10
Dec
08

on the 4th day of Christmas…

…I’ve found *four* new Harlequin authors to look out for next year!

I love finding a new author – oh, the delight in knowing I can add someone new to my list of favourites! I love finding someone who already has a backlist because I can go out and buy the whole lot. And I also love coming in early on someone’s career and following them with each book.georgiebook2

So in the Christmas spirit of sharing, and because it’s the 4th day today, I’ve found four new authors whose books will hit the shelves in the next twelve months or so.

Tracie Sommers will have her debut Spice Briefs novella, Tonight, My Love, out in May. Set in Whitechaple, London, it’s a sexy Victorian threesome story with a paranormal twist. Now *that* will be interesting.

New Medical Romance author Sharon Archer, has her first book, Single Father: Wife and Mother Wanted, hitting the shelves in the UK in July. It follows Matt Gardener, whose comfortable life is turned upside down when veterinarian Caitlin Butler-Brown comes to the Grampians looking for her estranged family. I’ve read this one and I have to tell you, it’s delicious.

Our own Sandra Hyatt’s first Desire, Having the Billionaire’s Baby, will be out in the US in July, and it looks to be a fabulous read! It stars two fiercely independent people who find they’re going to be sharing a lot more than the single night of passion that drew them togeorgiebook1gether. Oh, I *love* those stories.

Then Nikki Logan, the newest Harlequin Romance author, will have her first book out in January 2010. Her story is about a tree-hugging landscape designer whose bright career looks shaky when she comes between her long-lost first love and his goal, revenge against his father. I’m really looking forward to it!

So I anticipate 2009 being a year of great reading. Happy sigh.

Tell me who your greatest new-find author was in 2008 – someone who was either new or new-to-you. I have a gorgeous bookmark to give to one commenter to use when they’re reading all their new favourites!

32 Responses to “on the 4th day of Christmas…”


  1. 1 Avi J
    December 10, 2008 at 9:59 am

    Michelle Styles is a new author l discovered. The main book store in my country has an annual sale and this was a half price book so l bought it. Well l am so glad l did. l am looking to get her entire backlist now.

  2. December 10, 2008 at 10:03 am

    What a fantastic gift, Rachel – introducing us to four new fabulous Harlequin authors! I’m so excited for each of them and can’t wait to read their extra specials first books 🙂 I love buying people books for Christmas. Trouble is when I buy early, I put gifts away, forget they’re there and find them sometime over the next year. I was looking for some tax info the other day in the backwoods of my wardrobe and came across Steven King’s “Cell”, which I’d bought for someone last year. Guess I’ll have to read it myself now!

    And what a gorgeous little girl! Has good taste too 😉

  3. December 10, 2008 at 10:04 am

    ha HA! first again! 😎

    I have a squillion books on my TBR pile, so it stands to reason some will be new to me 🙂 Just a couple I’ve discovered and are now on my must-buys – Rachel Vincent (sexy hot werecat urban fantasy starting with Stray), Deanna Raybourn (wonderfully intelligent historical cozy mysteries – Silent in the Sanctuary was a RITA nom, I believe), Maria V Snyder (Poison Study was her first and I’ve followed her fantasy series through to her latest), Mindy Klasky (hilarious contemp urban witch series), Megan Hart (hot erotic romance with wonderfully flawed characters) and Pamela Morsi (beautiful, deep writing). Whew! I could list a lot more – 2008 was my year of trying heaps of new authors 😀

  4. 4 Ellen
    December 10, 2008 at 10:07 am

    I discovered a lot of new-to-me authors because I began reading Love Inspired Harlequins for the first time. Margaret Daley, Jillian Hart, Shirlee McCoy to name just a few.

  5. 5 Rachel Bailey
    December 10, 2008 at 10:15 am

    AviJ, thanks for the tip! I love historical romance but haven’t tried a Michelle Styles yet. I’ll keep an eye out for her.

    Robyn, that’s hilarious! I do that sometimes with presents too – usually kid-type presents when I see things on sale. Love the image of you finding the book and being really pleased coz now you can read it. 🙂

  6. 6 Rachel Bailey
    December 10, 2008 at 10:19 am

    Paula, that’s a really great list! You’ve certainly fulfilled your goal of 2008 being for trying new authors. What’s your reading goal for 2009? The same or something different?

    Ellen, I haven’t tried a Love Inspired, but keep meaning to. I hate thinking there’s a romance genre I haven’t dipped into. 😉 Thanks for the names!

  7. December 10, 2008 at 10:46 am

    Rachel, I’m so excited to be a “tag” on your blog! LOL!

    Mmm, my new author finds for 2008… I ‘discovered’ Laura Lee Guhrke, Loretta Chase and Barbara Samuel thanks to my friend, Anna Campbell. This really is a case of having marvellous backlists to be able to follow up so how lucky am I!

    Thank you, Rachel! I’ve thoroughly enjoyed your four days of Christmas! Nikki, Sandra and Tracie’s stories sound great – I’ll look forward to buying them in 2009/2010 – not to mention yours, Ms Bailey!

    🙂
    Sharon

  8. 8 azteclady
    December 10, 2008 at 12:22 pm

    First, those two pictures? They are sooooo adorable! Just wanna grab that little girl and give her a cuddle–and some ice cream, so she’ll smile some more 😀

    As for new authors… Yikes, there are so many! Some of them are just new to me, and some truly new. Lemme see:

    Ann Aguirre, Nalini Singh, Lauren Dane, Bronwyn Jameson :wave: and Bronwyn Parry, Martha Grimes, Julie Anne Long, Sandra Schwab, Paula Roe :waving some more: Bonnie Dee, Karen Templeton, Ann Bruce, Jackie Kessler, Caroline Linden, Shiloh Walker, Sara Reinke, Lori Devoti, Vanessa Jaye, Dorothy L. Sayers, Eden Bradley, Sylvia Day, Jaci Burton, Pamela Palmer, Michele Bardsley, Maya Banks, Carrie Lofty, Karina Bliss, Marie Harte, J.B. McDonald, Dana Marie Bell, Jules Jones…

    I’m sure I’m missing one or two.

  9. December 10, 2008 at 1:38 pm

    oh, looky, Robyn and Avi J must’ve been lurking in the shadows 😮

    Sharon – Don’t forget all those gorgeous Ruth Wind books (aka Barbara Samuel). I just adore Beautiful Stranger!!

    Rachel – I guess the same 😀 There’s ALWAYS new authors to try, especially with my brand-spanking new BeBook e-reader…

  10. December 10, 2008 at 5:03 pm

    Thank you Rachel for your lovely mention.

    My 2008 new discoveries tend towards the paranormal – though must say I agree with Paula about Megan Hart – very hot, yet very emotional. My other discoveries are Kim Harrison and Jocelynn Drake and I am looking forward to another debut author next september. :))

    Big wave to Sharon – very happy to share the debut spotlight with you sweetie. Nikki – blowing you a big Kiss – cograts again. And Sandra – big hugs to you.

  11. 11 Dana (Bootcamp)
    December 10, 2008 at 6:12 pm

    Rachel,
    There are too many published authors that I stumbled across this year that I absolutely love…Stephanie Meyer, JR Ward, Juliet Marillier, Melissa James-all established authors, but new to me this year! I have to say though, I am most impressed with a couple of up and coming stars, the first to be published in 2010 and already mentioned here-Nikki Logan. I was fortunate enough to have a read of her earlier draft and I absolutely LOVED it! Nikki’s voice is soulful, romantic, hot, and sensual! I can’t wait to read the published version! And then there is a writer, whose manuscript has not yet found a home, but soon will because it’s a truly fabulous romance packed with humor, history, sensual tension and romance galore!!! Cassie Pennington is the author of this fantastic tale…look for her name in the coming years!!! Dana

  12. 12 Rachel Bailey
    December 10, 2008 at 6:16 pm

    Azteclady, yes, that girl is gorgeous, isn’t she? And she does have good reading taste, as Robbie pointed out. 😉 Wow, you’ve been reading a lot of new / new-to-you authors! And I don’t know some on your list – I need to go researching. 🙂

    Sharon, I’ve recently discovered Loretta Chase too – I think Mr Impossible is now one of my favourite books of all time. And she was recommended to me by Anna Campbell too! As was Liz Carlyle and others. Ms Campbell sure is fun to go book shopping with. 🙂 And I’ve been looking at Laura Lee Guhrke’s covers and wondering if she’ll be one of the next ones I try, so thanks for the endorsement.

  13. 13 rachelbailey
    December 10, 2008 at 6:28 pm

    Tracie – lovely to see you here! *So* looking forward to your Spice Briefs. . . and the next Spice Briefs – does that one have a title yet?

    Dana, oh, there are some good names there too. I’m gonna have to make a list of all these authors I haven’t tried. I wonder if dh needs more ideas for Christmas presents for me. . . 😀

  14. December 10, 2008 at 6:44 pm

    Hi Desirabelles! Hey, cool my book recommendations are finding a home. I LOVE to talk about books I really enjoy. I’ve had a really good year for books in 2008. Some of the new authors I’ve discovered include Elizabeth George (I’m on my 7th Inspector Lynley mystery in a little over a month which says something!), J.D. Robb (yeah, I know, where have I been?), C.S. Harris who writes brilliant Regency romantic mysteries, Kathleen O’Reilly who writes wonderful, sexy, heart-wrenching Blazes, oh, too many to count really! And a lot of my old favorites had wonderful books out this year too – Madeline Hunter, Anne Gracie, Annie West, Loretta Chase, Christine Wells, too many to mention! Nice to look back on such a great year of reading.

  15. December 10, 2008 at 7:08 pm

    Rachel – I don’t have a title for the next Spice Brief yet. Hopefully I’ll find out soon. 😀

  16. 16 rachelbailey
    December 10, 2008 at 8:41 pm

    Anna, my dh LOVES Elizabeth George – he’s read every Inspector Lynley. And thanks for the extra author recommendations – especially since your last recommendations worked so well!

    Tracie, make sure you drop back and tell us when you get your title and release date on that second Spice Brief. 🙂

  17. 17 Tracey T
    December 10, 2008 at 10:29 pm

    So many wonderful authors and books this year. Personally there are three upcoming stories I’m really waiting to read – Nikki Logan’s (of course – I just know I’m going to be fighting for a copy of her next one after everyone else realises how good she is), having a strong suspicion that the same will be said for Rachel Bailey and I’m also really keen to read Sharon’s. As a wannabe Aussie medical author I’m feeling very reassured that Sharon has now joined the ranks to show everyone the high standard of Aussie medical authors, hoping to one day be good enough to join them.

    As to new authors this year – definately must add Robyn Grady, wonderful books – pick them off the shelf and then straight away find somewhere to read undisturbed, Kate Hardy and Laura Iding, numerous Aussie Harlequin authors, Eloisa James and I’m going to try a SEP book so we’ll see. The bookcase is groaning but I just can’t stop.

    Cheers
    Tracey

  18. 18 christa
    December 11, 2008 at 12:12 am

    of all the talented new authors that I have discovered in 2008 The first that sprang to mind would be Kelly Hunte. I squealed, did happy dance, jumped for joy, did cartwheels the day I finally had all her books cause only 2 were available here in NA.
    Sizzle, Seduce and Simmer was also a great book for discovering new authors (:-) and they can count as discovered in 2008 cause read it Jan 1)

  19. 19 RobynL
    December 11, 2008 at 2:06 am

    Selena Blake is a new found author to me.
    Congrats to the 4 authors with new books coming out.

  20. December 11, 2008 at 7:15 am

    So many new authors, and I’m always thrilled to read first books and to discover new voices. Lots of my favourite authors mentioned above. CS Harris is on my Must Try list as is Joanna Bourne and the new author I loved this year is Sherry Thomas.

    Oh, and look, Paula has a new toy! 🙂

    Bron

  21. December 11, 2008 at 7:19 am

    After seeing so many people mention Megan Hart on the Diamonds Down Under board, when discussing authors, I gave her a try and I’ve really enjoyed her as a new-to-me author. And, like Sharon, Laura Lee Guhrke, who I’ve had the chance to meet here in New Zealand when she was holidaying down here.

    I’m a bit of a stick in the mud when it comes to trying new authors (with the price of books downunder it’s no wonder e.g. $20-25 for a paperback, $30-35 for Trade paperback and let’s not go there for hard covers!) but I’ve discovered, through reading The Magical Christmas Cat at least one other new-to-me author that I’ll be looking out for in big book format, Erin McCarthy.

  22. 22 Jane
    December 11, 2008 at 8:01 am

    A new author I discovered was Allyson Roy. They’re a husband and wife team. Their debut novel is “Aphrodisiac.” A new to me author I recently discovered was Christine Feehan. I really love her Ghostwalkers series.

  23. 23 Rachel Bailey
    December 11, 2008 at 8:29 am

    Tracey T, you’ve mentioned some of my favourite authors! And thanks for the kind words about mine. 🙂 Good luck with your groaning bookcase.

    Christa, I LOVE that feeling of finally completing a collection. I was that excited the day I got the last of Jenny Crusie’s backlist. Speaking of which, I should pull them out and read again. . . 😀

    RobynL, thanks for the tip – I’ll go google her!

  24. 24 Rachel Bailey
    December 11, 2008 at 8:55 am

    Bron, it *is* thrilling to discover new voices, isn’t it? One of life’s great pleasures.

    Yvonne, I hear you on the price of new books down under. I often try a new author from the library first (I sometimes have to get the library to order them in) and then if I like them, I buy them for myself. Oooh, Megan Hart and Erin McCarthy – thanks, will look them up!

    Jane, Allyson Roy – thanks! I’ve never heard of her/them.

  25. December 11, 2008 at 9:17 am

    Rachel, thank you for your confidence and first official plug! 🙂

    As for new discoveries…considering some of my faves are right here in your comments section, what can I say. My own discoveries this year mirror Danas a bit with JR Ward (I absolutely inhaled her six Blackdagger novels) and Steph Meyer. More recently Liz Fielding; Jo Leigh; Trish Wylie… none of whom I’d read until the past six months. Oh and Aussie wildlife/adventure writer Tony Park. He features highly in my to-be-read pile. Oh and rounding off the alphabet with Zana Bell whose debut novel really got my attention. LOL, if I sit here long enough I’ll list my whole bookshelf…

    What’s even better is knowing there’s scores more great voices ‘out there’ waiting for my reading pleasure in the coming twelve months.

    *Nikki*

  26. 26 Roseanne
    December 11, 2008 at 9:46 am

    Hi Rachel,

    I think it’s fabulous that you offically plugged four new authors. I will pluck thier books from the shelves as soon as I see them. I love intrigue books and a few weeks ago a friend gave me the first two books in the ‘ice’ series by Anne Stuart. I will be buying the full set for my enjoyment. Although intrigue is my first love, I have ventured into, historical romances, Christine Wells was my debut author for that line. I’ve also read and enjoyed, Dianne Gaston. Being brave I leapt into, erotic fantasy, with none other than the fabulous, Denise Rossetti.
    Stephanie Meyer’s Twilight series was another huge leap for me. Vampires? I also discovered an HM&B sweet author, Melissa James. Talk about emotion. This woman deals it up in spades. I’m looking forward to reading, Rachel Bailey, Nikki Logan.

  27. 27 Maureen
    December 11, 2008 at 9:24 pm

    Anna Campbell was my favorite new author of this year and I’m looking forward to her new book that’s out at the end of the month.

  28. 28 Alison
    December 12, 2008 at 7:45 am

    Congratulations to four new authors. I’ll be keeping my eye out for your names on the shelves. And yes, I’ve had a peek at Nikki’s too and I highly recommend it.
    I’m on a bit of a YA binge at the moment and my most recent discovery is the brilliant Mary Hoffman and her Stravaganza series about time travelling teenagers who visit an alternate version of 16th century Italy. Fabulous stuff.

  29. December 12, 2008 at 11:52 am

    Well roll on 2009 and 2010 for the books by these authors. Can’t wait. Go ladies!!!

    And of course for yours too Rachel!!

    In the meantime, my TBR pile has spawned…i have different piles – the category romance pile, the fantasy pile, the ‘other’ pile, the library pile, the Luna pile…. you get the idea.

    I’ve discovered a few new authors in the past year or so – as in new to me.
    – JR Ward, Stephenie Meyer, Sherrilyn Kenyon, Laurell K Hamilton, Cecilia Ahern, Kathy Reichs, Lisa Gardner, Neil Gaiman, Eoin Colfer, and of course Denise Rossetti and Anna Campbell (which I’m reading ATM as my ‘reward’ book. Do some work on the MS and then read a chapter).

  30. 30 Rachel Bailey
    December 13, 2008 at 1:56 pm

    Belated prize draw – I gave everyone a number then plugged it into a random number generator (isn’t it fabulous what you can find on the web?) and came up with:

    Tracey T!

    Email me and I’ll send out your bookmark. 🙂

    Thanks to everyone for your comments – I’ve added quite a few to my To Be Bought pile!

  31. 31 azteclady
    December 13, 2008 at 2:19 pm

    Congrats, Tracey T!

    Thank you, Rachel

  32. 32 Tracey T
    December 13, 2008 at 4:21 pm

    Thank you Rachel, I’ll be in touch, such a nice surprise.

    Cheers
    Tracey T


Comments are currently closed.

