09
Nov
08

Then and Now: Bronwyn Jameson

This week sees the reissue of my first two books published by Silhouette Desire. There are many reasons why I’m jazzed about this, not the least being the stylish “Bestseller Collection” flash on the cover. “Bestseller” happens to be a favourite word of just about every author.ย  ๐Ÿ™‚ย  It’s also given me some cause to muse about such things as wow, where did those seven years go? and how lucky am I to be still writing for Desire?

In that spirit of musing, I present a teensy insight into what has changed–and not changed–since my first sale.

THEN: I could get away with a heroine named Paris (In Bed With The Boss’s Daughter)
NOW: !’m not contemplating naming any heroines Paris, Lindsey or Britney.

THEN: Desire titles painted a broader canvas. Some of my favourites from 2000-2001:
Ride A Wild Heart, Slow Waltz Across Texas, Overnight Cinderella.ย 
NOW: They’re less colourful but more descriptive. Like four-word storyline synopses. As much as I like the title Addicted To Nick it doesn’t give much of a hint about the storyline, does it?

THEN: A biker cover was fine…but didn’t sell well.
NOW: No bikers, no leathers, not too many heroines depicted with TC’s short haircut, either.

THEN: The guidelines specified a minimum of two “fully realised” love scenes. Had to add one during my revisions for In Bed With The Boss’s Daughter whether it needed another or not.ย 
NOW: One, two or ten love scenes; we write what the storyline and characters demand.

THEN: My stories were built around strong-willed, independent women (a la TC in Addicted To Nick)…or strong-willed women seeking independence (Paris Grantham in In Bed With The Boss’s Daughter.)
NOW: Same.

THEN: Character-driven stories, tick. Cowboys, tick. Blue-collar heroes, tick.
NOW: Stories driven by the external situation, tick. Tycoons, tick. Billionaires, tick.

THEN: I used brand names that I *thought* the wealthy might use.
NOW: I have (I hope) a better understanding of the terms luxury, bespoke and exclusivity.

THEN: My stories included a quest to find home, family, love.
NOW: Beneath the surface glitz…they still do.

THEN: I was the only down-under author writing for Desire.
NOW: I am one of eleven. Our spelling, unique turns of phrase, settings, and otherย quirks are better understood and accepted…or the readers have grown tired of writing and asking for explanations.ย  ๐Ÿ™‚

What has changed in your reading and/or writing since the year 2000?ย  Have you discovered new genres, new authors, new lines?ย  Is there something you miss from “the good old days”?

Join the conversation this week for a chance to win a signed copy of my Bestseller Collection plus a surprise gift. (Prize drawn Nov 15; one entry per IP address.)

Check my website Contest Page for another chance to win.

51 Responses to “Then and Now: Bronwyn Jameson”


  1. 1 Jane
    November 9, 2008 at 6:14 am

    Congrats on the reissues. There’s been a huge increase in paranormal romances and now urban fantasy is very popular. I also saw a decrease in the number of historicals being released, but I think the trend reversing.

  2. November 9, 2008 at 7:47 am

    Excellent post, Bron! And as for missing stuff… I still miss the Temptations! (although many of the Blazes do read similiar, depending on the author).

    My reading prefs have really broadened – womens fiction, urban fantasy, romantic erotica ๐Ÿ™‚ I appreciate a really well-written book more, even though I tend to be a lot pickier now I’m a pubbed author because I’m constantly thinking, ‘how did she escalate the tension’, “there’s way too many POV here” or “she should have foreshadowed that earlier.” ๐Ÿ˜€ It’s kind of like when I first started teaching aerobics – I found it really difficult to listen to music just for pleasure, instead of counting the beats and mentally preparing a routine ๐Ÿ˜•

  3. 3 Ellen
    November 9, 2008 at 7:49 am

    Congratulations on the reissues. I think the only change in my reading has been in the paranormal romances and I still don’t read a lot of those. I pretty much still read as I did in 2000. I have noticed a lot of new authors coming on board and the loss of a few who seem to have quit writing. I have been reading Desirables since the 80’s and the writing has become more “explicit” than the early ones.

  4. 4 Avi J
    November 9, 2008 at 7:53 am

    Congrats bron, that is so true about then and now with the chatacters. There is hardly if any an “average joe” any more. The hero is always extremly rich.

  5. November 9, 2008 at 8:12 am

    Bron, is it only 7 years? You seem so extablished in my mind as a Desire author, as if you’ve been doing it forever. I’m amazed at how much you’ve achieved in that time.

    Found your then and now list fascinating, and it made me smile. For me in that time a lot has changed. Not quite 3 years ago Harlequin bought my first Presents novel and I feel like I’m still adjusting to being a Harlequin author. When it comes to reading I seem to have less time not more to read. As a result I have permanently teetering TBR piles, possibly because I know so many authors whose books I’m always buying to read (G)! But some things haven’t changed – appreciation of a ripping good yarn, partiality to strong, believable characters and the continuing struggle in trying to deliver that myself.

    I’m wondering where the next changes will take us, in covers, titles, themes and so on!

    Annie

  6. 6 LJ
    November 9, 2008 at 9:16 am

    I find myself reading historical romance now instead of just desire and presents. Some of my favourite authors are Michelle Styles, Nicola Cornick, Carol Towend and Terri Brisbin

  7. 7 azteclady
    November 9, 2008 at 9:33 am

    *waving* Hi, Bronwyn!

    Ladies, I can tell you from first hand experience that the Bestseller Collection edition is pretty! :cheeky grin:

    What has changed? I have discovered a number of authors *waving at Brownyn, Paula, Nalini, Yvonne and Robyn, among many others* and I have expanded my horizons as far as subgenres. Long before 2000, I had been reading only category for my romance fix, but since I moved to the US in late 1996, my friendly neighborhood bookseller worked diligently to educate me as to the amazing quality to be found in all different formats–anthologies, single titles, continuities, series, etc. I’ve followed authors from category to single title, and from straight romance to a variety of subgenres, while discovering more and more new authors coming up in the ranks (if that makes any sense?)

    My brain and heart are very happy with this, while my budget and the vanishing space in my house groan in mutual misery ๐Ÿ˜€

  8. 8 Kirsty C
    November 9, 2008 at 10:36 am

    Hi Bron, congratulations on your reissue – I would be very chuffed, too.

    To answer your question, a big change for me in my reading is that I only discovered romance a few years ago. And what a wonderful discovery it has been.

    This is a great post as I’ve been researching the Desire line lately and noticed quite a difference between current day Desires and those a few years (or more) older. I read your “Beyond Control” (Tracey O’Hara was kind enough to loan me some of her Jameson library!) and your contribution to the Diamonds Down Under series. I liked the humour you had in the older book and there seemed to be a bit less ‘high drama’ if you know what I mean. Both books are fantastic and I would be hard pressed to say which style (old or new) I prefer (thankfully I don’t have to choose). Do you think there is still a place for humour in the current day Desire novel?

    I think that Joan Hohl’s ‘The MD’s Mistress’ (out this month) has an older Desire flavour – set in a cabin, the hero isnt a billionaire, seemed quite character driven, etc. I would love to hear what Desire authors have to say about ‘bending the rules’ as far as storylines/heroes etc goes. I am about to submit a full and am wondering if I should play completely by the guidelines, or if a few deviations are okay (or do only the seasoned authors get away with it)?

    Looking forward to reading your bestseller soon!
    Kirsty

  9. 9 christa
    November 9, 2008 at 11:30 am

    Congrats on the reissue
    I think now ebooks are more popular(were they even around then :scratching head:) and shorter books are being published like Spice Briefs, Nocturne Bites, Harlequin Historical Undone, Amber Briefs, Ellora’s Cave Quickies…

  10. November 9, 2008 at 1:26 pm

    Hey, Bron. As one of the eleven I salute you as our #1. Congratulations on your reissues. Those stories deserve reading again and again, for sure.

    Hmm, what has changed in my reading? Perhaps, most of all, my method of reading in that, as Christa said, I read more books in e-book format now. I really like the portability of my Palm and being able to have several books ‘open’ at once for those times when I just can’t seem to settle into one book or another. I used to read a lot of time travel romance but have only read one in the past five years or so, so that would probably be another major change in my reading.

    Writing wise? Well, the biggest thing, of course, is having achieved my dream of being published. I’ve just signed a contract on my eleventh book which, considering my first book came out in Oct 2006, just blows my mind. Plus I’m also writing full time, another dream I have to remind myself is real and happening.

    Seven years ago I’d been writing and submitting for nine years, I’d won and finalled in several competitions down under and I’d started ‘working’ with an editor at M&B in London.

    Thinking about your ‘then and now’ list I have to admit I miss the ‘average joe’ type heroes that Desire had back then, and before then. It gave the romances a touch of realism that I think is possibly lacking in Desire now, but then again, there are so many other books out there that touch that need to be grounded in reality and the fantasy element of the billionaire world does make the new Desires a heck of a lot of fun to write.

    Kirsty, I’m not sure how much humour you could get away with in a Desire today. I know, for myself, most of my stories are probably too intense for humour, per se. But I think clever use of humour can certainly add to a scene here and there. As far as deviations go, if I were you I’d be working on submitting my best possible story and let it speak for itself. Good luck with your submission!

  11. 11 limecello
    November 9, 2008 at 2:16 pm

    Whee- Bronwyn, I’m so excited! ๐Ÿ˜€ I love Desire books – and I’ve read most of your backlist – some I couldn’t get – so this is great news!
    As for reading tastes since 2000… yes a lot has changed. As of 2000 I didn’t read romance. I read classics, and only classics – and preferred reading British authors from the 1800s. In fact, I preferred reading books written before 1900 and tried to avoid those written after 1950. Lol. (No wonder I went to historical romances first.)
    I maxed out all that genre at my local library once I began reading romances in… uhh… 03? And found contemporaries and Harlequin books and I haven’t looked back. (Ok, so I have. Last year I hit this nostalgic period and am buying up books from the childhood.)
    I discovered paranormals and pretty much every genre – I miss… *stories* and romance. I enjoy the heat and “smexing” as much as everyone else – but I actually find myself flipping through love scenes because… well I don’t think they’re that well written/incorporated in certain books. I miss the sexual tension and build up between the characters.
    Otherwise – there are tons of great books out there and new ones to read ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. November 9, 2008 at 4:27 pm

    Jane, the rise and rise of paranormal and urban fantasy would have to be the biggest change over this period, wouldn’t it? Not only the number of releases but also the NYT bestseller sales they’re achieving. Not only in bookworld either, but also TV.

    Paula, I was a fan of the Temptation type heat, the sharp dialogue, the more grounded characters, their brand of humour. Bet you’re not alone in missing them. And once you start writing seriously, it’s tough to put aside the writer/editor and just enjoy the story. That’s become my yardstick of the keeper: they’re the books which sweep me away to a place where I don’t pick-pick-pick at craft and word issues.

    Ellen, you touched on the authors who are no longer writing — looking through the Desires from 2000-01 opened my eyes to how fluid the author list is. Many are still writing but have moved on to other books, some I’m crossing my fingers will return.

    Bron

  13. November 9, 2008 at 4:40 pm

    Avi, some of my favourite Desires featured those more down-to-earth characters and settings and I do miss those. As Yvonne said, the current guidelines allow us lots of fun as authors to explore the fantasy world of the very rich — gotta love that research! — but I miss the variety as a reader.

    Annie, some days I feel as though I’ve been around forever, too. Especially in the mornings. ๐Ÿ™‚ Love what you said about the big thing that hasn’t changed: your love a ripping good story. That always remains a constant, doesn’t it?

    LJ, I’ve always been a fan of historicals — cut my romance teeth on Georgette Heyer — and so I’m glad you’ve found some you enjoy.

    Azteclady, a question back at you: is there any genre or subgenre you don’t read?

    Bron

  14. November 9, 2008 at 4:55 pm

    Hi, Kirsty and thank you for the kind words about my books (and thanks to Tracey for loaning them!) My last couple of books were definitely higher drama and darker in mood, so not open to the lighter tone and touches of humour I used in Beyond Control. There is definitely still room, I think, for a range of mood/tone. My 09 books are definitely not as dark/intense and I’ve tried for a lighter touch in some of the scenes and dialogue exchanges. It suits these characters and situations, but I’ve also remained mindful as I write that this is a surface thing. Underneath there’s still a simmering tension and a meaningful conflict.

    As for your question about current submissions: I do think you should stick to the basic tenets of the guidelines BUT with a fresh outlook or voice. Seasoned authors who have built and retained their readership on a certain type of story are probably going to have more editorial leeway. Just my opinion, for what it’s worth.

    Bron

  15. November 9, 2008 at 5:06 pm

    Christa, yup on the ebooks and shorter formats. Both results of our newer, faster, technology-driven world. Good ones, too, because they allow us to read more conveniently and bring in new readers.

    Yvonne, is the lack of time travel reading because there haven’t been so many published? Or a change in your taste? On the writing side, congrat’s on your awesome output in such a short time. Blows my mind, too!

    Limecello, reissues are great when they give readers a chance to catch up on backlist. You have come a long way since 03 and read A LOT of romance, haven’t you? ๐Ÿ™‚ Interesting about what you’re missing in some current books; I’m a big fan of “the chase” rather than “the capture”. For me, it’s all about the sex ten and so I, too, find myself flipping pages sometimes.

    Bron

  16. November 9, 2008 at 6:46 pm

    Bron great post. Congratulations on the reissues!!

    The last seven years has been filled with periods of reading heavily and then periods of not. I’m in an inbetween zone now and in the past year have read more paranormal romance/dark urban fantasy.

    I like buying books of people that I know and they are waiting on my TBR pile. Ever so patiently. I put my head down in shame that while I have bought the Diamonds Down Under Series, i have yet to read them. Sad, sad, sad ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    But they are there….
    I have only recently started acquiring e-books. Mainly because I now have an eee-PC…no palm reader yet. Though I’m still old fashioned and love print books. But in another 7 years, who is to say?!!!

    cheers
    Eleni

  17. November 9, 2008 at 8:13 pm

    Great post topic, Bronwyn.

    It really is amazing to think that seven years was all it took to morph Desire away from ‘character driven stories, cowboys & blue-collar heros’ to ‘external conflicts, tycoons and billionaires’. That’s a pretty major evolution.

    And that you evolved with the line and still make every story work so well. The mind boggles on what we’ll be reading/writing in 2014. Guess I’ll have to stick around to find out.

    Congrats on the re-issue and I’ll be first in line to pick up Nick, your hot biker. ๐Ÿ™‚

  18. November 9, 2008 at 9:50 pm

    Eleni, thank you for supporting our Diamonds Down Under. Hope you do read the books; think it’d be fun to read as a series. As for your eeePC, how do you find it? Have you adjusted to the small keyboard? (Not that I need another toy, but they’re so cute and portable and…and…)

    Hannah, probably more like a five year evolution…and not a complete one. My list has taken some poetic licence. ๐Ÿ˜‰ In 2000-01 there were millionaires and wealthy settings — In Bed With The Boss’s Daughter for example — but also cowboys and some military heroes and the odd bodyguard and doctor and Native American hero. But the current books are popular from all accounts, perhaps because readers are looking for more escapist take-me-away reads, so I don’t think there will be a big shift in the short term. But in another 7 years, who knows?

    One thing I meant to include in my list was the change in word count. My early books were around 240 manuscript pages; now they’re 200. That’s not just a change within Desire but across the category lines. Honey, they’ve shrunk the books! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Bron

  19. 19 Annie
    November 9, 2008 at 10:01 pm

    Congratulations Bronwyn on your re-issues. I attended a workshop of yours at Conference and learned so much… I’d have to say that for me, the biggest change since 2000 is that I’m reading less! I hate it, I do, but with small children and working and finding time to write, something had to give. So now my reading time is carefully rationed, and I only try new authors that are recommended to me by trusted friends. Which is a shame.

    I think my tastes have broadened in that time, I now read YA stuff, urban fantasy, and heaps and heaps of Regencies. But I miss romantic comedies in category, and Average Joe heroes. I miss reading Jennifer Crusie’s Temptations. (Not that I’m complaining about what she’s writing now!)

  20. 20 azteclady
    November 10, 2008 at 3:57 am

    Bronwyn, the only genre I avoid completely is horror–I don’t care to be scared for its own sake.

    Lately I’ve been reading more romance than anything else, but the cool thing is that romance has spread to encompass most of my other favorite genres–you have romantic suspense, gothic romance, paranormal romance for those fantasy elements, and lately there’s also romance with science fiction–which makes this Asimov fan very happy.

    Reading what the other ladies have said *waving* I find that I have become more critical in my reading–but that is a continuing trend from childhood. Novels that I devoured in my teens became wince-worthy in my twenties, and pretty much unreadable in my thirties (I still keep my copies of the first twenty Tarzan titles, though–sue me ๐Ÿ˜› ). The ones that I have been able to read again and again, as decades pass, are the ones which have set the tone for my current reading–Jules Verne, Asimov, Christie, Leblanc, Feval, Paz, Perez Galdรณs, etc.

    As I started reviewing–as opposed to simply recommending enthusiastically–I finally verbalized what it is that holds me. Pacing, characterization, consistency, use of language, plotting, what have you.

    The best premise can–and has for me, sadly–fall flat unless the writing is at the very least competent. And the most tired of tropes can become entirely new in the right hands.

    To this moment, I don’t know *why* only that I rejoice when it happens.

  21. 21 Susan
    November 10, 2008 at 4:08 am

    Congratulations on the reissues, Bronwyn! I have expanded the number of genres I read. I don’t think there is one I haven’t tried.

  22. November 10, 2008 at 6:23 am

    Bron, you asked “is the lack of time travel reading because there havenโ€™t been so many published? Or a change in your taste?”

    I think it’s mostly the latter, although when I look at time travel titles now they seem to be top heavy on medieval Scotland. Now, I like me a man in a kilt, don’t get me wrong, but I like a bit of variety too. Recently I read “A Knight in Shining Armour” by Jude Deveraux, and I really enjoyed it, even though the first part of the novel took place in the here and now with the hero travelling forward.

    Hmm, Eleni, you use your eeePC as an ebook reader as well? Why on earth didn’t I think of that. Bron, that’s excellent justification for NEEDING one, don’t you think? And then, of course, there are all the other wonderful features it has with portability, internet, etc. Provided you can get your fingers around the eensy weensy keyboard. I know when I tried one at the shops I nearly broke my wrists trying to type, but I understand that if you’re not a touch typist they’re a whole lot easier to come to terms with.

  23. November 10, 2008 at 7:39 am

    Annie, to find time to write when you also work another job and are a caregiver means something has to give. On the plus side, I bet you use reading as a treat now, a reward for when you have finished your pages, and that has to be sweet. Thank you also for kind words about my workshop. Pleased that it helped you in some small way.

    Azteclady, I don’t get the joy of horror, from books, movies, anything. Walked into TV room last week and son was channel surfing, stopped on a reality show where unwitting people were set up to be scared out of their wits. One stunt was a simulated home invasion, with what looked like real weapons. I kept thinking, this can’t be for real, they COULDN’T do this to people in the name of entertainment. But, I digress…

    Many (most?) writers mention becoming more discerning readers so interesting to hear the same happens from a reader and reviewer perspective. Neat that reviewing has allowed you to articulate what matters most to you as a reader. Rejoice, indeed.

    Eclectic, Susan, good for you.

    Yvonne, I’m thinking that Christmas is just around the corner. And I’m a peck-and-find typist. *g* As as eReader, wouldn’t be as portable or easy as smaller devices, but still would be useful.

    Bron

  24. November 10, 2008 at 7:45 am

    Oops, meant to mention the time travel. Was interested because I’ve not read many. Outlander, of course, and…um…um…stumped. In theory it creates awesome conflict and fun scenes but definitely not an easy resolution to pull off.

    Another then and now:

    Then I had one computer to use, the family desktop.
    Now there is the desktop and laptop and alphasmart and PDA and iPod. All part of the writing arsenal.

    Bron

  25. November 10, 2008 at 10:45 am

    Azteclady said: the cool thing is that romance has spread to encompass most of my other favorite genres

    I think this insiduous creep of romance ๐Ÿ˜‰ to other genres shows that we’re a genre to be taken seriously. Look at TV (not the scary type, Bron ๐Ÿ˜ฏ ) Reality shows The Bachelor and The Bachelorette were all about finding true love (albeit staged). People watch in droves when they think a couple is going to get together on Survivor, Big Brother. And of course, let’s not forget drama shows, where sexual tension keeps everyone watching… The Nanny, Lois and Clark, X Files, Grey’s Anatomy et al. And in a book, when that sexual tension is requited, that’s your HEA. Unfortunately for TV, it means you’ve jumped the shark and ratings plummet ๐Ÿ˜•

    Bron I must confess – Eleni has my eeePC. I couldn’t stand the teeny-tiny keyboard because I’m a touch typer and really need a normal sized one. I’m hanging out for a Sony e-reader with my next advance (speaking of scary TV… my 8yo watched a Tin Tin episode yesterday and got really scared, poor thing. It really WAS creepy, too!).

    My personal then and now – this time 7 years ago, I got a new you-beaut computer. I only just replaced it three months ago! And I’ve also been through 2 MP3 players, 2 digital cameras, three Quickpads, four printers, two scanners, two DVD/VCR players and one PDA. I now have a computer, an Ipod, digital camera, Alphasmart, PDA, two printers (1 color, 1 b/w) two portable DVD players and one DVD/VCR. The TV has outlasted them all!

  26. November 11, 2008 at 1:20 am

    Well, I’ve only been reading romances since something like 2003/2004, so very generally speaking, not much has changed. . . but in the end, I wouldn’t have known that something like paranormals or the like weren’t around much before hand. And while half of what I buy and read are contemporaries, the other half are historicals. . . once I started looking around online when I started reading romances, I saw that historicals are disappearing, though sure never felt that way to me! LOL The biggest difference is traditional Regencies went bye-bye. Those probably won’t be coming back in the monthly books like they did, but there’s no reason why it can’t be around in some form! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Lois

  27. November 11, 2008 at 6:38 am

    Paula wrote: my 8yo watched a Tin Tin episode yesterday and got really scared, poor thing

    OMG, really? My brother had all the Tin Tin books and I used to love to read them (cartoon strip books and they were huge hardcovers) but there was one that left me with recurring nightmares. Even now I shudder to think about it, although my nightmares these days relate back purely to my old day job and having to go back ๐Ÿ˜•

    I agree with you all on the electronic invasion in our households. Thing is, you can’t rely on any of it so you have to have it all backed up on other options left right and centre, don’t you?

    Bron wrote: In theory it creates awesome conflict and fun scenes but definitely not an easy resolution to pull off.

    Yes, I agree that time travels create awesome conflict. I toyed with writing one years and years ago and I’m still keen to give it a bash one of these days…hmmm, now you’ve got me thinking. Anyway, as far as resolution, the Jude Deveraux I read more recently handled that nicely, although since I’d not too long ago read her ‘Remembrance’ I wondered if she uses reincarnation as a tool often. That said, it still worked for me as the reader (and the author) in the context in which it was done. And as a romantic, I’m more than happy to believe that you could meet a stranger, your eyes connect and you know in that split second that your hearts are bound as one through eternity *sigh*

  28. 28 Kirsty C
    November 11, 2008 at 7:54 am

    Thanks Bronwyn and Yvonne for all your input on writing for Desire. You have confirmed what I’d been thinking.

    I’ll keep an eye out for your ’09 releases, Bronwyn, I love a bit of humour!

    Thanks so much for taking the time to run this thread.

  29. November 11, 2008 at 11:11 pm

    Bron, Congratulations on the Bestseller re-releases!! Can’t imagine how exciting that must be. In my mind, the name Bronwyn Jameson *is* Australian Desire. I’m betting the other Desireabelles agree. I began writing in 1999 and gobbled up your books, enjoying the stories and dreaming of one day being able to create characters like yours. Desire has changed since then, and I love them now as much as I did then – they still have that unique tone I adore. Paula, I loved Temptation too. So good! And Yvonne, I so want to write a time travel too! Read the Time Traveller’s Wife – I’m always recommending it, but it’s simply the best! And congrats on No 11!!

    Robbie

  30. November 12, 2008 at 9:14 am

    Paula, your gadget list leaves mine for dead. Shall point this out to my dh who keeps asking, “And what do you need THAT one for?” ๐Ÿ™‚ BTW, agree with you on the UST. Keeps a body turning the pages…or tuning in to watch. BUT there does have to be a payoff and I think you can only string the punters along so far (which is when I stopped reading the travails of Steph Plum.)

    Lois, tis great to hear a newer reader’s perspective. Thanks! I wonder if the pendulum will swing around to a time when the gentler, witty regency makes a comeback? One would think with the popularity of Jane Austen that there is still a market.

    Yvonne, as the resident cynic ๐Ÿ™‚ you know I’d be saying “but, but…logically, how could that be so?” OTOH, my romantic heart would be going bumpitybump.

    Kirsty. Ooh, the pressure’s on now. Bron scribbles note: Insert more humour..

    Hey, Robbie, thank you so much for the lovely words. I always hope there is something identifiably “me” in my books — I think we all do, yes? And congratulations on your Borders/Waldenbooks bestseller this week. Most excellent.

    Bron

  31. 31 christa
    November 12, 2008 at 9:47 am

    I also think now a reader can find more places out there in cyberspace to research a book before buying

  32. 32 Dina
    November 12, 2008 at 10:18 am

    Congrats Bron. What I noticed was the fact that there is wider range of places used as settings. Like some strange town in the states or a South American country.

  33. 33 Lisa Lee
    November 12, 2008 at 10:23 am

    Congratulations Bron. I noticed that there is an increase in the amount of books that has an Epilogue. I love to read it at the end, it just enhances the story.

  34. 34 Mia
    November 12, 2008 at 12:25 pm

    Well, the Mills and Boon site in the UK now carries ebooks so if a book is released there before the states l can just download it. Usually l would have to order it specially. More expensive.

  35. 35 Sandra
    November 12, 2008 at 6:26 pm

    Hi Bron

    Congratulations on the Bestseller package. How cool. I clearly remember buying your very first book and it just doesn’t seem that long ago.

    The biggest change in my reading is the size of my TBR pile. Everytime I buy a new book these days I have a little voice in my head saying “But shouldn’t you read all those ones by your bed first!” Naturally, I ignore the voice.

    I do miss some of the Desire cowboys (loved Anne McAllister’s) but I also know I can find them in some of the other lines.

    Haven’t tried the ebook thing. Might have to catch up with technology one day. At least the bedside stack might not look so daunting that way.

  36. 36 christa
    November 13, 2008 at 2:05 am

    So for herion’s you’re staying away from Paris Lindsey and Brittney. Any hero names you’re steering clear of?

  37. 37 RobynL
    November 13, 2008 at 2:55 am

    reading habits changed are I’m using a Palm reader now and my TBR pile is definitely ‘way higher’ than it was back then. Congrats on the re-issues.

  38. 38 Maureen
    November 13, 2008 at 5:39 am

    For me I don’t think my reading habits have changed too much from 2000. I still enjoy contemporaries and historical stories with men and women who are strong and smart.

  39. November 13, 2008 at 8:14 am

    On the e-book side of things, there’s less evidence lying about the house as to how much you actually spend on books…heh heh heh!

  40. 40 Gina
    November 13, 2008 at 8:34 am

    l hear you on that point Yvonne. After Uni l sometimes reach late after everyone, so when l come out of the car with the bookstore’s distinctive green bag my mom just watches me and say “How much did you spend this time” ๐Ÿ˜€

  41. 41 Gina
    November 13, 2008 at 8:43 am

    Oops back to the main question, l find that more authors are branching out into writing for more than one line or writing full length novels like, Lucy Monroe, Nicola Marsh, Ally Blake, Kate Hardy, Sarah Morgan Catherine Mann etc. too many of my favourites to list but here are a few of mine.

  42. November 13, 2008 at 9:35 am

    Christa said: I also think now a reader can find more places out there in cyberspace to research a book before buying

    True, and more places to do the buying as well, without having to leave the home.

    Lisa Lee, your comment on epilogues is timely as I was just this morning thinking about one for the book I’m currently writing. Must admit that I like them, too. All those brides and babies. Happy sigh.

    Mia said: Well, the Mills and Boon site in the UK now carries ebooks so if a book is released there before the states l can just download it. Usually l would have to order it specially. More expensive.

    My primary motivation for starting eBooks was being able to buy new releases from America sooner and cheaper, as well as at any time I felt like a specific read. No waiting, I could download and be reading it within minutes. Now we can get M&B direct from the UK as well, although I haven’t as yet. Wish they had other formats other than Adobe.

    Bron

  43. November 13, 2008 at 9:53 am

    Sandra said: I clearly remember buying your very first book and it just doesnโ€™t seem that long ago.

    I know! I can see those years on my face, but otherwise WHERE did they go???

    I loved, loved, loved Anne McAllister’s Code of the West books, too, and wish she would do some more. Not that I don’t also love the Presents she’s writing now but she really did that cowboy code justice didn’t she?

    Havenโ€™t tried the ebook thing. Might have to catch up with technology one day. At least the bedside stack might not look so daunting that way.

    It doesn’t, there’s no chance of injury from teetering stacks of books, AND you don’t have to dust the eBook TBR pile. Not to mention Yvonne’s excellent point about visible evidence! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Bron

  44. November 13, 2008 at 10:59 am

    Christa said: So for herionโ€™s youโ€™re staying away from Paris Lindsey and Brittney. Any hero names youโ€™re steering clear of?

    Interesting question which I’m going to answer with a question (for everyone.) Are there any names that instantly conjure up Men Behaving Badly type negative images, as those girls’ names do? Can’t think of any of the top of my head but I’m sure there must be… Oh, wait, I have one. Will never name a hero Adolph. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Robyn, there are ALWAYS more books to add to that TBR pile, aren’t there?

    Maureen, great that you know exactly what you’re looking for and can still find it in both contemporaries and historicals.

    Gina said: l find that more authors are branching out into writing for more than one line or writing full length novels .

    Excellent point. It’s something of a trend, authors are writing faster, becoming more prolific, but then sometimes this is born of necessity if they need/want to make a good living from writing.

    Bron

  45. 45 azteclady
    November 14, 2008 at 1:04 am

    On the writing faster as a necessity… the great thing is that there are those other lines for them to try out, isn’t it?

  46. November 14, 2008 at 3:56 am

    Just wanted to say great post, Bron! It’s amazing how fast things change, but I think that fluidity keeps everything fresh ๐Ÿ™‚

  47. November 15, 2008 at 9:40 am

    Yes, azteclady, so true. The other salient point there is that writing different kinds of books, for different series or publishers, can keep an author fresh and excited about each new project. Which segues rather neatly to Nalini’s comment about fluidity keeping things fresh and interesting for authors as well. Same old, same old, not so much (at least for those of us of the Gemini persuasion. ๐Ÿ˜‰ )

    Prize draw coming up. Stay tuned. And do check in tomorrow for Robyn Grady’s first post on Desirabelles. It’s about her fab new Desire, Baby Bequest, a current Borders/Waldenbooks bestseller!

    Bron

  48. November 15, 2008 at 9:51 am

    And the winner of a signed copy of my Bestseller Collection plus surprise extra is…

    Lois.

    Congratulations, Lois. Please email me with your address and I will get your prize in the mail.

    Bron

  49. 49 azteclady
    November 15, 2008 at 10:32 am

    *applause* Congrats, Lois!

    *waving* See you tomorrow, ladies! ๐Ÿ˜€

  50. 50 christa
    November 16, 2008 at 1:19 am

    congrats Lois

  51. 51 limecello
    November 16, 2008 at 3:52 am

    Congrats, Lois – enjoy!


Comments are currently closed.

