04
Jan
09

Tempting the Devil AND Anna Campbell

This week our guest is ANNA CAMPBELL, down-under author of hugely popular and always-desirable historical romances for Avon. Her first two novels, Claiming the Courtesan and Untouched won plaudits from reviewers, readers and contest judges–both were RITA finalists, amongst numerous other awards–and with her much anticipated Tempt the Devil now available (run, don’t walk, to grab your copy!) we invited Anna in for a quick chat over a glass or two of bubbly.

Welcome, Anna. Let’s start with a quick introduction. Who is Anna Campbell?

AC:  What can I say about Anna Campbell? International woman of mystery. Black belt in karate. Danced with the Bolshoi. Modeled for Picasso. Fought off Japanese whalers on the coast of Greenland. Worked for the CIA… Oh, you mean me? THAT Anna Campbell! Sigh. She’s much less interesting! Book nut. Always wanted to be a writer. Completed her first novel after finishing high school and then it took her 27 years to get a publishing contract (during which time she COULD have done all that other stuff!). First book came out in 2007, CLAIMING THE COURTESAN. Second book UNTOUCHED. Third book TEMPT THE DEVIL has just hit the stands in America. I live on the Sunshine Coast in subtropical Queensland in Australia.

Have you always written historical/regency era romance or have you dabbled in other genres as well?

AC: The nice thing about having 27 years to play around and experiment is that I got to try an awful lot of genres! The book I finished after high school was a medieval romance (the romance element has stayed pretty constant). I tried to write Harlequin Presents and completed eight manuscripts that will never see the light of day, a fact for which the world ought to be grateful! I tried family sagas, both contemporary and historical. I tried romantic suspense – believe me, not my strength! I tried historical romance set in a variety of periods and places including Elizabethan England, Renaissance Italy, late 19th-century Australia, 18th-century Hungary. Anything but the Regency in fact! Then one day, I sat down and wrote a comedy set in the Regency and felt like I’d come home. The period suits the way I use language and the larger than life stories I want to tell.

What is it that makes the Regency era so popular with readers?

AC: I think the Regency period is so popular largely because Jane Austen and Georgette Heyer set stories during that time! Since then, because those two writers were so influential, thousands of books have been set in the Regency and I think readers love the familiarity of it now. The Regency is popular because of the clothes (especially the men’s!), the elegance, the wit, the style. Not to mention that anyone who married in the Regency in the British Isles had a long period of peace and prosperity to look forward to. So the happy ending could be just that! The Regency is long enough ago to still have that fairytale flavour that historical romance readers love. But it’s also modern in many ways – there was a proto feminism, for example, the rise of companionate marriage as the ideal, the industrial revolution, people speaking in a way that’s generally intelligible to a modern reader.

Your books have been described as “regency noir”; how would you describe your style?

AC:  I love that phrase ‘Regency noir’. Stephanie Laurens coined it when she gave me a quote for CLAIMING THE COURTESAN. It makes me smile to realize it’s since become the name for a whole genre of darker historicals. I think the books I’m writing now are dark and tackle powerful themes. Regency noir for some reason also makes me think of dark, delicious chocolate – and I hope my books are a luscious, sensual experience too!

Tell us about your new book, Tempt the Devil? What will tempt us inside that cover (which is gorgeously tempting, BTW)?

AC: I’m billing TEMPT THE DEVIL as a Regency noir AFFAIR TO REMEMBER. It tells the love story of Olivia Raines, London’s most notorious courtesan, and the infamous rake, the Earl of Erith. Falling in love is the greatest risk these two jaded, sophisticated people can take. Hey, thanks for saying that about the cover – it’s pretty delicious, isn’t it? I’m hoping that aside from the cover, the rich sensuality and deep emotions of this story will tempt you! Not to mention that I actually got to write some banter between my hero and heroine. That was fun and took me back to when I used to write comedy!

Courtesans: are they the new black? (And did you start the new fashion?)

AC:  LOL. I’m not sure if I started it. I’ve certainly noticed more courtesans gracing the pages of historical romance. I do think modern readers like a more sexually experienced heroine. Mind you, I’ve just handed in my fourth book and it features my first virginal heroine so I’m hoping readers like the younger, sweeter ones too!

What temptations can’t you resist?

AC:  Sadly, far too many! A good book. Smith’s barbecue chips. My email inbox! Etc. Etc.

We know you read widely and often; what do you look for/get from a good book?

AC:  Oh, I’m still a voracious reader but sadly, since I’ve been published, I don’t seem to have nearly as much time to lose myself in a great story. I look for something that sweeps me away to another world. I love a writer whose words sing to me – Shana Abe comes to mind! I like something that engages my brain and my heart. I want to believe in those characters so strongly, it’s like they’re flesh and blood, and I want to be sorry when I close the cover on the last page because I’m leaving a place where life was vivid and engrossing.

What was your best read of 2008?

AC:  What a great question! I love to talk about great books. I re-read Laura Kinsale’s FLOWERS FROM THE STORM for a review and rediscovered what a masterpiece it is. I hadn’t read it since I bought it in the mid-90s and it was a revelation just how much depth and intelligence and emotion that book contains. Otherwise I’ve read great books by Annie West, Christine Wells, Susan Elizabeth Phillips, Tawny Weber, Nicola Cornick and Madeline Hunter. New authors I’ve discovered and now love are Elizabeth George, C.S. Harris, J.D. Robb and Kathleen O’Reilly.

What are you looking forward to in 2009?

AC:  The first thing is the release of TEMPT THE DEVIL. I didn’t have a book out in 2008 so it’s been a while between drinks! I’m looking forward to getting to grips with the new story. I’m looking forward to visiting Washington for the RWA National Conference in July. In Australia, I’m looking forward to the Australian Romance Readers Convention in Melbourne in February and the Romance Writers of Australia Conference in Brisbane in August. I love to catch up with readers and my romance-writing friends.

What can we expect next from Anna Campbell?

AC:  My next release is in November 2009 and it’s another Regency noir (the virginal heroine story). As yet, it hasn’t got an official title but the book’s all approved and at Avon. It’s about a runaway heiress who finds shelter with a man suffering from PTSD after being tortured in India. A lot of this book is set in Cornwall and I had great fun writing the house which is like Manderley in REBECCA. The book I’m currently working on is, like TEMPT THE DEVIL, set in London and it’s one of those “oh, what a tangled web we weave when first we practise to deceive” stories.

Thank you, Anna. As always it’s been a delight to sit and chat. We’re all looking forward to reading about Olivia and Erith, and wishing we were eligible for this week’s giveaway. :-/ That would be an autographed copy of TEMPT THE DEVIL, awarded a TOP PICK! by Romantic Times and described as “an unforgettable powerhouse romance.” Read more at Anna’s fabulous website.

Talk to us about your greatest temptation at the moment — have you discovered a new favourite author you can’t get enough of, a new TV fascination, a new shop, chocolate, wine? — and you’ll be in the draw to win. (One entry per IP address; winner drawn Jan. 10.)

72 Responses to “Tempting the Devil AND Anna Campbell”


  1. 1 Rachel Bailey
    January 4, 2009 at 9:54 am

    Welcome, Anna! So good to see you and your devil here. 🙂

    My greatest temptation? Well, I received an alarmingly large amount of chocolate for Christmas (not sure why? people must think I like it? :D) and so my kitchen bench is a huge temptation. On top of that one of my sisters and her family is staying with me and she brought all *her* Christmas chocolate as well.

    There’s quite a pile. It has four boxes of Lindt – both milk Lindor balls, and a box of mixed; two boxes of Ferrero Rocher; Guylian; 2 giant Toblerones; scorched almonds (we’ve finished the dark chocolate ones and are onto the milk chocolate bottle); a box of Favourites (teeny weeny chocolate bars); plus assorted blocks / packets of fudge etc.

    Yep, that bench is my greatest temptation right now.

  2. January 4, 2009 at 10:23 am

    Oh, Rachel, can I come and visit? Sadly, my loved ones helped eat my Christmas supply. 🙂

    Anna, I’m seriously tempted by that cover and really, really, really looking forward to reading the book. It’s lovely to have you hear this week and your supply of BBQ chips will be a lovely change up from the chocolate.

    As for other temptations, I received a boxed set of Brothers and Sisters (season 2) for Christmas and promised myself one episode a day but the box is sitting there, calling my name. Not quite a siren song but more a squabble of Walker family voices getting louder and louder. 🙂

    Bron

  3. 3 Brooke
    January 4, 2009 at 11:06 am

    lol I feel you on the large amount of chocolate Rachel. My grandmother made a TON of fudge, and sent it to me, my boyfriend, and brother. Every time I open the refrigerator it’s there…staring at me! Definitely my temptation at the moment. As well as buying books off of amazon.

  4. January 4, 2009 at 11:40 am

    Welcome to the blog, Anna! I notice you’ve got two covers for TEMPT THE DEVIL – I haven’t seen the second one previously. It’s gorgeous!

  5. 5 Avi J
    January 4, 2009 at 12:07 pm

    Chocolate and more chocolate is mine. Over the holidays I had too much now the gym is calling 😀

  6. January 4, 2009 at 12:17 pm

    Hey Anna and congrats on seeing your Devil in print! I really find it hard to resist MacDonalds Cheesburgers… sad but true. Every time I eat one I imagine that scene in the Simpsons where Homer’s eating “Just one more Ribwich!” and all that saturated fat flooding the arteries… oooh, maybe I CAN resist them now… 🙄 Better stick with books as my greatest vice, then 😀

    Funny you should like B&S, Bron – you remind me sooo much of the blonde mother with the daughter who thought she was part of the family… (what’s her name?)

  7. 7 Sandra
    January 4, 2009 at 12:40 pm

    Anna – I’m so looking forward to reading Tempt the Devil. I do love a bit of banter.

    Rachel – I did the reverse and took my holiday goodies to my parents and my parents-in-law’s and have since come home. So was able to enjoy it all for a strictly limited period of time. Although today’s my daughter’s birthday – so we have a new stash in the house.

    Other temptations emails, books, the sunshine outside. Apparently I’m a very weak person.

  8. January 4, 2009 at 2:06 pm

    Hello, Desirabelles! Lovely to see you! Thank you so much for having me as your guest today.

    Ooh, Rachel, can I come to visit? I don’t think it’s good for you to eat all that chocolate 😉 Actually I got a lot of chocolate for Christmas too – including these amazing Belgian fresh cream chocolates like they sell at Harrods. Absolute bliss! Best chocolate I’ve ever eaten. Oh, dear, now I’m tempted by chocolate. Isn’t it enough that Smith’s Crisps taunt me?

    Actually I’m supposed to be worked on the book I started a couple of days ago. But what tempts me is anything BUT putting words on paper. Isn’t that terrible? When I’m really in a restless mood, even cleaning the toilet seems a more attractive prospect than writing. Why is that so?

  9. January 4, 2009 at 2:09 pm

    Hello, Anna! It’s quite late on Saturday night here in the eastern USA, but I wanted to drop by and say a big old HOWDY from a fellow Romance Bandit. Temptations? Funny you should ask. Because of economic difficulties, I have been cooking much more often now. I have recalled that not only do I really love to cook (when I have time) but I love to EAT my cooking. Bad news for my hindside, let me tell you!

    I discovered this great recipe for a barley lentil soup in recent months that is so good I have threatened to marry it. It’s the perfect cold-weather soup (and it’s been plenty cold lately) and is perfectly accompanied by buttermilk cornbread. In case y’all haven’t figured it out, I’m from the SOUTHERN part of the USA. 🙂

  10. January 4, 2009 at 2:17 pm

    Bron, thanks for the great interview questions! You know, if two of us plan a raid on Rachel’s place, we can probably sneak up on her in a VERY cunning way! I’ve never watched Brothers and Sisters but I remember it getting raves. That TTD cover is lovely, isn’t it? He has eyes you can just stare into forever. Drifting off, drifting off…

    Brooke, I succumbed to the Amazon lure only yesterday! It’s irresistible. This month, I’m the book club guest on the Eloisa James and Julia Quinn bulletin board and I made the mistake of asking people what books they’d use to convert a non-romance reader to reading romance. Well, I got so many great recommendations, how could I ignore them? I keep complaining about my TBR pile and then all I do is add to it. I think it might be termed an addiction! By the way, the fudge sounds great!

  11. January 4, 2009 at 2:23 pm

    Hi Nalini! And congratulations on your amazing success last year! I cheered when you hit the NYT! With a bit of luck, you should be seeing the red cover all over shops in NZ within the next few weeks. It’s the local edition and it’s a gorgeous trade paperback. Aussie Avon decided they wanted to stay with the branding they’d established with those first two covers.

    Avi, does that mean you’re not going to join Bron and I on a raid to Rachel’s? That’s a pity. We want someone to go out and play with the dogs while we sneak in to that legendary bench!

    Hi Paula! Thanks for your hospitality! I’m looking forward to seeing the Aussie one on the shelves. I always feel I’m missing out on the party when it comes out in the US – I can’t actually see the book in a shop! There’s something so special about that, isn’t there? Hmm, nuh, cheeseburgers? No, don’t tempt me. Nice to know SOMETHING doesn’t!

  12. January 4, 2009 at 2:26 pm

    Oh, speaking of Desirabelles and temptations, I’m running a contest on my website this month which gives away five great Aussie books (well, four and Tempt!). There’s Christine Wells’s Scandal’s Daughter and Annie West’s For the Sheikh’s Pleasure and Bron’s Tycoon’s One-Night Revenge and Paula’s Forgotten Marriage. And then two runners up get signed copies of Tempt the Devil. Check it out if you get a chance. It’s a really easy question and that’s a wonderful prize. http://www.annacampbell.info/contest.html

  13. 13 Jo Anne Benware
    January 4, 2009 at 2:34 pm

    Hi Anna
    Great interview. I am so looking forward to getting my book from Amazon. Right now everything tempts me; books, so many of them, a cig would be wonderful. I’m trying to stop but I’ve been thinking about it all day. My husband tempts me all the time. I give in to that. lol

  14. January 4, 2009 at 2:40 pm

    Ooh, Sandra, watch out – it’s definitely a three-hanky job despite the banter 😉 Sounds like your temptations are rather like mine – except your strong enough to get them out of the house! It’s quite a stormy day here in South East Queensland today so I can’t say outside is tempting me that strongly, though. Thanks for coming by – I hope you enjoy TEMPT THE DEVIL!

    Caren, my Bandita friend! Lovely to see you! Surely it’s way past your bedtime. Or are you lying awake planning more recipes! Desirabelles, Caren has the most gorgeous accent – it’s that long lazy lilting Southern accent and I just love it. Mmmm, the soup and the bread sound great! Perhaps the solution is that you should cook for your friends 😉

  15. January 4, 2009 at 2:41 pm

    Hi Desirabelles,

    What a great website you’ve got here! I can tell you, there’s nothing that I love better than to read someone singing the praises of fellow Bandita Anna Campbell. No nicer or more talented person, I must say! 🙂 I love the Aussie Avon cover of TTD — that red color really pops. Yum!

    As for my personal temptations…hmmm…naughty books (Portia Da Costa is my fav), Bandita books, hot baths and romance novels, hot tea, christmas cookies, and early mornings at Starbucks with my laptop and a latte. 🙂

    Hugs to all!
    Kirsten

  16. 16 azteclady
    January 4, 2009 at 2:46 pm

    *waving* Hello, Ms Campbell!

    Books are my greatest temptation, but goofing off (otherwise known as procrastination) is a close second 😀

    Right now I’m on a knitting kick (simple stuff, like hats and scarves), so I keep getting sidetracked from everything else to spend a couple of hours knitting.

    (and there’s some delicious Ghirardelli chocolate on my desk, winking at me…)

  17. January 4, 2009 at 2:50 pm

    Jo Anne, my advice is forget the ciggie and take the husband 😉 Hope TTD shows up soon! I know Amazon have sent off a lot of the pre-ordered copies so hopefully it won’t be too long now! Thanks for checking out the interview!

    Hey, Kirsten, lovely to see you! And thank you for those lovely compliments! Goodness, I’ll have to stop stealing your bar stool in the lair now! Here, have some of Rachel’s chocolate! Love your list of temptations! Love reading in the bath – although take note, I never take books that aren’t mine in there, no matter how much I’m enjoying them. Those are shower days 😉 Having a hot cup of tea right now!

  18. January 4, 2009 at 2:52 pm

    Anna – have been following you round the blog interviews the last week or so but haven’t commented until now cos I’ve always had a baby on my lap while reading. At this moment – I’m free. Just wanted to say have loved your stories – and it’s especially encouraging to hear how long you tried and didn’t give up! You are a real inspiration!

    Thanks Belles for having Anna! And Happy New Year!
    Rach!

  19. January 4, 2009 at 2:54 pm

    Whoops – forgot to add my temptation! Gonna say my greatest temptation at the moment is slipping off to the Internet and surfing my fave blogs/authors – that or sleeping, neither of which I have much time for 😦 Ahh… but I have a lovely new baby so can’t complain too much 🙂

  20. January 4, 2009 at 2:58 pm

    Azteclady, I got absolutely addicted to Ghirardelli chocolate when I visited San Francisco. I brought home a whole suitcase full of it as gifts – they do the most gorgeous gift packs. Lucky you. I have none left! Actually I lie – somebody gave me a box for Christmas but I don’t want Rachel to know because she might raid my place while I’m raiding hers! Actually one of my favorite books on writing BECOMING A WRITER by Dorothea Brande recommends stuff like knitting to help creativity as it relaxes the active part of the brain and lets the subconscious do its thing. So I’d say keep knitting! 😉

    Hey, Rachael, how lovely to see you! I’m glad you finally got a chance to voice an opinion. Thanks for checking out all the interviews and blogs! I’m so glad my LONG, LONG apprenticeship inspires you – you’re already way ahead of me. It took me 20 years to join RWOz. Wasn’t I a silly sausage? Hey, happy new year to you too!

  21. January 4, 2009 at 2:59 pm

    Yeah, I kinda think the lovely new baby makes up for a few things! Congratulations!

  22. January 4, 2009 at 3:11 pm

    Hi Anna & Bronwyn

    For food temptation, I’m with the chocoholics! Especially the dark rich stuff — that Regency noir chocolate, Anna! 🙂

    For other temptation… I’m a bit of a push over for books, movies, television… And I have to confess, I got North and South for my birthday and had four plus hours of Richard Armitage while I recovered from Christmas dinner. (happy sigh) How’s that for over-indulgence!

    🙂

  23. January 4, 2009 at 3:15 pm

    Ooh, Sharon, you lucky duck. Christmas with Richard Armitage! What could be better? I wondered why he didn’t turn up to take me dancing as he’d offered. Thanks for popping by!

  24. January 4, 2009 at 4:03 pm

    Welcome Anna! And *congrats& on Tempt the Devil! Totally gorgeous covers and I know the story’s going to be another smash hit! Your “Manderley” story sounds like another must read. Which leads me to my greatest temptation…books, of course. Love to touch them, smell them and, whenever I get time, actually read them! I’m not a sweet tooth, though. Mexican with crisp chips and sour cream and olives and…hmm, is it dinner time yet?

    Sharon, isn’t North and South just gorgeous!

  25. January 4, 2009 at 4:21 pm

    Hey, Robbie, happy new year! Thanks for having me over to visit. This is such a great blog! Thanks for the good wishes for TEMPT THE DEVIL. Doing the Cornish thing was huge fun – all that storm-tossed passion, a bit like the cover of the Aussie version of TTD!

  26. January 4, 2009 at 5:32 pm

    You’ve been a busy girl, Anna, blogging all over the place!

    My addiction is the internet. I can’t resist the temptation of traipsing through cyberspace. No idea how to cure it, apart from disconnecting the darn thing, but I just HAVE to log on.

    Congrats on all the wonderful publicity you’re receiving for Tempt the Devil. I hope you sell a gazillion copies!

    🙂 Mon

  27. January 4, 2009 at 5:50 pm

    Hi Mon! Hey, this is but the beginning! I’m blogging all month – feel free to devote at least part of your internet addiction to MEEEEEEEE! 😉 Seriously, thanks for all the support. It’s much appreciated!

  28. January 4, 2009 at 6:11 pm

    Did someone say chocolate? 😉

    congrats Anna on the release of Tempt The Devil. I love both covers and can’t wait until they grace the Aussie shelves.

    My biggest temptation is books. My TBR pile is like the Himalayas and my pile from the library is big as well. And I’m also a bag girl. Sounds better than saying bag lady but I love bags – handbags, backpacks, satchels, even the eco bags. So books and bags.. and chocolate. Oh and flavoured chips….and hot chips….and Battlestar Galactica, Farscape, and….. you get the idea. 🙂

  29. 29 Carol
    January 4, 2009 at 6:17 pm

    Hi Anna,
    Was at the masked ball on Romance Bandidts. My escort was Antonio Banderas. 🙂
    I have to say that reading your books has been my addiction. Can’t wait to read Tempting The Devil. And your up coming books as well. Love your writing Anna.
    Carol L.

  30. January 4, 2009 at 6:20 pm

    Hey, Eleni! You’re clearly a woman who takes her addictions seriously! When I got my second Avon contract, I marked the occasion by buying myself a really spectacular handbag. I’d never really owned a handbag before – always been a backpack kind of girl. But I love carrying this around. It’s ultra feminine and quite unusual and I just love it to death. Since then, I’ve started craving bags – it’s terrible, just one puff and you’re an addict! Thanks for the congrats. I’m really looking forward to the Aussie release too. It’s officially 1st Feb but Untouched was out a month early so I’m hoping that Tempt the Devil will be too. It’s always such a thrill to see a book I wrote on the shelves! Better than chocolate, seriously!

  31. January 4, 2009 at 6:23 pm

    Carol, thank you so much for those lovely compliments! And to think you left Antonio to pine for you in the carriage while you came inside to use your computer to make them! What a true buddy! Wasn’t the masked ball in the Bandit lair fun? I really enjoyed it and people really got into the spirit of the party which made it such a hoot. We still haven’t managed to fix the chandelier!

  32. 32 Sharon F
    January 4, 2009 at 11:05 pm

    Hi Anna,

    Love your books and looking forward to reading Tempt the Devil when its out here in Aus. My temptation at the moment is watching comedy sitcoms, we got a whole stash for christmas, Seinfeld, Scrubs, Everybody loves Raymond and Frazier. Nothing like a good belly laugh. Then of course there’s chocolate and more chocolate, and writing, it’s great to get back into writing after xmas/new year esp with some free time up my sleeve.

    Sharon

  33. January 4, 2009 at 11:33 pm

    Hey Anna!

    I’m easily tempted with chocolate and lattes, but I have a soft spot for fudge of all kind (tho for some reason didn’t get any this Christmas! Shame I don’t live nearer to Rachel!!!) I’m also currently completely addicted to Battlestar Galactica (which Eleni knows to her cost!!!)and I don’t even fancy any of the characters!!!

    Mega congrats on the release of your Devil! Can’t wait to grab my own gorgeous copy!

    Christina x

  34. 34 Jane
    January 5, 2009 at 5:37 am

    Hi Anna,
    Congrats on the new release. I’m so excited that your next book features a virgin heroine. I love the premise of the book. Who can resist a tortured hero? I’m tempted everyday by junk food. I wage a battle against Coke, Doritos and cookies.

  35. January 5, 2009 at 5:59 am

    Sharon, good on you getting back into your writing. I’m trying to work on a new book but I’m afraid I’m more than a little distracted (excited?) with TEMPT THE DEVIL just hitting the shelves. I think a sitcom and chocolate sound like the perfect mixture – two temptations in one! Thanks for saying you loved the first two books!

    Hi Christina! I’m looking forward to my visit to your blog on 23rd January! You asked such great questions! I know it’s blasphemy but fudge is just a little bit too sweet for me – perhaps we should get together. I’d eat the chocolates and you’d eat the fudge, we’d be like Jack Spratt and his wife! Thanks for saying you’re looking forward to my devil!

  36. January 5, 2009 at 6:01 am

    Hi Jane! I’m hoping to soon have a name for the virgin heroine book. It was so interesting writing her – she threw up all sorts of writing challenges that I hadn’t expected and had never encountered with my widows and courtesans! I love tortured heroes too – there’s something so satisfying seeing that journey they take from darkness to light. I don’t think your Robinson Crusoe with the junk food. If only lentils had quite that appeal 😉

  37. 37 limecello
    January 5, 2009 at 6:02 am

    Hi Anna – thanks for visiting with us today! Congratulations on your new release – I’ve got “Tempt the Devil” on my book list. 🙂

    Great interview too -and I’ll bet you got to try a bunch of different genres etc in 27 years!

    As for something new I’ve discovered… well it’s “old” (esp since they discontinued it…) but new to me – the HBO series “Rome” I got seasons 1 & 2 for pretty cheap, and just finished season 1 last night. As for authors… oh any number of them in 2008 – but most recently? Hm well actually, recently I’ve been mostly re-reading my favorite books from various authors.

    A new wine? Yes! It’s embarrassing – but I don’t remember the name – this wonderful light sparkling wine I got for only $20 – after having the first, I went out and got a second bottle, that I’m saving.

  38. January 5, 2009 at 6:13 am

    Hey, Limecello! Did you know I took video of the launch party in the lair? Bwahahahahaha! You know who to make the cheque out to!!!

    Great to see you here too. Thanks for the congrats – hope you enjoy TTD! I saw a couple of episodes of Rome – they had it on TV here but took it off because it didn’t rate, sadly. Some VERY pretty men in that! The wine sounds great – I always love trying the American wines when I visit. They’re not readily available here. I guess we have so many good ones of our own. I did a wine tour to the Sonoma and Napa Valleys when I was in San Francisco, and seriously I was in wine lover’s heaven! Tried some great drops, too!

  39. 39 H Maree Davis
    January 5, 2009 at 7:29 am

    Hi Anna and all the Desirabelles,

    I’m late, I know, hope you haven’t all left! Sooooo happy that TTD is out because CTC and Untouched were so fabulous and it was a long time to wait for the new one. Better than it merely being out, I have a ridgy didge Anna Campbell signed copy coming my way! (No need to put me in the draw)

    Apart from books what tempts me? A list of what doesn’t might be smaller.

    Shoes. Can’t believe no one has mentioned them before now! They are so lovely, and best of all, when you go shopping for them and your usual size doesn’t fit there is no need to feel guilty about chocolate or exercise, no blame can be attached. Scarves (pretty ones, not for keeping warm), bags – not just handbags, luggage too and Johnny Depp, especially when dressed as a pirate. Ooooh, and Bogie, watched Casablanca again last night, *sigh*.

    Good luck with the new work, especially while trying to keep up with a punishing launch schedule.

    H! 🙂

  40. January 5, 2009 at 7:37 am

    Hey, Heather, it’s still Sunday in the States! These days, I feel like I bridge two continents – gets very confusing when I start working out times everywhere! Lovely to see you – book should be on its way soon if the UPS man does his thing! Thanks so much for saying how much you liked CLAIMING THE COURTESAN and UNTOUCHED!

    I love your list of temptations! Sadly these days I can only walk in ‘sensible’ shoes which is a pity as I used to buy really silly pretty stuff, which is probably why I now can only wear flatties! Sigh. Thanks for the good luck!

  41. 41 sara hurt
    January 5, 2009 at 9:30 am

    Hiya Anna, I am so pumped about this book. I have had the most fun following you around ( or stalking) while you promote it. I am waiting for a gift card to Barnes and Noble (its coming in the mail)before I can buy it, I sure hope the post man hurries it along. Congrats on everything you definetly deserve it. My new addiction is Lindor white chocolate Truffles, OMG I got some for Christmas and they are just heavenly.

  42. January 5, 2009 at 10:09 am

    Sara, I do so love to see my stalk…uh, friends around the blogs 😉 Excellent news about the gift card – personally, I think you couldn’t put it to better use. Hmm, am I allowed two emoticons within two sentences? Yeah! Let’s live dangerously! 😉 Ooh, I LOVE Lindor. My friend Vanessa who you’ve probably seen around the blogs gave me a whole box for Christmas. The milk chocolate ones. YUM!!!! Hope you enjoy TTD!

  43. January 5, 2009 at 10:10 am

    Hi Anna!

    Congratulations on TTD. It’s fabulous! I’m still catching my breath after reading it.

    You just keep outdoing yourself, book after book. I can’t wait to see what you do next. Hard to improve on perfection, but I’m sure you will rise to the challenge.

    I’m tempted by books, strawberries in dark chocolate and champagne. 🙂

  44. January 5, 2009 at 10:25 am

    Hey, Ana, lovely to see you! And you know what my FAVORITE chocolate in the whole world is – those fresh cream ones from Harrods that I can rarely afford but absolutely adore. Thanks so much for those lovely words about TTD. I’m so stoked you loved it! Snorting at improving on perfection! Now that’s a log line I’d happily borrow! By the way, would you believe I HATE strawberries? I know, I’m odd!

  45. 45 H Maree Davis
    January 5, 2009 at 10:51 am

    Hey Anna,

    Shoes of the cute and comfy variety? Did you know Heidi Klumm designs for Birkenstock? Bit exxy though.

    H! 🙂

  46. January 5, 2009 at 10:56 am

    Hi Desirabelles! Hi Bronwyn! Thanks for having Anna on your blog. Isn’t it a gorgeous site? That was a great interview and I learned some things about Ms. Campbell I didn’t know! The CIA, huh?*g*

    As Anna knows, her latest book is my favourite Anna Campbell so far. I love the darkness and the journey Erith and most particularly Olivia go through to achieve their HEA but I also love the wit and zing of the banter between them. I have a real penchant for sophisticated heroines who know what they want (or think they do) and Olivia fits the bill!

    Can I ask you a question, Anna? What about Erith, your hero, do you find most tempting?

  47. January 5, 2009 at 11:10 am

    You know, Heather, I’m so desperate for some style to go along with my comfort (the only pair of functional shoes I currently own that can get me through dressed up occasions are a pair of Colorado boots), I don’t think I care what they charge me. I must check those out! I think of Birkenstocks as those clunky sandals German backpackers wear! Clearly there’s more to them than that.

    Christine, if I’d told you about the CIA, I’d have to shoot you. And I like your books far to much to wish for your demise!

    Thank you for those lovely words about TTD. I’m still glowing that you like it so much, seriously! Hmm, I like a LOT of things about Erith, as the copious physical descriptions that litter the story attest. Oh, you mean, things like character and personality? Actually I like his emotional maturity although sometimes his temper means he betrays that. I like his courage and his steadfastness and his humor. Yes, I really like the fact that he meets difficulty with a smile on his face and his head held high. That’s very attractive in a man!

  48. 48 Annick Weilche
    January 5, 2009 at 1:38 pm

    Hi Anna,
    Can’t wait to get my hands on ‘Tempt the Devil’. I loved CLAIMING THE COURTESAN (which I acquired when I met you and Annie at Guildford Library).

    I bought myself an excessive number of books for Christmas, now I have to make the time to read them all!!!

  49. January 5, 2009 at 2:02 pm

    Annick, I cleared away quite a bit of the TBR pile over Christmas. And then promptly turned around and bought more books! It’s terrible! So glad you enjoyed Claiming the Courtesan. Tempt should be out around the shops in the next couple of weeks, I hope.

  50. January 5, 2009 at 7:16 pm

    Hey, Desirabelles, thank you so much for having me as your guest! I’ve had a great time! Don’t forget to check back to see who won the signed copy of TEMPT THE DEVIL!

  51. 51 Karen H in NC
    January 6, 2009 at 3:48 am

    Hi Anna,

    Great to see you here. Love the interview and coming soon tidbits. Can never get enough tidbits…LOL. I am looking forward to getting a copy of your latest and I’ve already made notes on my BTB list for your upcoming books.

    My greatest temptation is an old one; one I’ve had for several years…I’m an impulsive book buyer. I can never have too many books. My TBR shelves consist of 3 6-shelf bookcases and 1 3-shelf case, double, triple & quadruple stuffed full of books numbering well over 800 books. Unfortunately, at my age, I probably won’t live long enough to read them all. Maybe I should slow my buying down until my reading catches up…HA…how funny is that? Never happen!

  52. January 6, 2009 at 5:33 am

    Anna and Bron, thanks for the terrific interview! So sorry I got here late. I was fascinated to hear Anna, that you danced for the Bolshoi – or wasn’t that you (G)?

    I have too many temptations to list but the main one is finding wonderful things to do other than write my wip, like read someone else’s book! A glass of wine outdoors with a bunch of friends and some finger food is another. Dreaming of trips away (I’ve just returned from the most wonderful Christmas trip and my feet haven’t yet touched the ground).

    I have to mention that I’ve read TEMPT THE DEVIL and (you won’t find this suprising) was absolutely hooked from that cracker of an opening scene. Fortunately I soon got past envy at Anna’s terrific writing and just enjoyed the emotional drama playing out on the pages. It’s one seriously intense, satifying and hot romance!

    Annie

  53. 53 Deidre
    January 6, 2009 at 7:16 am

    Books are my biggest love affair. I can’t get enough of them, much to my husband’s disdain. If I could get an ereader, he’d really be in trouble, but they wouldn’t be crowding up his house. LOl

    Deidre

  54. January 6, 2009 at 7:19 am

    Hello, everyone. *waving to Christine, Bandits, lots of RomAussers, and all our visiters* Lovely to see such an easily-tempted turnout for Anna’s visit. 🙂 I see that I share many temptations with others (the internet, oh yes!) and although I like a pair of cute shoes or three, my bigger shopping temptation is bags. And luggage. I am drawn, inexerably. (Don’t want to leave home, honestly!)

    Paula, I remind you of Holly on B&S? Gosh, am flattered. Wish I had her wardrobe!

    Anna, has been wonderful to have you as our guest. Hope you’ll drop back in and say hello again. And all the best with Tempt The Devil. Have a feeling we’ll be hearing lots more good news about its (and your) success.

    Bron

  55. 55 Minna
    January 6, 2009 at 7:44 am

    Chocolate, of course. Almost any kind. Books. And good shows on tv. I think I’m about to get hooked on a new series called Life they just started here.

  56. 56 Pat Cochran
    January 6, 2009 at 10:16 am

    Hello, Ms. Anna, It’s your Buddie “Late-Through-The- Gate” Pat! So good to see you here with the Desirabelles!
    I so enjoyed the Masked Ball on launch day, but I’m disappointed about the chandelier. I had just gotten up my
    courage to try a swing on it when someone (but I will not say who!) fell, taking the chandelier down. I have
    hopes of someday trying again, perhaps on a less populated day! As to temptations in my life: BOOKS, CHOCOLATES,
    TIM TAMS, HONEY (my Honey), E-MAILS, BLOGS, MY 70s FAVORITE NFL RUNNING BACK, & LOVELY, TEMPTING BOOK COVERS!!

    Pat Cochran

  57. January 6, 2009 at 12:24 pm

    Karen, laughed at your house. It sounds like mine! I have a three car garage. And guess what it’s full of? No, not cars (I can’t drive!). BOOKS! I’m beginning to think the books live here and I’m just renting 😉 I cleared away a whole stack of books during a break between Christmas and New Year (nice way to spend the holidays). And then what did I do? Hit Amazon! I’m absolutely hopeless! Thanks for coming round!

    Annie, thank you for those lovely words! And I swear I didn’t bribe her with a bottle of champagne (AW, hide that champagne NOW! What? You’ve drunk it already? Sheesh!). As you know, I’m terrifically envious of your trip. I loved hearing about all the wonderful places you went. Salzburg for Christmas? Wow! Paris? Wow! The Romantic Road in Germany? Wow! Will you take me next time, pretty please with sugar on top?

  58. January 6, 2009 at 12:27 pm

    Deidre, I can see the practical side of ereaders, but I must say I like living in a house that’s crammed to the rafters with books. For a start, they’re kind of like a living history of my life. I know just where I was every time I read one! What I would like an ereader for is travelling. Carrying books when you travel is an utter pain!

    Bron, I’m not sure if I told you but your luggage fetish is catching. I looked after Bron’s luggage in San Francisco on her last day there and drooled over its elegance (Bron IS elegant!). Anyway, I couldn’t resist but go to the same store she went to, just down the road at Ross, and buy myself the most elegant suitcase I’ve ever owned. It’s a Nine West one and it’s seriously gorgeous. I always feel like Audrey Hepburn now when I travel. For some reason, AH is inexorably related to glamour in my life. AH and BJ! Thanks for the wonderful interview and for inviting me over here. I’ve had a ball!

  59. January 6, 2009 at 12:32 pm

    Minna, the last time I saw you, you were chasing a cabana boy into the maze in the garden at my masked ball to launch TEMPT THE DEVIL! I’m glad you came out in one piece. Mind you, having said that, I haven’t seen the cabana boy since. What did you do to the poor lad? 😉 Thanks so much for popping by. Actually it’s funny – I just ran a website contest on what tempts people. And I was expecting a list of half-naked hunks. What I got was chocolate. I think we’re all so stressed and busy, we’re going for the reliable temptations and that’s chocolate! Oh, and second to chocolate was books which was great news for someone who writes them for a living!

    Hey, Pat! Is this your first visit to the Desirabelles? I love this site. I often check out posts even if I don’t post (yeah, I know that drives you wild, DBs!). Pat, I’ve heard from the chandelier repair bods that the old version is unfixable. Something about gladiator sweat in the fittings. I didn’t quite understand it! But the good news is we’ve got a new chandelier coming – so you make sure you jump on it before anyone else does!

    Hey, Aussies, I hope you’ll notice that I’m doing my bit to spread news about our national food – Tim Tams! Hey, did you know that they’re available at Target in the US till March as a test run? And that we talk about Tim Tams so often at the Romance Bandits that the distributing company in the US offered us free Tim Tams? I think that says it all, don’t you?

  60. January 6, 2009 at 10:56 pm

    Yes Anna, I do take my addictions seriously. Oh and it’s great to see another bag-aholic.

    And good on you for spreading the word for Tim Tams. I’m so surprised the US doesn’t have this wonderful food. 🙂

  61. 61 Eva S
    January 7, 2009 at 1:56 am

    Hi Anna,
    nice to meet you here! The covers of your books are all so wonderful, all for my temptation. The dukes, you know! But chocolate is a big one too!!

  62. January 7, 2009 at 2:12 am

    What’s annoying about the Tim Tams becoming available in the US, Eleni, is that they were my secret weapon! It’s amazing how much leverage a pack of Tim Tams gives you with people! 😉

    Hey, Eva! Lovely to see you here! I thought I saw you swinging off a chandelier in the lair too. One of the cabana boys must have lifted you down! Aren’t the covers lovely? I’m looking forward to seeing the Aussie one on the shelves within the next few weeks.

  63. 63 Patricia Cochran
    January 7, 2009 at 3:01 pm

    Hello again, Anna,

    To answer your question: this is not my first visit with the Desirabelles. I’ve stopped by several times. In fact,
    I took part in the fabulous contest this past year which was sponsored by several of the ladies who became the DBs.
    Lovely grand prize!

    Pat Cochran

  64. 64 RobynL
    January 7, 2009 at 3:35 pm

    chocolate is for me also. I’m trying to finish all the goodies we had for Christmas and never got eaten; oh my goodness.

  65. January 8, 2009 at 8:29 am

    Hi Anna! Congrats on the release of TTD. I’m eagerly awaiting my copy and I concur with whoever it was that said your books just keep getting better (not that they needed improving 🙂 )

    Hmmm, temptations…I’ve never had a really sweet tooth but I’d say food wise my biggest temptation would be some ripe brie or camembert spread on a seaweed flavoured rice cracker consumed together with a glass of perfectly chilled Chardonnay. Add to that sitting under a sun umbrella on our deck, a book in hand and gorgeous weather, such as we’re having now, and I’m blissed out!

  66. 66 Crystal B.
    January 9, 2009 at 12:48 am

    Chocolate is my greatest temptation right now. Congratulations Anna on the release of Tempt The Devil. 🙂

  67. January 9, 2009 at 6:37 am

    Hey, Pat, great to see you’re a regular here. I love that Aussie author are getting such a great worldwide profile!

    Oh, Robyn, isn’t it terrible? I have a fridge full of chocolate too! And then I wonder why my clothes are getting tight!

    Yvonne, can I come and visit? I promise I’ll bring a book too so I won’t interrupt your communing with the camembert! That sounded like an absolutely lovely way to pass a day!

    Crystal, join with us all in choc-lovers anonymous! Thanks for the congrats! It’s so exciting!

  68. January 9, 2009 at 6:38 am

    Oh, and Yvonne, I hope you enjoy TTD! It should be around in local stores fairly soon.

  69. January 11, 2009 at 6:40 am

    Lordy, I am soooo late! Okay, someone mentioned handbags… yes, yes, YES!! And luggage. I’d sleep with my lime-green leather carry-on if the buckles were’nt so damn sharp 😀

    Thanks for popping in, Anna – always loverly to have you here!

  70. January 11, 2009 at 2:10 pm

    The bag lady, that would be me, Paula. Imagine! Anna, I am feeling most proud to have passed on my luggage fetish. We can compare bags at next conference…and perhaps with Eleni and Paula as well. 🙂

    Yvonne, I can just picture you communing with Camembert and a chilled glass of Marlborough’s finest. Book in hand. Sigh. That does sound like bliss.

    Thank you to everyone you dropped by this week to be tempted by the fabulous Anna, and to talk about your temptations. Anna, it’s been a complete delight, as always, to have you here.

    And now, only slightly late (my elegant apologies), it is my pleasure to announce the winner of this week’s giveaway. The prize is a signed copy of Anna’s TEMPT THE DEVIL and the winner is Monique Wood. Monique, please email me.

    Bron

  71. 71 azteclady
    January 12, 2009 at 1:44 am

    *applause* Congrats, Monique!

    Thank you, Anna, Bron and all of you, Desirabelles!

  72. February 13, 2009 at 7:08 pm

    Yay!!! Thanks, ladies!!! I’m sooooooooooooooo excited. You’ve all made my day!!!

    Hugs, or should I say Hughs (in honour of Mr Jackman – I’m always spreading Hughs around),

    🙂 Mon


Comments are currently closed.

