18
Jan
09

Nibbles Anyone?

No, I’m not talking about food, but about reading styles. The idea came up in comments on another blog, and I thought it’d be fun to discuss it here today.

I’m one of those people who always has a book in their handbag – so I can nibble away at it whenever there’s a bit of spare time. But, at heart, and if I have the time, I’m a all-in-one-go reader. If a book catches my attention, I’ll hunker down and likely not move until it’s finished. I’ve learned not to start books at 11pm…because I’m never going to read just a chapter!

What about you? Can you nibble? Or do you gulp read? I know some people have several different books – one for the purse, one in the car… Do any of you do that? Tell us all your reading secrets! πŸ™‚

30 Responses to “Nibbles Anyone?”


  1. 1 limecello
    January 18, 2009 at 9:56 am

    I do both. I carried a book around with me in my purse during my summer (jobs) and read during all my breaks. But if I can – or even if I shouldn’t, I’ll read it all in one go. I was up until dawn reading a book yesterday/today. And up til 4 reading the previous night? :X

    If I have any free time, I love to read – novellas work best for nibbles, for me – that or category books.

    I’m generally reading anywhere from 2-8 books at the same time :X So. I’m always in the middle of something.

  2. 2 sara hurt
    January 18, 2009 at 10:02 am

    For the most part I am a gulp reader. I read 1 book at a time and finish it all in one sitting if I can. But sometimes I do have more then 1 book going if the book I am reading at the time is not suitable to read on my lunch break at work. If I am reading an erotic romance I prefer not to read it in the breakroom at work, so I snag a different for the day and finish the other one when I get home before bed.

  3. 3 Ellen
    January 18, 2009 at 10:57 am

    I only have one book being read at a time but if I leave the house to go some place that I may need reading material (like the Laundromat) I put the book I am reading in my purse. I only read one book at a time and I try to read until I finish it. Sometimes I will read until late at night to finish one.

  4. January 18, 2009 at 11:03 am

    I’m definitely a gulper. I’ll read the whole book at one time if it really grabs my attention.

    But I do always keep a book (or my e-reader) on me, so that when time permits I can pull down a few pages πŸ™‚

    I generally have several books going at one time though….some that I’m re-reading, and one that I’m actively reading.

    But when that book comes along that just pulls me in, it’s the only one I have open until it’s done. And I read without sleep, food, or breaks until it’s done. LOL

  5. 5 Donna
    January 18, 2009 at 11:25 am

    I’m both, a nibbler and a gulper because it depends on the book itself. If the book is good, I’ll try to finish ASAP – no matter the time of day. If the book is part of a good series, then you can just consider me MIA as far as anything else is concerned! And I always carry a book with me no matter where I’m going – even if it’s just to go pick up carry out. Plus, before I even finish any book I’m reading, I always have another one or two or twelve waiting in the wings.

  6. 6 Kat
    January 18, 2009 at 12:33 pm

    I’m definitely a gulper. I’ve been sleep deprived for over 10 years because of my book habit. At most, I have 2 books going. If I’m reading a large book, I have a smaller one in my bag. Or if I’m reading an anthology, I almost never read all the stories in one go.

  7. January 18, 2009 at 2:57 pm

    I sometimes arrange my life around a book. If I have a book to read of a favourite author, I make sure I put the slow cooker on for dinner and most of the household chores are done before I start. I often hold on to these books until I know I’ll have to time to ‘gulp’. But I always have a book on the go and an audio book on my MP3 player just in case. There is nothing I hate more than getting stuck somewhere and not having my book with me.

  8. 8 ShellBell
    January 18, 2009 at 4:17 pm

    That is one of the joys of having a Palm for all of my eBooks. As I very rarely go anywhere without it I can nibble or gulp depending on where I am and what I’m doing. I definitely prefer sitting down and reading all in one go. It also depends on time constraints and what particular book I am reading. If it’s been a book that I have been anxiously waiting for then I will stay up all night reading until I have finished. If I’m out shopping with my Mum then I can just sit down and nibble while she happily browses in the shops.

  9. 9 Willa
    January 18, 2009 at 11:00 pm

    What Donna said sums me up too. Depends on the book and how sucked in I get. I also try to gulp in a restrained manner so as not to lose too many of the nuances but sometimes it is hard! Then I have a leisurely re-read to pick up anything I might have missed!

    And yes, have got to have the next book waiting in the wings. πŸ˜€

  10. January 19, 2009 at 12:00 am

    I used to do both when I worked outside the home, now that I’m home all the time, I usually do gulp style.

    Although you will find a book in my bag for when I have to wait some place – usually that’s an anthology but sometimes it’s a re-read.

  11. January 19, 2009 at 1:33 am

    For me, it all depends on the time I have. I mostly read as much as I can — it’s mostly a number of chapters, whether it’s the whole book or not, but if it’s just a bit of time, then I have to be happy with one or two chapters. So for me it’s not where I am, just what the clock’s saying. πŸ™‚

    Lois

  12. 12 Maureen
    January 19, 2009 at 3:09 am

    I do always have a book with me and sometimes I have to read a book a little bit at a time but I much prefer to read large parts of a story at once. Now that the holidays are over and there is no yard work to do I have been able to read a bunch of books and it’ been great.

  13. 13 Kathy
    January 19, 2009 at 4:28 am

    Like Donna, for me it depends on the book. Some books I have to read at a gulp. This is especially true for new books by favorite authors and new books in series I’m following. Others I sip at until I finish. I sometimes sip at a book to see if it is the right book to be reading now. If not, it goes back on the TBR pile. I am always reading a book! But usually only I book at a time. I’ll read a few pages at breakfast before work, a few more during lunch, settle in to read during the evening, and read a few pages in bed. Reading in bed can be dangerous though. Reading does not make me sleepy. I have looked up from an engrossing book to find out that it is suddenly the wee hours of the morning and the alarm is set to go off in altogether too few hours!

  14. 14 Jane
    January 19, 2009 at 5:03 am

    I’m both a nibbler and gulper. I prefer to be sitting down and reading a large chunk of book uninterrupted, but I don’t mind reading a couple of pages here and there while I’m on the train or bus or during lunch.

  15. January 19, 2009 at 5:29 am

    Hmmm, I’m definitely a nibbler, although not by choice. I never leave the house without a book. And if I’m stuck in a queue, waiting for an appointment, taking a work break out comes the book πŸ™‚ I also read at night, so that gives me time to read more continuously that here and there, which is what I end up doing most of the time. Reading around an endless list of chores isn’t the best way to read, but if that is all I have time for then that’s what I’ll do. Because I hate to think what I’d be like if I didn’t read… πŸ™‚

  16. January 19, 2009 at 6:32 am

    I’m a gulper! I have the hardest time walking away from a book that I’m enjoying… and my kids have been known to go without dinner or baths b/c of this problem of mine!

    I do nibble when I pick my son up from school every day, however. I usually have to sit and wait for him for about 30 minutes each day… a PERFECT opportunity for me to get a little bit of reading done. (I especially love this when I’m super busy with work and can’t take the time to read… but I HAVE to get my son from school and can at least read a little bit then!). The hard part of that is putting the book down when we get home from school… it’s soooo hard!

  17. January 19, 2009 at 7:32 am

    I gulp when I can πŸ™‚ But I nibble all the time. I won’t tell you how many books I have on my bed side table, there’s a couple in my car, in my handbag, I won’t talk about my desk! I can whip through series books – they’re like regular meals for me. πŸ™‚ I have half a dozen “fat” books going atm. Have been sipping at Morrigan’s Cross through the holidays (Yes, I know I waaay behind, lol)

  18. January 19, 2009 at 8:08 am

    It’s so interesting seeing all your different responses. Sometimes, I think it would be great to train myself to nibble – because then I’d probably read more. As it is, I hesitate starting something I really want to get into…because I know I’ll then want to gulp!!

  19. 19 azteclady
    January 19, 2009 at 10:12 am

    For the most part I gulp my books–really, no self control here.

    However, as mentioned elsewhere, there are times when life interferes with my reading habit and forces me to pause every so often to do things like, oh work, eat, feed the kidlets or the furbabies, etc.

    Normally, and because of the gulp-like reading, I read one book at a time, but there are occasions when I may be reading several. For example, reading one book with my s.o.–when he’s not around, I have to read something else, rats! And if I grab something that doesn’t grab me immediately, I may pick up a second novel and read both those along with the shared book.

    Makes for an interesting time, keeping all characters and plotlines straight πŸ˜€

  20. January 19, 2009 at 11:04 am

    I do both. Just depends on what’s going on at the time. And of course the author and nature of the book.

    Mostly, right now, I nibble. I read when I find a spare moment, which is usually 30 – 60 minutes in bed at night. Or on the weekend I can sit down for a couple hours straight. I’d rather do the gulp but some books are worth savoring for a few days. πŸ™‚

  21. January 19, 2009 at 3:43 pm

    I sometimes nibble, sometimes gulp – just depends on what is happening in a day, week, month of my life. πŸ˜‰

  22. January 19, 2009 at 6:24 pm

    interesting to see how we all read! I used to be a gulper but now with my BeBook I tend to nibble on three or four books at once. Sara, like you, I don’t read erotic romances anywhere public πŸ™‚ I’ve got books by my bed, ebooks on the reader and a stack of them staring at me in my office πŸ˜€ And now that I have five books to read for the Rita (all new-to-me authors!) I’ve got a lot more on the go.

  23. January 19, 2009 at 10:01 pm

    I like to devour books, start to finish, no interruptions. Unfortunately that’s rarely possible, except at holiday time, and so I’m forced to be a nightly nibbler. It’s also why I store up some books for a time when I can start-to-finish in one big gulp. These are the books that I’d be cranky and impatient if I was forced to put them down. I’m not much good at having several books on the go, though. I like to concentrate on one story at a time, or they lose intensity or something…because my whole isn’t devoted to that one book.

    Great topic, Nalini.

    Bron

  24. January 20, 2009 at 1:57 am

    I’m definitely a gulp reader. I carry a book on me at all times for those moments where there is nothing else to do. Like stuck in a traffic jam, or a class being canceled, eating lunch alone. But usually I will sit on my couch or in my bed and read until my eyes go blurry. Then I’ll be like “Ugh, I haven’t pee’d in four hours!” lol

  25. 25 Rachel Bailey
    January 20, 2009 at 11:38 am

    Like Bron, I’m a gulper who nightly nibbles due to time constraints.

    But I do sometimes have more than 1 book on the go. I used to have 3 or 4 all the time, but the better the book I’m reading, the less keen I am to dip into something else until it’s finished.

  26. 26 Crystal B.
    January 21, 2009 at 1:35 am

    I do both. During the week, I read a few pages after work. On the weekends, I am a gulper. πŸ™‚

  27. 27 April aka meapey
    January 21, 2009 at 10:43 am

    I gulp. I only read one book at a time regardless. I work nights, and I try to keep to a nighttime schedule even on my nights off, so that’s when I read. I don’t go to bed with an unfinished book unless it’s a ‘big’ book. (It drove me nuts that it took me 2 days to read THE MEMORY KEEPERS DAUGHTER.) My problem is that I go to bed thinking about the book, and can’t stop my mind from working if I’m not finished, so sleep then is difficult if not impossible, and I like my sleep. (Which is one of the reasons why I became a sleep study tech. 3 days on, 4 off.) LOL!

    If I have an appt or travel with someone else driving, I’ll take anthologies along for those. (Something I know I can get finished with quickly.)

  28. 28 Sandra
    January 22, 2009 at 9:56 am

    My favourite is to read in one gulp, but like so many others time constraints too often interfere. I usually have a fiction and a non fiction on the go at the same time, the non fiction one being much easier to nibble at.

    And while reading before bed is fun it does interfere with my sleeping because either I want to stay up late to finish it or if I force myself to put it down, I still lose sleep because I lie awake wondering what happens next.

  29. February 4, 2009 at 12:35 am

    Yuck, January 22, date of the last reply, was my birthday and I turned 68. And that’s why I find it harder to find time to read. I’m slow as a wet week getting around the house, let alone to the computer to work. (Plug for me. I also, like Nalini, Robyn, Paula et al, am a writer.)
    At the moment I’ve started Dirk Bogarde’s collected autobiographies, and normally I’d stay up until 2 a.m. several nights/mornings till I finish them. BUT am only part way through A Postilion Struck By Lightning and not game to read more or no work will be done in house or on ‘puter and life’s interventions will inspire tearing of hair. I have several shorter books of quite good repute I’ve dipped into and which haven’t kept my aged brain interested enough to finish them. Gee whiz, when I was younger I believed it a DUTY to finish any book I started!
    I do always keep a couple of Reader’s Digests in my purse. I frequent doctors’ waiting rooms like an irregular hypocondriac for both myself and hubby and they certainly come in handy there and in similar circumstances! But alas, in the long run they do not satisfy. I want to get my teeth into Dirk Bogarde…
    Nalini, I keep an eye on the Amazon Discussion boards – and I probably shouldn’t because they take up time – and consistently see you recommended. Congratulations!
    Monya

  30. February 8, 2009 at 8:41 am

    Monya, I hope you had a good birthday!


Comments are currently closed.

