20
Dec
08

and so this is Christmas…

beetles-christmas

I’m sure you know the song. John Lennon and Yoko wrote it one evening in October. It was released in time for the festive season, but (would you believe) the song didn’t rate a mention on the US charts.  It’s a close call, but that Christmas song is possibly my favourite.

grinch

What about Christmas movies? As a child, I totally loved the classic, Frosty the Snowman. Nowadays I’m far more sophisticated. The Grinch, starring Jim Carrey as the green furry-bellied neurotic cynic, really hits my silly-season spot. The closing scene brings tears to my eyes every single time.

Now, a favourite Christmas book? Has to be Harvey Slumfenburger’s Christmas Present about a very noble and determined Santa battling every conceivable obstacle to deliver a forgotten present to little Harvey, who lives way up the top of Roly Poly Mountain.

 christmas-cute-kid

Christmas is about hope and giving. It’s about love and loyalty. 

Christmas is about family and friends and, especially, children. 

From all the Desirabelles, have a sensational, and safe, Christmas!

Let us know your favourite Christmas song, movie or book and be in the draw for this year’s Christmas Gift Collection from Harlequin.

45 Responses to “and so this is Christmas…”


  1. 1 Avi J
    December 21, 2008 at 12:58 am

    Merry Christmas to you all. My favourite Christmas song is Hark the Hereld Angels Sing. Movie is Home Alone and book is The Bible where the story of the Birth of Jesus is told.
    I will also add, happy cooking everyone have fun in the kitchen. 😀

  2. 2 LJ
    December 21, 2008 at 1:13 am

    Silent Night is my favourite song. Favourite movie is Christmas with the kranks.
    Merry Christmas

  3. December 21, 2008 at 1:33 am

    My favorite song currently is “One King” by Point of Grace. My favorite book for the holidays is “Gift of the Magi”. My favorite movie is a hard pick so I’ll name the top five instead. It’s a Wonderful Life, The Bishop’s Wife, Christmas Story, A Christmas Card, and A Christmas Carol.
    Happy Holidays and Merry Christmas everyone!

  4. 4 Tiarra Coffey
    December 21, 2008 at 1:46 am

    Favorite Song is “Silver and Gold” by Burl Ives

    Favorite Book is “The night before Christmas” I have started reading it to my little boy now 🙂

    Favorite Movie is “Christmas Vacation” and the old “Rudolph The Red Nose Reindeer” That is narrated by Burl Ives

    Merry Christmas everyone 🙂

  5. 5 christa
    December 21, 2008 at 1:54 am

    favourite song is Where are you Christmas by Faith Hill from Favourite movie How the Grinch Stole Christmas with Jim Carey. Book would be Night before Christmas

  6. 6 Aideen
    December 21, 2008 at 2:00 am

    The Christmas shoes is my favorite movie. The Grinch is also another

  7. 7 Mau J
    December 21, 2008 at 2:05 am

    Favourite song O holy night. Favourite movie Jingle all thw way

  8. 8 Ellen
    December 21, 2008 at 2:20 am

    My favorite song is “Rudolph the red nose reindeer”. And favorite book (like so many others) is “The Night Before Christmas”.

  9. 9 azteclady
    December 21, 2008 at 4:04 am

    It changes every year, but this year, this is my favorite Christmas song.

    My favorite Christmas movie has always been It’s a Wonderful Life and my favorite book A Christmas Carol.

    Ladies, may you all have a wonderful holiday season!

  10. 10 Lori Ann
    December 21, 2008 at 5:20 am

    My favorite Christmas song is Little Drummer Boy and my favorite movie is It’s A Wonderful Life.

  11. 11 Rose
    December 21, 2008 at 5:39 am

    Borrowed Hearts is my favourite movie, Rocking around the Christmas tree is my fav song.

  12. 12 limecello
    December 21, 2008 at 6:16 am

    Ooo I love “so this is Christmas!” Love love love it! I’m also a fan of the “old school” Christmas carols. Rudolph – Jingle Bells, Deck the Halls, Frosty the Snowman, Winter Wonderland… but also the traditional ones. Silent Night, O Holy Night.

    🙂 Heh I sang a lot as a kid, I guess 😛 “Movie” wise – I loved the Grinch, and Charlie Brown 😀

  13. 13 Jane
    December 21, 2008 at 6:18 am

    My favorite songs are “The Christmas Song” by Nat King Cole and “Christmas Canon” by Trans Siberian Orchestra. My favorite movie and special is “A Christmas Story” and “A Charlie Brown Christmas.”

  14. 14 RobynL
    December 21, 2008 at 6:37 am

    My fav song is O Holy Night; a beautiful song.
    My fav movie is The Gathering starring Ed Asner.
    My fav book is the Christmas Letters by Debbie Macomber.

  15. 15 Dina
    December 21, 2008 at 7:06 am

    A Christmas Carol is my favourite movie and Silent Night is my favourite song.

  16. 16 Minna
    December 21, 2008 at 7:07 am

    Some of my favorite songs are Sylvia’s Christmas Song, Tonttu (elf), Let it Snow, Merry Christmas Everybody and Christmas in Heaven by Monty Python.

  17. 17 Crystal B.
    December 21, 2008 at 7:07 am

    Have a Holly Jolly Christmas by Burl Ives is my favorite Christmas song.

  18. 18 Dena
    December 21, 2008 at 8:21 am

    My favorite song is White Christmas followed by Let it Snow, growing up we never had a white christmas so I think that’s why I love these songs.

  19. December 21, 2008 at 8:53 am

    I’m also a fan of your favourite song and movie, Robyn, and it’s also a tradition in our house to watch Christmas Vacation every year. We know the script pretty well off by heart now and still laugh ourselves silly.

    Happy Christmas week to everyone–may it be filled with loads of laughter, love and special moments.

    Bron

  20. 20 Sandra
    December 21, 2008 at 11:08 am

    Movies – I love Wonderful Life, must get it out and show it to my kids. I haven’t seen The Grinch yet so I’ll add that to the list too. And while not striclty a Christmas movie I love While You Were Sleeping a lot of which happens around Christmas.

    Songs – until about two weeks before Christmas I can’t bear to hear Christmas songs and then as the day draws closer something happens and I love them all, singing along loudly (and badly) regardless of who’s within earshot.

  21. 21 Kammie
    December 21, 2008 at 12:37 pm

    My favorite Christmas song is December by Kenny Loggins. A little sappy and probably shows my age, too, but I just love it! lol

  22. 22 Bethany
    December 21, 2008 at 1:06 pm

    My favourite movie is definatly the old Rudolph the red nosed reindeer and a close second is the old Santa Clause is coming to town( the burgermister makes me laugh and absolutely makes this movie). My favourite song is O holy night.

  23. 23 Karin
    December 21, 2008 at 1:44 pm

    My favorite Christmas movie is It’s A Wonderful Life. I watch it every year with my parents and love the message. I like all Christmas songs, but there is one that I’m really starting to enjoy above the others – the only problem is I can’t think of the name since I only hear it while I’m listening to Pandora while I’m at work. As for my favorite Christmas book, it would have to be a tie between Charles Dickens’ A Christmas Carol and The Night Before Christmas, since my dad used to read that to my brothers, sister, and I ever year.

  24. 24 Cathy R. aka Cats Meow
    December 21, 2008 at 1:49 pm

    My new favorite is The 12 days of Christmas by RelientK. Fave Movie, “Scrooged”, aka A Christmas Carol with Bill Murray. =)
    Happy Holidays all.

  25. 25 Deidre
    December 21, 2008 at 2:42 pm

    My favorite Christmas song is Baby, It’s Cold Outside. My favorite holiday movies are the Harry Potter series.

    Deidre

  26. 26 Cynthya
    December 21, 2008 at 4:14 pm

    My favorite Christmas song is O Holy Night, my favorite movie is any version of A Christmas Carol. I’m not sure about favorite book, but favorite short story is The Gift of the Magi by O. Henry. Happy Holidays!

  27. 27 Eshani
    December 21, 2008 at 5:00 pm

    My favorite christmas movie is Love Actually. It always cheers everyone up in my family :). There are so many wonderful Holiday songs these days, but I think my favorites are “Silent Night” and “All I want for Christmas is You”.
    Good luck to everyone with last minute holiday preparations!

  28. 28 kh
    December 21, 2008 at 5:03 pm

    all i want for xmas by mariah carey

    home alone

  29. December 21, 2008 at 5:51 pm

    Hey everyone, I’m back on line!

    Hmmm, I have to think about this one 😀 I ADORED those kids movies Frosty the Snowman and Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer – using puppet animation seemed so high tech at the time! The fave song would have to be “Do they Know It’s Christmas” by Band Aid but only for the filmclip and only because I’m a total child of the 80s 😆 The books I always have to read are “The Christmas Mouse” and Linley Dodd’s “Christmas Crackers” (a fabulous Kiwi writer… in cartoons and verse, no less!)

    MERRY XMAS, EVERYONE!

  30. 30 christa
    December 22, 2008 at 1:49 am

    I liked the fact that with Band Aid and Northern Lights the singers didn’t try to make themselves look good by putting on makeup and dressing up. It looked more like they were promoting the cause than the singers whereas USA for Africa was more glitz and glamour
    lots of great songs. I’m going to You Tube and creating a holiday song playlist.
    Happy Holidays all

  31. 31 Gina
    December 22, 2008 at 8:19 am

    Favourite story is the night before Christmas and favourite song is O holy night. My movie is Jack Frost.

  32. 32 catslady
    December 22, 2008 at 10:46 am

    I have two – one is the Nightingale Song song by Garth Brooks and the otehr is Mary did you Know sung by Mark Lowry.

  33. December 22, 2008 at 12:25 pm

    Oh how I love Christmas carols and songs when I was growing up. We learned them all in school and sang them together and it was a hoot. But when I started working in the CBD, they started playing Christmas carols around October. Now was that a buzz kill. I found I never really sang carols around the time when I should. Instead I would find myself humming a bar around June. No wonder people do Christmas in July parties.

    Since stopping working in the CBD, I don’t mind so much but as for a favourite I really don’t know. Silent Night and Jingle Bells have always been favourites. Also ‘All I want for Christmas – is my two front teeth’, which I always found funny. 🙂

    I’ve always loved ‘It was the night before Christmas’ and funnily enough growing up I loved watching ‘American Christmas Carole’ which had Henry Winkler in it (ey, the Fonz!)

    Thank you you all a Merry Christmas and a fantastic new year!!

  34. 34 Kimj
    December 22, 2008 at 12:38 pm

    My favourite movie is Miracle on 34th street.

  35. 35 Maureen
    December 22, 2008 at 11:45 pm

    The Grinch is my favorite story because of the part where Christmas came without all the stuff and the Who’s still rejoiced.

  36. 36 Susan
    December 23, 2008 at 5:15 am

    My favorite Christmas song is Winter Wonderland.
    My favorite movie is A Christmas Story.

  37. 37 Lizzy
    December 24, 2008 at 2:25 am

    My favourite movie is “Snow” it is really a romantic comedy about a young Santa.

  38. December 24, 2008 at 11:39 am

    There’s some *gorgeous* movies and songs and books here! I’ve been busy, as I’m sure have you all, doing the multiple last minute things that need to be done before tomorrow morning.

    I’ll be back late this evening, just before Santa visits, to draw our lucky winner!!

  39. December 24, 2008 at 9:22 pm

    Drum roll please….

    The winner of the Harlequin Christmas Gift Collection is Eshani!!
    And we have runners-up with Karin and Ellen, who each win a copy of one of my latest releases 🙂

    Ladies, contact me via my website http://www.robyngrady.com and I’ll send your prizes out next week.

    Tabitha’s asleep so I guess Santa will be calling soon!

    Have a fabulous day tomorrow, everyone! Roll on Christmas!! 🙂

  40. 40 azteclady
    December 25, 2008 at 4:37 am

    Thank you, Robyn, may your Christmas be wonderful!

    Congratulations, Eshani, Karin and Ellen!

  41. December 25, 2008 at 11:02 am

    Congrats to all the lucky winners! And a very Merry Christmas to all! I’m currently busy trying to figure out how to update the gorgeous new purple Nano my dh gave me (he listens *sigh*) and a turkey is roasting in the oven for us to take to our family gathering later on today. And the sun is shining after a couple of days of terrible weather so all is well in New Zealand right now 🙂

  42. December 26, 2008 at 5:49 am

    just peeking on in to say Merry Christmas! 🙂

    Lois

  43. 44 Dena
    December 26, 2008 at 9:18 am

    Congrats to the winners.
    Have a wondeful holiday everyone.

  44. 45 Eshani
    December 27, 2008 at 3:56 am

    Thank you so much, Robyn!
    I hope everyone had a wonderful Christmas with their families..


Comments are currently closed.

