15
Dec
08

On the Ninth Day of Christmas…

9_ladies_dancingDepending on the version of The Twelve Days of Christmas we could be blogging nine drummers drumming or nine ladies dancing. Anyone want to form a conga line? With nine? Would we all conga in time?

 

Oh dear, maybe there’s too much cheer happening here.  😀

 

Which brings me back to dancing. As a kid I loved to watch “Come Dancing” a ballroom competition show here on a Friday night. The gowns, the hairdos, ththe-great-waltze suits, the precision! I also loved listening to the Strauss waltzes and remember being dazzled by the movie, The Great Waltz, and the romanticism of a ball room filled with swaying dancers in exquisitely tailored ball gowns and jewelled or embroidered slippers and dripping with glittering jewellery, the men…well, let’s face it, it’s really all about the dresses, isn’t it?

 

And speaking of dresses, do you have plans to wear anything special on Christmas Day? I used to spend probably about as long searching for the ‘right’ outfit for Christmas Day as I did gifts! Nowadays, it’s more a case of whatever still fits and has an expanding waistband to accommodate the excesses of Christmas Day fare.

 

Hmm, considering the nine ladies dancing are supposed to be representative of the nine fruits of the Holy Spirit–Love, Joy, Peace, Patience, Kindness, Goodness, Faithfulness, Gentleness and the biggie SELF-CONTROL, maybe I should wear something that doesn’t stretch with the day, just to remind me.

 

Tell me what you’re planning to wear on Christmas Day, or what you’d like to wear (we’re all allowed a little fantasy) if you had the money, the climate, the figure–whatever!

cmih-small 

One randomly drawn comment will receive a copy of my February release, the first in my Rogue Diamonds Trilogy, CONVENIENT MARRIAGE, INCONVENIENT HUSBAND, together with a very cute paua shell inlaid Kiwi phone charm.

(please note, I haven’t received my author copies yet so I can’t guarantee you the book before January but will send it through as soon as it is available)

23 Responses to “On the Ninth Day of Christmas…”


  1. 1 orannia
    December 15, 2008 at 5:30 am

    HI Yvonne,

    As I’m not actually celebrating Christmas this year, I’ll probably end up slouching around the house in a t-shirt and shorts…because, after all, the cat doesn’t mind what I wear as long as I pay him some attention 🙂 If I could wear whatever I wanted (and look absolutely fabulous 🙂 ….hmmm, I’m not sure… *puts thinking cap on*

    All the best for the February release of Convenient Marriage, Inconvenient Husband!

  2. December 15, 2008 at 6:01 am

    oh, it’s a race to change out of my old t-shirt and shorts and into something half-way decent… an ADHD 8yo tends to speed things up a bit 😀 I usually lay something out the night before: pants and a top, normally. BTW saw your latest cover up at Amazon, Yvonne! Veeery gorgeous!

  3. 3 Avi J
    December 15, 2008 at 6:14 am

    I want to wear a strapless, ruby red dress with an empire waist and “entirely backless” only if l was daring. Bead work on the front too. love this post and that cover.

  4. 4 LJ
    December 15, 2008 at 6:34 am

    My dress would be a gold chiffon cocktail dress with a pleated bodice, and encrusted with austrian crystals. Mind you dh almost freaked when he saw the price tag but after l tried it on, his mouth could not close. Well let me tell you the three words he said. WOW, very sexy, don’t you just love when you can render them speechless. 😀

  5. 5 Ellen
    December 15, 2008 at 6:45 am

    I’m not a dress up person. In fact I hate to wear dresses of any kind. So I will be wearing jeans and a denim shirt just like I do every day.

  6. 6 Jane
    December 15, 2008 at 6:59 am

    I would love to wear a cute, little black dress, but I’ll be more comfortable in a pair of slacks or maybe even jeans and a nice blouse.

  7. 7 azteclady
    December 15, 2008 at 8:52 am

    I had a dark green crushed velvet dress that I used to wear anytime I wanted to look nice… *sigh* it died of extreme use, the poor thing. But that’s what I would like to wear for Christmas Ever.

  8. 8 rachelbailey
    December 15, 2008 at 9:15 am

    I really like the sound of LJ’s dress, so I’ll have what she’s having. 😀

    In Australia, it’s just so hot on Christmas day, that I usually wear togs / swimmers with a sarong, and spend most of the day in the pool.

    One year I was hosting Christmas and had decorated everything in blue and silver – the house, the tableware, the wrapping paper, etc, so I bought a silver top and wore it with blue pants. Looked gorgeous but I had to get changed by about 11am coz it was too hot!

  9. December 15, 2008 at 10:24 am

    Orannia, so long as the cat doesn’t mind you can go ahead and wear whatever you please, even a dressing gown all day long. I think comfort is the key.

    Paula, yes! Isn’t that new cover (I assume you’re talking about the March one?) GORGEOUS! It’s a scene straight from the book. I’m so excited about it.

    Avi and LJ, you ladies sound incredibly stunning, elegant and sexy at Christmas time. I think I’ll take a quiet dark corner when you guys are around 😉

    Ellen and Jane, I’d probably be wearing jeans on Christmas Day if it was cool enough here, trouble is it’s generally very warm and humid and I can’t remember the last Christmas Day that it didn’t add some rain into the bargain. I’ll probably be in black three quarter summer pants and a dressy-ish sleeveless top in the shade (hiding from Avi and LJ.) Of course, in a perfect world I’d be wearing something floaty and diamond encrusted that just swam around my body as I walked…and my shoes wouldn’t hurt by the end of the day either.

    Azteclady, your green velvet sounds really special. A shame you couldn’t get one made usingthe old gown as a pattern, since it was such a favourite.

    Rachel, oooh, a pool! Can I come over to your place? I promise to stay in the water so as not to scare small children 8)

  10. 10 Ellen
    December 15, 2008 at 10:58 am

    Yvonne – many years we have the air conditioner running on Christmas. I live along the south coast of Texas and my brother lives even further south near the Mexico border so most years its in the low 80s. But I wear jeans all year long.

  11. 11 Rachel Bailey
    December 15, 2008 at 11:05 am

    Yvonne, absolutely you can come! We usually start with mango slices in champagne for breakfast/brunch while we laze in the pool (plastic champagne flutes, obviously), and then move on to course after course, sometimes in the pool, sometimes in the shade.

    Only one problem. . . it’ll be a bit of a drive from NZ! 😀

  12. 12 ruth
    December 15, 2008 at 12:29 pm

    I will be wearing black velvet pants with a white blouse. Smart but comfortable. If I could I would wear the ultimate little black dress but alas that is not to be.

  13. 13 sandrahyatt
    December 15, 2008 at 5:21 pm

    Hmmm. This year Christmas is at my house, so it’ll be pretty casual. Would love a gorgeous floaty sundress (but it’ll probably be shorts and a top). My family was always very casual at Christmas time and I clearly remember my first Christmas with my husband’s family when everyone (ie the sisters in law) disappeared before lunch and came back out looking gorgeous and glamorous. Definitely felt like the poor relation.

    PS I have a photo! Thank you Rachel for enlightening me as to what a gravatar is.

  14. December 15, 2008 at 7:57 pm

    Here I am, joining in the conga line!! I used to always work out ahead of time my Chrissy outfit. I remember a gold loose singletie type top and cream crepe skirt I was very fond of. That was about 15 kls ago, lol. This year I think I’ll wear a silver grey dress, that every so comfy but also festive enough. Shoes, of course, is another thing!!

  15. December 15, 2008 at 10:50 pm

    I’m just a casual gal – so jeans and tshirt for me. Will depend on what’s available on the day. Yes I lead a very glamorous life!!

  16. 16 christa
    December 16, 2008 at 3:03 am

    usually for me it’s dress pants and a nice, cooler blouse/shirt. While it’s cold outside, inside it gets pretty warm between the cooking and all the people.

  17. 17 Maureen
    December 16, 2008 at 6:31 am

    Since I’ll be cooking it has to be something comfortable and dark so no stains show.

  18. December 16, 2008 at 7:23 am

    Maureen, without the Christmas cooks where would we be?

    Christa, yes, I can imagine that despite the outdoor temps indoors still gets warm and toasty.

    Eleni, I’m sure you will still look glamorous in your jeans and t-shirt.

    Robbie, yay! A fellow party conga liner. Your silver grey dress sounds divine, but then again you always look so lovely you’d look great in anything.

    Oh, Sandra, how awful that must have been for you. Never mind, you can wear what you want to at your home this year. Besides, you’re another one of those always-looking-fabulously-put-together people anyway.

    Ruth, your black velvet pants sound fabulous and elegant, although given the temperature we’re having here today in Auckland I’m breaking out in a sweat just thinking about wearing velvet!

    Rachel, I’ll fly over. You think my family will notice me missing? 😉

    Ellen, ah, air conditioning. I have my fan running flat out in my office at the moment but boy oh boy, put air con in here and you’d never get me out again!

    Okay, folks, time to announce the winner of the Paua inlaid Kiwi phone charm and my February release….

    And the winner is…MAUREEN!

    Congratulations, Maureen. If you’d like to contact me with your postal address I’ll get your book and charm in the mail as soon as I receive my author copies!

  19. 19 azteclady
    December 16, 2008 at 9:41 am

    Congrats, Maureen!

    Thank you, Yvonne

  20. 20 RobynL
    December 16, 2008 at 2:29 pm

    I would love to wear a ‘little black number’with diamond jewellery but alas,
    I am working so will be wearing scrubs for my job at a Personal Care Home.

  21. 21 Maureen
    December 16, 2008 at 10:15 pm

    Thank you and Merry Christmas to everyone!

  22. December 17, 2008 at 5:54 am

    You know, I think it’ll be shorts and a T-shirt for me. Roll on summer! 🙂

  23. December 17, 2008 at 6:58 am

    Oh yes, RobynL, a little black number and some exquisite diamond jewellery would be just the ticket. Are you working on Christmas Day? I hope, if you are, that you still get to really enjoy it.

    Nalini, oh come on! Surely you’ll be draped in cat fur at least…leopard maybe?


Comments are currently closed.

