12
Dec
08

the sixth day of Christmas…

Okay, so this is interesting – “six geese are laying” refers to the six days of creation. You know, the ‘God created the Earth, the heavens and universe in six days, then spent Sunday resting’ thing? Now, so’s not to get into a whole raging debate about creationism v’s evolution v’s God/s etc (politics and religion – always guaranteed to start an argument!) let’s talk about creations that are personal to you.

earth-spaceHere are some of my favorites: my boy (on a good day) 😆 The Grand Canyon, the beach, caramelattes, Jennifer Crusie’s books, the ability to write, all-fleece doonas, lactose-free milk, underwire bras, lip gloss, butterflies, cats, first-date excitement, a set of well-toned abs, air conditioners, hot pink, jasmine, MSWord’s Document Map, massive whiteboards, Veronica Mars and David Boreanaz. Oh, and Lush’s ‘The Big Tease’ hair gel. And Happy Hippy bodywash. And Lego. Hmmm….

What are some of your best creations? Ones you’ve made yourself? Ones from devine design? Or gifts you’ve received that have been made and/or given with love? Post a comment and win some cute stationery (sorry, I didn’t create it – Hallmark did) 😉

19 Responses to “the sixth day of Christmas…”


  1. December 12, 2008 at 7:01 am

    Yay! First!

    Hmmm, my best creations? My kids, definitely, some of the cross stitch work I did a gazillion yers ago and I would hope my books might qualify. World’s best creations? Linda Howard, microwave ovens, the blue sky in autumn, computers and the internet ;-).

    I’m sure there are more. Might need to think on this one a bit longer.

  2. 2 azteclady
    December 12, 2008 at 7:33 am

    I would say my monsters erm… kids 😉 and I’ll go with a couple of those cross stitch things too 😀

    For things I didn’t create that I’m privileged to enjoy: my pets, my back yard, the butterflies around the lantanas therein, warm rain, sunlight through stormy clouds, the flight of an eagle, the ability to read and the many books around me.

  3. 3 ruth
    December 12, 2008 at 7:54 am

    My two sons. Apart from that though would have to be sunshine, blue skies and the amazing beauty that I perceive each day where I live. SOmething extraordinary that I did receive from a friend many years ago was a lovely watercolor of a scene in Italy which I treasure.

  4. 4 Ellen
    December 12, 2008 at 8:17 am

    I agree with you on the Grand Canyon. Other things…loving parents, books, the beach, painting by my grandmother.

  5. December 12, 2008 at 11:45 am

    One of my best (or perhaps worst) creations was a glazed hand ashtray I made in grade 8. (Probably not appropriate subject matter for a 13 yo but it was the 70s.) I spent oodles of time making each finger just right. Ended up looking a tad creepy (cue the Addams Family music) but my mother praised my “talent” for years to come 🙂

    Devine Designs?
    Self-adhesive Xmas labels
    Microwave in a tray veges
    Gerald Butler
    Those magic family moments when everyone’s laughing and all is right with the world. 🙂

  6. December 12, 2008 at 12:09 pm

    LOL Robyn – how did I know that Gerard Butler would be on your list. 😉

    And so agree with those magic family moments. So family and pets…

    others
    – the printing press
    – photography
    – movies and television
    – music
    – planes — lucky enough to have visited family back in Greece especially my grandma.
    Seeing where I my family hail from.
    – internet – to connect with other like minds
    – air conditioning – definitely

    Drawing or colouring along side my godson. And watching him in his Christmas concert yesterday singing away. The creation of great loving memories.

  7. 7 Avi J
    December 12, 2008 at 12:24 pm

    I made a house out of cookies for home Economics. I was so proud of it at 12 years old. My dog had other ideas though. I placed it on the counter when I came back home and went to put flim in the camera (oh the days before digital). When I came back, she had jumpped half way on the counter and was eating the house. I screamed at her so loud but she just ignored me. Well I ended taking a picture of her eating the house.To this day it can still make me laugh. Oh I also made a Pastillage piano in Chef School and mind you this can last up to ten years, she ate it piece by piece and I did not even know it till it fell flat on the space saver. 😀

  8. December 12, 2008 at 2:08 pm

    Avi J, that’s hilarious! 😆

  9. 9 RobynL
    December 12, 2008 at 6:56 pm

    I love butterflies, sunsets, puppy dogs(just put our 14 yr. old down and I’m so sad yet), waterfalls, etc.
    Some of my best creations have been baking goodies and doing crafts. I have made
    wreaths, door hangings, pasta angels with pipe cleaner halos(these are awesome and I have them hung on a tiny table top artifical Christmas tree.
    I have a red popsicle sleigh and some felt Santa booties that were made by my Mom who has since passed on. I love them and cherish them.

  10. 10 Rachel Bailey
    December 12, 2008 at 7:14 pm

    AviJ, I love your dog story! One of my dogs, Fergus, loves to do the same. Case in point: I was having lovely pre-dinner drinks a month ago with two visiting friends, Barb and Valerie. We had the cheese and crackers out, glasses of NZ wine, and were feeling mellow. Then we all went into the next room to look at something on the net.

    Imagine Fergus’s delight at finding a platter on a coffee table – just at his height!!

    We came back to find him happily helping himself to the cheese and crackers (we’d taken the wine with us). He’d left the blue cheese though – and personally, I don’t blame him.

  11. 11 Jane
    December 12, 2008 at 7:37 pm

    I don’t have any creations, but my favorites include my baby blanket, jewelry from Tiffany’s, HDTV, Eric Bana and sports and entertainment.

  12. 12 Maureen
    December 12, 2008 at 9:31 pm

    Some of my favorite creations are my family, the beautiful maple tree in front of our house, the wonderful stories I read each day, the amazing works of art that I just visited at the Philadelphia Museum and our adorable kittens, one of which just landed on my lap now and he is trying to help me type.

  13. December 13, 2008 at 1:04 am

    I do love kittens 🙂

  14. December 13, 2008 at 4:52 am

    In 7th grade, I ended up sewing my first Home Ec project to my skirt and the embarrassment has stayed with me! I am blessed with great family and friends and their love, humor and creativity sustain me. And I can’t forget cozy fires, hot chocolate with marshmallows, the sound of rain on the roof, sunshine through trees, books, my computer, the internet, my big HDTV, must agree on the adhesive Christmas labels, shopping for others, laughter, the happy dance and SEXY men. I’ll take the rugged one in the middle, plz, plz!

  15. December 13, 2008 at 6:47 am

    there’s some excellent creations there – Kittys 🙂 movies, TV, the internet (for all its faults!) Eric Bana is goooorgeous! But everytime I look at him, I think of when he first started in TV as a stand up comic… and I laugh 😀 And thank the Lord for sexy men 😉

    RobynL :hugs: on your dog. At least you had 14 great years.

    Just thought of another few – indoor plumbing and baths. Modern medicine.

    And now I draw the prize. Robyn L. Email me your address and I’ll get your prize off asap.

  16. 16 Patricia Cochran
    December 13, 2008 at 8:19 am

    Paula,

    I’m happy to see that someone else appreciates my favorite fellow, David Boreanaz!

    Include in my favorites: electricity, air conditioning, and indoor plumbing. After
    13 days in Houston’s summer temperatures with no power or A/C after Hurricane IKE
    paid us a visit, I am most appreciative of the work of those who invented these
    items.

    My own creations: my four children!

    Pat Cochran

  17. December 13, 2008 at 10:05 am

    Hmm, I think the connections I’ve made with other people – in love and in friendship, through my stories, are creations I’m proud of. 🙂

  18. 18 azteclady
    December 13, 2008 at 1:47 pm

    Congrats, Robyn L!

  19. 19 RobynL
    December 19, 2008 at 5:25 pm

    woohoo, thanks Paula for the win. Love stationary.


Comments are currently closed.

