paula – do you find yourself getting sick a lot? 😉

  23. 23 RobynL
    February 5, 2009 at 1:28 am

    my guess is Feb. 14th. Happy Birthday and have a great day.

  24. 24 Christa
    February 5, 2009 at 2:11 am

    I am loving these rogues. Stayed up last night to finish Draco, can’t wait to see what’s in store for Adam.
    Happy Birthday all month. ok wild guess here February 19

  25. February 5, 2009 at 7:15 am

    Hmm, I kind of thought he looked a bit like Toby Maguire (sp?) … you know, Spiderman? LOL! But then again, I’ve never met your doctor (and I’m kind of doctored out right now 😉 )

    I’m thinking it *should* be my birthday every day you guys have suggested so far. Now, how on earth do I convince my family of that? 😀

    Christa, I’m thrilled you’re enjoying the series. Certainly makes the head banging on the desk, when I think things aren’t going right, all worth while.

  26. 26 limecello
    February 5, 2009 at 8:47 am

    Happy Birthday, Eva S!

    And Yvonne – why not celebrate all the days? Or the entire month? 😉 Your family can be convinced… right? After all, it’s a short month! 😀

  27. February 5, 2009 at 10:33 am

    *snort!* Yeah, right! 😀

  28. 28 Minna
    February 5, 2009 at 6:45 pm

    My guess is Feb 3rd.

  29. February 7, 2009 at 8:28 am

    Hmmmm…..maybe February 11.

    Happy Birthday!

    Deidre

  30. February 7, 2009 at 10:17 am

    Okay… it’s time to announce our winner this week!

    Drumroll, please…

    LIMECELLO! for picking the 21st! Congratulations! Email me with your postal details and I’ll send you the book and the phone charm as soon as I can. 😀

    And there are no prizes, unfortunately, for guessing how old I’ll be 😉 Some things should remain a secret.

    BTW, Limecello, I’m very curious about your math and how that led you to my birthdate, LOL! Does it work for Lotto numbers as well?

  31. 31 limecello
    February 8, 2009 at 3:46 pm

    Yay! Thanks so much! And lol Yvonne – sadly, no on the lotto numbers, I’m going to say. Although, I’ve never bought a lottery ticket in my life! … hmmm…

  32. 32 azteclady
    February 9, 2009 at 1:27 pm

    Congrats, limecello! *applause*

  33. February 13, 2009 at 2:32 am

    Hi! I am glad I came here, also I am an Aquarius so I will guess my own birthday and say the 9th. Have a great month!


Comments are currently closed.

