30
Nov
08

Virtual Travel

atrani__amalfi_coast__italySometimes a girl has just got to get away, don’t you think? I know a whole lot of people satisfy their wanderlust in their late teens and twenties. I never had that–then. But now, oh, what I wouldn’t give for a Tuscan holiday, or several days and nights on the Amalfi Coast, or a Mediterranean cruise, or a lazy visit in the Lake District of England, tours of crumbling castles in Wales and Scotland, pub crawling in Ireland, a road trip across the United States, a cruise in Alaska, a trip to the Bahamas and, well, travel anywhere really.lake-district

 

Since I’ve never made these wonderful journeys I tend to like to live vicariously through others, e.g. Trish Morey’s blog where she’s talked about her recent holiday in Europe–five weeks of it! And the occasional travel programme when I can knock the green tinted lenses from my eyeballs for long enough 😉 .

 

And then there are my characters. Now, they get to do all sorts of fabulous things, like in the second of my Rogue Diamonds trilogy that’s due out March next year and part of which is set in Tuscany near San Gimignano. Oh the research, I swear, it just about had me booking a flight there and then–for the food if not for the scenery!

 santorini

Thank goodness for virtual travel through the joy of reading. Thanks to the stories of others I’ve lived small town America, sweltering Amazon jungles, snow bound winters in various countries at a time when I’m drooping under an Auckland summer’s high humidity, the luxuries of the south of France, the sparkling beauty of the Greek Islands. You name it, it’s been written about, and I thank all those writers for my experiences through their characters eyes.

 

So tell me, where’s your most wanted to visit place in the world? And why? And if you couldn’t go there, would you be happy to read about it?

 

Yvonne has some cute New Zealand Key-rings as a gift for three randomly drawn lucky comments.

28 Responses to “Virtual Travel”


  1. November 30, 2008 at 6:43 am

    oooh, I’m first!! Yay!

    I’d looove to see Morocco, the pyramids, the sphynx but for safety reasons, I think I’ll be content with the Google Earth version 🙂

    That’s a gorgeous photo of Santorini, Yvonne – been there! 😆 Also had some wonderful memories – and photos – of Austria, Algarve Coast, Greece, Germany, France, Denmark, UK, Greek Isles, Spain, Gibraltar (prior to Spanish re-occupation), Portugal… Damn, now I want to go back 😥

    Well, at least I’m currently planning a research trip to the outback and Ayers Rock (ahh, the joys of tax deductions!). And I plan to get over to you guys within a year or two!

  2. 2 limecello
    November 30, 2008 at 8:40 am

    I’ve always wanted to go to Italy. And Greece and… now Australia and NZ. Well and China too. And ok, like everywhere. I’d LOVE to get away now. Finals are here.
    3 papers due tomorrow, 1 Monday, 1 Wednesday. Do I have any done? What do you think 😛
    (Well the Mon one I had to turn in a draft so I have 17 very embarrassingly badly written pages.)

    Also I’m sick and falling apart. Ah well. It’s a little bit disturbing I’m more sad about not being able to keep down my chipotle (burrito) than I am/was about randomly bleeding from my fingers yesterday. (No idea how or why – and it wasn’t so much a bother as odd.)

    So yes – even if I couldn’t go there, I’d love to read about it. 😛 Or anywhere not here at the moment.

  3. 3 Ellen
    November 30, 2008 at 9:17 am

    I love traveling — especially around the US. There are so many things to see here that I’ll never be able to cover all of it. I would like to get to Canada and Scotland but that’s no likely to happen so I enjoy reading about them.

  4. 4 Jane
    November 30, 2008 at 11:46 am

    I would love to visit Pompeii and Herculaneum and see what the ruins of the cities that were destroyed by Mt. Vesuvius. I would also like to visit Egypt and visit the Valley of the Kings and take a cruise down the Nile.

  5. 5 Avi J
    November 30, 2008 at 12:09 pm

    Well Italy is on the top of my list. I also have New Zealand, Australia and New Zealand next then Paris and Greece.

  6. 6 Sandra
    November 30, 2008 at 5:49 pm

    I want to do Italy too, and Ireland, and though I spent a fair bit of time in the US in my younger years I’ve yet to get to New York, or Chicago, and I want to see Vancouver Island, and Nova Scotia – just to experience the cold. And actually the list could go on and on.

    Limoncello – bleeding from the fingers????? Hope you’re better soon.

  7. 7 Minna
    November 30, 2008 at 8:44 pm

    Canada -been there and want to go there again. And I have relatives there, so I would have no need to find a hotel, either, even on Vancouver Island. And all those other places I’d like to visit… US, Italy, Australia, Japan, Austria, New Zealand, it could be nice to visit Sweden again -as it’s not even all that far (I live in Finland), Estonia… Hmmm… One red papaerclip guy got a house with one papaerclip (and with some serious trading). I wonder if I could get a ticket to an airplane…

  8. December 1, 2008 at 12:12 am

    Yvonne, that’s exactly how I feel! I was helping my 14yo dd with a travel booking assignment last week and the bug bit harder than ever. I’ve decided it’ll be a week in Italy, a week in Greece (studied both and am in love with their history) and then a week lounging around in a private villa on a Greek Island. I’ve done the research. Unfortunately my ideal villa costs around $US24,000 a week. Obviously this is where my wealthy Desire hero swoops in and confesses that he owns the villa and has it prepared just for me…and the three kids…what’ll I do about the cat…

    Yeah. I’ll keep dreaming 🙂

  9. 9 azteclady
    December 1, 2008 at 1:14 am

    Oh lemme see… I’d love to see Paris, and London, and Athens, and Rome, and Austria, and backpack through Europe. Mount Fuji, the Great Wall, the Gobi Desert, the Everest (from the bottom, thank you) and the pyramids, the Valley of the Kings, the Sahara, Mount Kilimanjaro.

    *sigh*

    Basically, I’d love to have the funds and the time to spend a couple of years globetrotting 😀

    Since that’s pretty much out of the realm, I make do with books, movies, tv shows.

  10. 10 anne
    December 1, 2008 at 4:36 am

    I would love to travel through Italy and visit all the wonderful towns, villages and experience the history and beauty. After that southern France and Greece. Travel is so wonderful and given the chance it would be a remarkable journey.

  11. December 1, 2008 at 11:07 am

    You guys, you’re all giving me very itchy feet!

    Azteclady–Mt Fuji? I think Nalini may have been there during her time teaching in Japan.

    Robbie, you and me both. Keep on dreaming!

    Minna, I heard about that guy that started with a paper clip and traded and traded. Interesting concept. Let us know how you go 😉

    Jane, oh yes! Pompeii. I’ve always been fascinated with that. We have a buried village here in New Zealand, just out of Rotorua (one of our major geothermal tourist attraction areas.) Everytime we go to Rotorua I make a point of visiting it. Hard to believe the destruction wrought by the eruption when the area is so beautiful and peaceful now.

    Ellen, sounds like you’re busy discovering your own country. I need to do a bit more of that here too.

    Looks as though we could just about get a tour group together for Italy, though. What do you reckon?

    Limecello, ouch, those poor fingers. Have you got chillblains from the weather? Do take care. Its very messy to type when there is blood oozing over the keyboard.

    Paula, I covet your travel experiences, seriously I do. And yes, seeing the Valley of the Kings and all things Egyptian would be fantastic. Risky, but fantastic.

    Avi, I imagine you’d have a blissful culinary time visiting all the countries on your list 😀

    Anne, yes, the history of the towns you visit would be riveting.

    Sandra, would you recommended Mexico? Nice place to visit before a person’s first sale perhaps? 😉

  12. 12 RobynL
    December 1, 2008 at 5:17 pm

    I’d love to visit the rest of Canada that I have not seen – my home and native land.
    I’ve been to the West coast but not the East coast and hear it is awesome. To get to know my country better is a dream.

  13. 13 Minna
    December 1, 2008 at 6:49 pm

    Yvonne, I have indeed traded some stuff, although not with a ticket to an airplane in mind at this point. I have for instance traded a bunch of plastic beads (can you imagine?) for a huge amount of yarn. There used to be one red paperclip trading forum on the internet, but either it’s under construction or then it has disappeared all together. Pity, really. But fortunately, there are others.

  14. December 2, 2008 at 8:12 am

    RobynL, I’ve only seen Vancouver City but yes, I would love to see more of Canada.

    Minna, oh boy, it sounds like you got a good deal on that trade. Good on you!

  15. 15 Rachel Bailey
    December 3, 2008 at 1:18 pm

    Reading through those lists of places, I’m thinking, yes, yes, YES!!!! I want to go to them *all*! I think I might take these suggestions and sneak over to a travel website now… 🙂

  16. December 4, 2008 at 7:29 am

    So, Rachel, have you made any bookings yet? 😉

  17. 17 Rachel Bailey
    December 5, 2008 at 3:32 pm

    Not *quite*, lol. But I’m narrowing it down. Dh wants to visit Ireland (me too!) and I’d love to visit heaps of European countries. And I really want to go back to NZ. Oh, and then there’s the chance to coincide a holiday with the RWAmerica conferences. . . Hmmm, did I say I was narrowing it down?

  18. 18 azteclady
    December 6, 2008 at 12:54 am

    How about… hit the RWAmerica conference, then drive down to oh say, Mexico City (Colonial era cathedrals and historical buildings several centuries old)… the Yucatan Peninsula (Mayan pyramids)… down Central America (more Mayan pyramids and cities)… 😀

  19. 19 Maureen
    December 6, 2008 at 1:32 am

    Right now I just want to go somewhere warm but I think if I could go anywhere I would pick a tour of Europe from London to Paris.

  20. December 6, 2008 at 6:18 am

    Hi Maureen, you can come to NZ if you want somewhere warm :D, it’s getting toasty here but in a nice kind of way.

  21. December 6, 2008 at 6:18 am

    Hi Azteclady, now that’s a road trip I think I’d really enjoy.

  22. December 6, 2008 at 6:21 am

    Rachel, why narrow it down? Think big! 😉 Travel much!

  23. 23 LJ
    December 6, 2008 at 6:23 am

    OK I know I am sooo late in posting but here goes Hawaii, NZ the seychelles, and Greece are my picks they have such beautiful beaches. Anyone else getting caught up in the Christmas Rush?

  24. December 6, 2008 at 7:17 am

    Bah humbug! We have one gift so far and my list of names to buy for is still incredibly long. It would help if I knew what to get people this year but, oh boy, when the kids in the family hit their late teens and the parents have everything they ever wished for, it does start to narrow your options. Personally, I find this time of year pretty stressful.

  25. 25 Minna
    December 7, 2008 at 4:19 am

    Well, here are some ideas as to what to get for someone who have everything:
    Sponsor a child:
    http://www.plan-international.org/
    Adopt an animal (koala, wolf, dolphin…):
    http://worldanimalfoundation.homestead.com/
    Stupid gifts:
    http://www.stupid.com/

  26. December 7, 2008 at 9:12 am

    Okay, fellow bloggers, the winners of my Virtual Travel, NZ keyrings are:

    1. Ellen!
    2. Minna!
    3. Azteclady!

    Congratulations ladies! If you could email me via my web addy yvonne @ yvonnelindsay dot com (you know the drill) with your postal details I’ll get the keyrings in the post to you and hopefully they’ll arrive before C-day!

    😀 🙂 😀

  27. 28 azteclady
    December 7, 2008 at 1:50 pm

    oh yay!!! That’s so cool! Thank you, Yvonne–and congrats, Minna and Ellen!

    *off to email*


Comments are currently closed.

