28
Dec
08

Looking Forward To 2009

As 2008 draws to a close, some of the Desirabelles have cast their eyes forward to answer the question: What are you looking forward to in 2009? Here is what they had to say.

Sandra:  The July release of my very first book, Having the Billionaire’s Baby, and seeing what I’ve worked towards for so many years actually result in a book I can hold in my hands.

Robyn:  Other than my 18yo dd meeting a nice boy (no more out of work drummers with secret pregnant girlfriends, please!) I’m looking forward to the NA release of my fifth Desire, “Bedded by Blackmail” in June.  The story has some of my favourite hooks – Rags to Riches, Housekeeper to a Multi-millionaire, plus there’s a nasty villain who thinks he has a good reason for extorting the poor heroine, Ella Jacob (that’s Ella in the picture.)  Tristan Barkley is more than your typical hero and has his reality tipped on its head when black turns to white and Ella’s past entangles them both in a web of deceit that could prove fatal.

Yvonne:  I’m really excited about my upcoming  Rogue Diamonds mini-series (releases in Feb/Mar/Apr). The series follows three old school buddies journey to love-and of course, each journey has some very bumpy patches. Starting 5 January, on eHarlequin.com I’ll be hosting a discussion on the first book, “Convenient Marriage, Inconvenient Husband,” and the series in general-please pop on by so I’m not just talking to myself! As soon as I have the link for the discussion I’ll post it up on my blog. Also, as part of their 60th anniversary celebrations, Harlequin are doing a special year long spotlight with a “My Favorite Hero” blog feature. A discussion between my Rogues, about the first hero’s predicament, will be featured on 7 January! All this before I’ve even received my author copies. Looks like January is going to kick start a busy year for me.

Bron: In 09 I look forward to my youngest starting university, my eldest returning safely from a trip to India, and the first foal from my mare (fingers crossed.) I also have a new series to look forward to, both in release and in writing. The first two books feature the wash-up from an innocent sister swap, with an extra twist on the mistaken identity theme. To solve the mess of misunderstandings, Isabelle and Chessie Browne are swept off to England and into a world of private jets and chauffeured limos, London townhouses and country estates, polo and opera and weekends in Paris. And shopping. There is a strong Cinderella theme, plenty of blue blood, a few wicked relatives, and at least two delicious men. Cristiano Veron is all hot sexy charm, Justin Harrington intriguingly aloof, and I had enormous fun playing out the attraction of opposites (guess which man gets the quiet sensible sister and which the funloving firebrand?) Magnate’s Make-Believe Mistress is a July release and Billionaire’s Inconvenient Bride will follow in September. And this year I’ll be working on two more books featuring siblings of Cristo and Justin. (The picture is my collage for Make-Believe Mistress.)

Paula: I always love the idea of a brand-spanking new year, before it loses it’s shiny new-car smell and everyone drags their muddy footprints all over the new carpet 🙂 For me, 2009 is the year I turn the big 4-0 in June, and apart from the “hey, has it been that long since I went to school/MC Hammer was the coolest/I went into labour?” moments, I don’t stress about getting another year older. So the stuff I’m really looking forward to this year is catching up with friends at Australia’s first Romance Reader Convention in February and RWAustralia’s National Conference in August. We always have a ball at these things: I’m so lucky I get to call this work!

Another event I’m looking forward to is my next book, The Magnate’s Baby Promise, which will hit US shelves in August, then Australia in September (I’m hoping to have my author copies in time for conference!). It’s about Cal Prescott, Sydney’s richest software developer, who needs a wife to get control of his step-father’s company. Ava Reilly, a small business owner in rural NSW, needs his money to save her family business. It’s got a one-night stand, an unexpected pregnancy and a forced/convenient marriage, plus two wonderfully flawed characters. To get the feel of an outback country town, I used a fabulous picture of NSW’s Hunter Valley by Ken Duncan for inspiration.  I’m also reeeeeally looking forward to completing two more books by August – one is Cal’s brother’s story, and the other part of Desire’s “Babies and Billionaires” 2010 series with wonderful Aussie authors Maxine Sullivan (March 2010) and Robyn Grady (April 2010). Mine will be a May release and I’m absolutely loving writing it!

That’s a brief glimpse of what we’re looking forward to in 2009; what about you? Join the discussion for a chance to win a signed copy of Bronwyn’s Bestseller Collection, featuring her first two books In Bed With The Boss’s Daughter and Addicted To Nick.

23 Responses to “Looking Forward To 2009”


  1. 1 Rachel Bailey
    December 28, 2008 at 9:37 am

    Hey, what great things to look forward to! I’m looking forward to my first full year as a Harlequin author. I don’t have a book of my own coming out, but I’m looking forward to reading all the other Desirabelle books in 2009!

  2. 2 limecello
    December 28, 2008 at 10:55 am

    I’m looking forward to graduating! (But not the bar) … 😛 so far I don’t know what else – great books, another new year and hopefully wonderful adventures?

  3. December 28, 2008 at 12:38 pm

    I’m looking forward to defeating my TBR pile (I’m trying to be positive!). Seriously, I think with every new year I just want the best for family and friends. Good health and joy. I can’t ask for anymore….oh and maybe a book contract my way 😉

  4. 4 Ellen
    December 28, 2008 at 1:06 pm

    I’m looking forward to lots of books to read from authors like youall. And time to travel and enjoy life. As well as good health and happiness.

  5. 5 Avi J
    December 28, 2008 at 2:17 pm

    I am looking forward to my sister’s wedding. My first time as a Maid of Honour so I am really excited.
    Also, so many new books to look forward to 😀

  6. 6 Dina
    December 28, 2008 at 2:21 pm

    A niece, my sister is due in March.
    I am so going to spoil her 😀

  7. 7 LJ
    December 28, 2008 at 2:31 pm

    What perfect timing for this post. Bron, my husband and I found out Christmas eve that l am pregnant. I am just about two months along. Well in addition, I am excited to find out if I am having a boy or a girl.
    Best wishes for 2009

  8. 8 Sandra
    December 28, 2008 at 3:44 pm

    Oooh LJ, it’ll definitely be a life changing year for you.

    I’ll have a new nephew coming onto the scene in February – really looking forward to that.

    Robyn – the unemployed drummer boyfried sounds like one I could live without for my daughter.

  9. 9 Patricia Cochran
    December 28, 2008 at 4:12 pm

    I thought I had already submitted a comment! Oh well!

    What I’m looking forward to is a quieter, less active life with fewer volunteer
    opportunities in my future. I feel that more than thirty years working with
    school, church and civic groups is enough for this lifetime!

    Pat Cochran

  10. 10 Cynthya
    December 28, 2008 at 6:40 pm

    I’m looking forward to reading new books by my favorite authors, of course. I am also looking forward to organizing my books so I stop buying a second copy of a book I already have (you wouldn’t believe how many times I’ve done that!) Happy New Year!

  11. 11 azteclady
    December 29, 2008 at 2:51 am

    (Please don’t enter me in the drawing–I already got the book *waving at Bronwyn*)

    I’m looking forward to my eldest turning 21.

    *blink*

    On second thought, I’m gonna feel really old, so perhaps I’m not quite looking forward to that… 😉

  12. 12 RobynL
    December 29, 2008 at 3:52 am

    I’m looking forward to a new chapter/year in our lives with clean pages
    and am hoping that health and happiness are written on each page with very
    few or no entries of anything else negative.

  13. 13 Jane
    December 29, 2008 at 6:06 am

    So many books to look forward to. I’m looking forward to a healthier me and a healthier global economy(hopefully.)

  14. 14 Patricia Cochran
    December 29, 2008 at 11:27 am

    I forgot to add: Cutting back on my volunteer hours will give me more time to read!
    I’ve got about six boxes of books waiting for me to get to them! I’m getting giddy
    with the thought of all that reading time!! LOL!

    Pat Cochran

  15. 15 Maureen
    December 30, 2008 at 2:09 am

    I am looking forward to the birth of my new nephew and of course, all the wonderful books thatl I will be reading.

  16. 16 Deidre
    December 30, 2008 at 3:53 am

    I’m looking forward to a fresh start and hopefully getting out of debt, so that my stomach ulcer can finally heal up. Then there are a bunch of good books coming out in the new year. Can’t wait for Charlaine Harris’ next Sookie book.

    Deidre

  17. December 30, 2008 at 8:58 pm

    So many fabulous things to look forward to! Have to say WTG Limecello and LJ, mega congrats! That’s just wonderful. 🙂 I’m looking forward to seeing “Australia” in the new year. I’ve heard great things and, well, there is Hugh, after all 🙂 Saw Twilight last night, and totally loved it! The guy who plays Edward the gorgeous vampire (ex Harry Potter, apparently) reminds me a little of Elvis. The story was well adapted, I thought. Young love is soooooo sweet.

  18. 18 Eva S
    December 31, 2008 at 5:09 am

    I’m looking forward to many wonderful books, so many new to add to my TBR pile…And I’m looking forward to a trip to Scotland in September! Hope to meet a Highlander or two…

  19. 19 Avi J
    January 1, 2009 at 4:17 am

    HAPPY NEW YEAR 2009 😀
    Its still old year’s day here so getting ready for tonight.

  20. January 1, 2009 at 3:31 pm

    Limecello – fingers crossed for your graduation!
    LJ, Sandra and Maureen – nephews and nieces are really cool and you can spoil them without consequences 😀

    HAPPY NEW YEAR, EVERYONE!

  21. 21 Ellen
    January 2, 2009 at 1:37 am

    Happy New Year to everyone….may it be filled with laughter, good books, lots of fun, and more really good reads.

  22. 22 azteclady
    January 2, 2009 at 4:08 am

    Happy New Year, lady Desirabelles and guests!

  23. January 4, 2009 at 10:51 am

    Happy New Year to everyone! Reading through what everyone is looking forward to, I can tell it is going to be a fabulous year for so many.

    Congratulations LJ on the happiest of news and also on winning a copy of my book. Hope you are well and that everything goes ahead healthily and happily.

    A happy reading year to you all,
    Bron


Comments are currently closed.

