25
Jan
09

My Favorite Gadget

walk1I remember the first gadget that started my infatuation with technology: a cool silver and blue clip-on Sony Walkman.  Now, things have come a long way since the mid-80s and their massive packaging, with gadgets getting smaller and cleverer (remember those Nokia mobile phones the size of house bricks?).  I’ve moved on to CD Walkmans, then a generic MP3 player, to a you-beaut Toshiba Gigabeat.  I’ve upgraded my massive SLR camera to a digital (although the photo quality is just not quite the same as a traditional camera).   For Christmas I got an e-book reader, the BeBook, and I’m thrilled to have a gadget that stores hundreds of books and weighs less than a paperback, saving masses of shelf space.

I haven’t succumb to the phone upgrade yet – I’m quite happy with my LG hot-pink flip phone because I don’t NEED to take photos, read email and surf the ‘net with it – I have said digital camera and computer for that 🙂  I also love those little USB flash drives that can hold everything from documents, photos, music and downloads… I have several 😀

mac1But all that pales by comparision to my iMac Book.  I’ve only had it for a week but I’ve in loooove with its sleek white design, speed, wireless capability and simple ease of finding what you need quickly.  Even the most simple things like the magnetic closure and power cable attachment is exciting!  Yes, I still have my big desktop PC (the very clever but slow, sensitive, unreliable long-time partner) but my little white Mac is just so fast and RELIABLE.  It’s like having an exciting, cute new love interest who actually listens to you 🙂

What’s your favorite gadget?  Is it something that’s made your life easier?  More fun?  More interesting?

21 Responses to “My Favorite Gadget”


  1. January 25, 2009 at 11:08 am

    I’m not a MAC user but I’m excited you found a laptop that you love. I couldn’t agree more. I love having a laptop. I even have two. I have the new ASUS EEE PC. A tiny 10″ screen laptop I use for my college classes.

    My favorite gadget has to be my Kindle. I’ve had it since December 2007 and I love it soooo much. My other favorite gadget is my iPhone. It’s not the best texting phone but everything else is very cool.

    I do my best to stay up to date with all the cool gadgets.

  2. 2 limecello
    January 25, 2009 at 12:54 pm

    I want an e-reader, but haven’t decided on which one yet. Also I keep hoping for a v/g2, but to no avail.

    My “favorite” gadget… my laptop. It’s I think less than 12″ … but it’s necessary. I need it for work, school, every day life… heh – this article might give some insight on how important my laptop is:
    http://www.switched.com/2008/11/14/why-you-should-never-try-to-steal-a-law-students-laptop/?rss

    and also – heh I disagree on a minor detail – I think a 3rd yr student would go just as crazy if not more, because it would be *three years* of notes.

  3. January 25, 2009 at 5:25 pm

    Jessica, I’m sooo jealous about your Kindle! I’ve heard conflicting reports that we in Australia can/can’t download 😦

    Limecello, an ereader doesn’t stop me buying traditional books, more’s the pity… I just get a lot of titles 6-12 months earlier 😀 I think in hindsight though, I should’ve probably bought the Sony, even if it is more expensive. I’d suggest you test drive a whole bunch of them to make sure because it *is* quite a bit of money to spend. What about a Kindle?

  4. 4 azteclady
    January 26, 2009 at 2:30 am

    Oh, gadgets! They be shiny!

    *ahem*

    See, I’m easily distracted by the shiny–srsly, I am. But I’m slightly techno impaired. Okay, I’ve been called “technomoron” more than once.

    So I have to stick with the simple–because all those pretty, shiny, really cool applications and features and stuff? they don’t get used 😦

    I have a pretty mint green baby ASUS eee PC. Purty! Tiny! I use it mostly as an ereader, or if I’m gonna be away from the desktop for long 😀 but the one gadget I really want to get is a Sony Reader :sigh: one of these days…

  5. January 26, 2009 at 7:48 am

    Azteclady – what program do you use on your eee to read books? I couldn’t for the life of me work out how to get a program on there 😯 And MSReader sucks when you have a device that’s not PC or laptop – you can’t register it so you can’t read books!

    HAPPY AUSTRALIA DAY, everyone!

  6. 6 azteclady
    January 26, 2009 at 11:52 am

    Happy Australia Day!

    Paula, I am very techno impaired, so I am not sure what I am going to say will make any sense but… I read ebooks and eARCs in the eee with pdf or word documents (which it reads with the Linux document software that came in/with it)

    Did that make any sense? I hope it did.

  7. 7 Rachel Bailey
    January 26, 2009 at 12:58 pm

    Santa brought me an iPod for Christmas, so that’s my favourite gadget at the moment. I have heaps of problems with eyestrain so am ordering audiobooks and it’s so much fun – a whole new world in stories!

  8. 8 limecello
    January 26, 2009 at 4:49 pm

    Paula – I’d LOVE LOVE LOVE to test drive – but… the issue is how? I’m going to have to look up return policies… I’m seriously leaning towards the Sony – but have learned it is incompatible with mobipocket- and about 89% of my ebooks are in that format. (Then again I’m not huge on how the Kindle looks.) And yes – they’re crazy expensive, both.

    Happy Australia Day, Everyone! And also – Happy Lunar/Chinese New Year! 😀

  9. January 27, 2009 at 5:59 am

    Paula, the Kindle support team told me direct several months ago that the Kindle is only supported in North America. Based on that…I bought a Sony ereader 😀 . While I can’t buy/download books from the Sony site (because they won’t accept a New Zealand based credit card–still can’t understand why they can’t just use paypal and be done with it) I can download their freebies and I can download in PDF format from eHarlequin which still gives me a massive amount of reading. Oh, and I can put photos on the Sony and audio books, music etc. So many features I haven’t fully explored yet. And, I love love love the paper ink technology that means I can read under strong sunlight.

    However, wonderful new gadget aside I still hands down love my Palm Z22 as my favourite gadget. It keeps me organised, reminds me of where I need to be, has solitaire on it 😉 , is great for reading books at night in bed without disturbing the significant other and all sorts of other wonderful things.

  10. 10 Sandra
    January 27, 2009 at 7:10 pm

    My favourite gadget is the Navman I got for Christmas. I didn’t initially believe I was the true intended recipient and didn’t think I’d use it that much, but Sheldon (I had to name him because he talks to me and occasionally I need to talk back, or say thank you) is so helpful to have along, and he always stays so calm. He can tell me the shortest way to get anywhere I want to go – and what’s more he gets me home safely again every time! And he doesn’t mind if I stop and look at shops along my way.

  11. January 28, 2009 at 10:40 am

    I’m not surprised you talk to your Navman, Sandra – I always tell my microwave to calm down when it screams at me 😀

    Tnx for that info, Yvonne. I just read that Amazon have stopped selling any eformats other than the Kindle, which is kinda interesting…

    Limecello, I suspect you could testdrive the Sony in a department store? I checked a friend’s one out at my last RWA convention so I’m wondering if you could find a convention in your area and check out the trade displays. That’s how I got my Alphasmart, too.

    Azteclady – makes perfect sense, ta 🙂

  12. January 28, 2009 at 5:12 pm

    Paula – hm, a friend has a Sony P505. I liked it, but was not impressed. Definitely wouldn’t want to spend the $370+ on it (machine and cover +light). More if I got the memory cards I’d need.

    😛 I actually had a post about the kindle – and how v2 pictures got leaked. :\ But my post wasn’t scheduled (I have no control over that) so now it’s old hat and other blogs have it up. So I’m pouting, because for once I was going to have cutting edge news.

    So… I might wait for the kindle v2 – and maybe amazon will finally make it available in brick & mortar stores. OR some other company will make a terrific ereader for a lower price 😛

  13. January 28, 2009 at 8:39 pm

    Paula, my kids and husband have all the gadgets. Rachel, I don’t even have an ipod of my own , though I plan to get one for those morning walks I’ve been taking (er, 3 so far). And I am definitely getting one of those Palm Z22s, Yvonne (sounds like a really fast car :)) I do have a GPS, Sandra, which dh bought for my birthday, and it is truly the best thing! Now I can’t see how anyone could get around all these busy confusing streets without on. I haven’t got a ereader yet either. I’m gonna find it difficult giving up real life pages, I think…

  14. January 29, 2009 at 3:14 pm

    I love my ereader but I still find I buy books, which kinda defeats the purpose, Robbie!

  15. January 29, 2009 at 11:30 pm

    Paula, I often wonder how the next generation will feel about e pages as opposed to real pages. Twenty years ago no one would’ve believed a six year old could work a home computer. I love technical advances, but wouldn’t it be sad if kids of the future didn’t really know about paper books. Guess it’d be good for the trees though…

    Talk about how times have changed, we cleaned out under the TV unit the other week, and Jeff brought out all his old LPs. Tabby’s eyes fell out of her head! She said, “Mummy, look at the size of these CDs!”

  16. 16 Pat Cochran
    January 30, 2009 at 7:35 am

    This is probably before most of you were born, but my first technology favorite
    was a transistor radio which went everywhere with me!

    Pat Cochran

  17. January 30, 2009 at 3:10 pm

    Robbie – let’s not even *go* there with 6yos and computers 😀 My 8yo gets to use my old laptop for school this year – that’s the life!

    hey Pat – I adored my very first radio Walkman! And my first turntable and cassette deck. Oh, and I remember my very first microwave, too. I also tend to gaze in envy at those shiny mixer/blender things on all those lifestyle home programs… but I wouldn’t actually use one 😉

    One of my crit partners has the most amazing cafe thingy that does coffee in different strengths and temperatures. One guess where we hold our writer’s meetings!

  18. 18 Pat Cochran
    January 31, 2009 at 11:57 am

    It broke my heart when we had to replace our first microwave some years back. It was large enough
    that I cooked a turkey for Thanksgiving in it one year! Most people just use theirs for warming
    up things, I cooked whole meals in mine!

    Pat Cochran

  19. January 31, 2009 at 12:44 pm

    Well I have two gadgets that I got this past year – an eePC and an iMac. Love them, love them, love them!!! 😉 Love the way the Mac works – the 24″ screen and the wonderful keyboard. And the eePC is great for when I want to get away from the desk and work on my manuscripts elsewhere. Helps break up the day.

    It’s funny thinking of gadgets and how far they have come. I still have my clock radio from when I was a teenager. The alarm used to scare the bejeezes out of me but it worked. I slept through my mobile phone alarm this week – maybe it’s time to go back to the old… 🙂

  20. January 31, 2009 at 7:11 pm

    Hey Eleni – I can’t stand mobiles that play anything except a *ring*! I had to change mine to a very loud 70s sounding ring because I kept missing calls, thinking it was just someone playing a tune 😀

  21. February 1, 2009 at 7:36 am

    I looooove gadgets! My favorite is probably my laptop 🙂


Comments are currently closed.

