26
Oct
08

Sssssssmokin’! Blokes who cut their hair and brought sexy back

A few years ago, I worked with a guy who was your typical surfer type – bronzed, blue-eyed, tall and lean,  with tied-up blond locks that accompanied his business suit every day. A nice guy, but no-one you’d think was stunning. Then, one day, he did a Bon Jovi and cut that hair.  Phhhwoooor!  Instant stud muffin, as voted by all the girls in the office.   

So that got me thinking – we all love a good celebrity overhaul and women always make the front pages. What about the guys? It can be as simple as cutting your hair.

Jon Bon Jovi
It sent shockwaves around the world in the early 90s.  I can remember a friend actually crying about the loss of those long, permed locks (go figure).  But in going the chop, the lead singer of 80s hair band Bon Jovi not only brought his music into the 21at century, but started a trend by “doing a Bon Jovi” and becoming seriously sexy.

 

Russell Crowe
This choice was a bit of a stretch because really, Russ looks gorgeous with any length of hair, as long as he’s got a three-day growth happening (clean shaven and he looks waaaay too 80s).  But if I really had to choose between long-hair or short-hair Russ (hmm… sounds like a dream I had once) I’d take him a little rough around the edges. As long as he doesn’t start throwing any objects except himself in my direction.

 

Jamie Durie
Yeah, he started off as a dancer in Australia’s early 90s all-male strip show Man Power, and I admit I saw him perform once (or was that twice?)  Boy, did he have the muscles to back up those sexy locks!  But then he disappeared from public view, obviously to discourage all those panty-throwing, wildly-groping hysterical women, cuts the hair, gets his own gardening show and is now not only seriously talented but oh so nice to look at, too.   And all packed into a pair of worn blue denims… yum!

 

Ian “Dicko” Dickson
Lordy, the man looked like something out of a cheap sleazy nightclub.  Australian Idol’s answer to Simon Cowell seriously needed a modern day overhaul, especially in an industry that embraces change, fashion and cutting edge.  What is it about aging Aussie blokes and their mullets?  Are they all members of the “Blokes Over 35 That Hold Onto Their Mullet Waaaay Too Long” Club?  I can’t count how many times I’ve screamed at my TV “cut your bloody HAIR!”   And finally my prayers were answered.  Now, he may still be a little paunchy and definitely not under 35, but I have a soft spot for a guy who is man enough to admit the mullet isn’t working.

Jason Wiles
You may recognize Third Watch’s Detective Boscorelli from Bon Jovi’s film clip, “Always” (it also featured Keri “Felicity” Russell, too).  Thank the lord someone gave that guy a haircut and a role on Beverly Hills 90210!  And while Jason and Keri both may be pretty with long hair, Jason is definitely hotter going short. 

Fabio
Ahhh, Mister Romance himself.  Mister Stud Muffin, Beefcake, Hunk of Medieval Warrior…oops, sorry, got carried away.  There’s no denying the he-man looks, the built bod… but the hair just has to go.  And it did for a while.  I can’t recall if he’s grown it back or not (if there is a god, no!) but don’t you think he looks smoulderingly ssseexy without it, as witnessed in this GQ ad?

 

Billy Ray Cyrus
I can hear it now:
(Disney execs) – “we’re looking at Billy Ray Cyrus for the part of Hannah Montana’s dad.”
“What, Mister Achy Breaky Heart?”
“Yep.”
“You’re fired.”
“We’ll give him a haircut. Trust me, he’ll look hip and cool.”
“So help me, if this show flops you’ll never work in this town again!”
And so the King of the Mullet is no more. Thank god.  Now I’m just waiting for him to remove that annoying little flava sava from his lip because he sooo looks like Keith Urban and we all know there can only be one Mister Nicole Kidman.

Who’s your favorite celeb, singer, actor who’s gone the chop and looks better for it? And because we’re an equal-opportunity blog, you can go to town on the women too!

18 Responses to “Sssssssmokin’! Blokes who cut their hair and brought sexy back”


  1. October 26, 2008 at 10:07 pm

    I remember being totally shocked when Bon Jovi cut his hair, but oh my goodness the man is still hot!

    I had totally forgotten that Dicko had such a terrible hair cut! Definitely looks much better now! I love listening to him on the radio every morning.

  2. 2 azteclady
    October 27, 2008 at 2:24 am

    Hmmm… erm… ah….

    I dunno.

    😀

  3. 3 Avi J
    October 27, 2008 at 3:40 am

    l have one to add to the list. Richard Marx, an American pop singer from. My favourite singer.

  4. 4 Jane
    October 27, 2008 at 5:59 am

    I think Orlando Bloom looks better with short hair. I like Eva Longoria with short hair, too.

  5. 5 Jane
    October 27, 2008 at 6:07 am

    I also love Bono with short hair. He was pretty sexy in the 80’s when he had long hair, but he looks more youthful with short hair.

  6. October 27, 2008 at 9:32 am

    oh, come on, Aztec Lady!! 😀 Meg Ryan, Gwyneth Paltrow, to name a few.
    Marg – you should see the full version of that JBJ after shot – he’s in a blanket and nothin’ else!
    Avi J – oooh, yes! Dick Marx! Oh, and Michael Bolton, who, while not my idea of sexy, looks heaps better without the mullet.
    Jane – Eva Longoria? Really? And yep, Bono. Another few – Duran Duran! Although I was a Nick Rhodes fan from waaaay back…

    I was really surprised with how much Fabio looks like Matthew Fox in that short cut photo… Mmmmm, Matthew Fox. Now there’s a guy who just gets better looking each year!

  7. October 28, 2008 at 6:54 am

    Hmm, for some reason whenever I look at Fabio I don’t see hair or a face 😉 but yeah, the GQ photo certainly shows he can scrub up well in this century too.

    One actor I thought always looked better with long hair is Adrian Paul. I remember watching episode after episode of The Highlander and just totally loving his look until one day, whammo! What the heck happened to him? Damn shame when he cut his hair IMESHO. 😦

  8. 8 Sandra
    October 28, 2008 at 10:36 am

    Quick comment before I go Google the full shot of JBJ. The Beckenham’s-I like both him and her with their shorter hair. And I’ll do some more research on Brad Pitt (it’s a tough job, but someone’s got to do it) to see whether he gets my vote with short of long.

  9. October 28, 2008 at 1:23 pm

    Ooh, Paula, nice post =) Billy Ray is a total sweetheart, and far sexier now minus the mullet. I’m thinking..the mullet is back for teenage girls. Could be a matter of time before it goes full circle and the guys are doing it again? I’m just trying to picture Gerard Butler with an Achey-Breaky hair-do. Ah, he could get away with anything! =)

    Robbie

  10. October 28, 2008 at 1:37 pm

    Gerard Butler and a mullet? My eyes… they burn!!!!!!!!!!!!

  11. 11 limecello
    October 28, 2008 at 2:22 pm

    Er… I don’t know? Haha. :X I don’t follow celebrities much and/but haven’t gone for the super long hair. Esp recently- it’s so overrated and all these guys walking around shaggy and girly and I can’t stand it. [Maybe b/c I’m so close to them in age? I dunno.]
    But some of those cuts are great! I’m digging the “groomed” look 😉

  12. October 28, 2008 at 4:56 pm

    Limecello, I’m with you. A fan of the groomed look for sure. Becks and Brad both much sexier with the short back and sides. As for the girls, off the top of my head I’d say Katie Holmes, Demi Moore, Cameron Diaz all look fab with short hair. Oh, and Halle Berry too.

    Bron

  13. 13 Patricia Cochran
    October 30, 2008 at 9:32 am

    Goodness gracious! What a difference a pair of scissors can make!!

    Pat Cochran

  14. January 5, 2010 at 12:14 am

    I think that Russel Crowe is the sexiest man on the planet.. (Y) I’m from sweden Btw..:D

  15. January 7, 2010 at 6:27 am

    Hi Sarah! You either love or hate Russell – I’m a big fan of his work and yes, he IS one sexy dude. But not sure I could handle his attitude 24/7 😀

  16. 16 D,
    January 10, 2010 at 4:51 am

    Didn’t Bill remove that mullet years before Disney even knew who he was?

  17. 17 Kaylah
    March 5, 2011 at 10:06 am

    How can you say Fabio’s hair has to go?! Short hair doesn’t suit him at all!

  18. 18 BoDean
    October 25, 2012 at 12:37 am

    NEVER thought Fabio was hot with the long cheesy locks, to me it took away from the overall sex appeal that he was said to exude…but OMG the short hair!! So smokin’ now. The man is beautiful. Where has he been and when will he be back with the short hair??? 6’3″, dark blue eyes, short hair and a body like a greek sculpture. Oh my.


Comments are currently closed.

