31
Aug
08

Series Love

Edited to Add: Thanks for the great discussion everyone! I’ve drawn the random winner (thanks to random.org) and it’s TERESA W. Congratulations. Can you email me at nalinisinghwrites at gmail.com with your details? 🙂

I’m currently anticipating the September 2nd release of the 5th full-length book in the Psy/Changeling series, Hostage to Pleasure. Though I’ve participated in one continuity (the Ashtons), and written two loosely connected books (Desert Warrior and Craving Beauty), this is my first continuing series. And I love it! Love, love, love it!

If had to enumerate the reasons why, I think I’d say that one of the most wonderful aspects of these books is that I get to see my characters develop and change. For example Sascha and Lucas from Slave to Sensation, continue to be integral parts of the stories—we get to see them after their happy ever after, get to see them growing into their love, into becoming ever stronger as a couple.

As a reader, this journey of a developing love is something I’ve always wanted to see. If a book ends with declarations of love (come on, give me an epilogue at least!), you can be sure that in my head, I’m imagining a future for the couple – I want to know that they really did make it, that their happy ever after is solid and true.

With my Psy/Changeling couples, I not only get to fulfil this desire, I also get to develop the world book by book, story by story. And I also get to populate my world with secondary characters who are as important to the fabric of the stories as the protagonists.

For example, my series wouldn’t be the same without Julian and Roman, the twin leopard cubs who pretty much stole my heart the instant they jumped onto the page and opened their mouths in baby growls. I’ve even gotten reader mail asking if I’ll ever write their stories. They’re only little, so I don’t know about that, but I do know that this is a world I’ll continue to play in as long as they let me (and probably after, too!).

So now, my question to you. As a reader, what is it about connected books, or books in a series, that you love? What are your favorite series? Do you have a favorite book that you wish the author would write a sequel to?

Giveaway: And because my release is coming up, and I want to share the joy, everyone who leaves a comment goes into a draw to win a book from my backlist (not including HtP). Contest ends Tuesday, September 2nd, 2008, midnight, New Zealand time.

Also, a quick note. If you blog, keep a livejournal, myspace page etc, don’t forget to enter my Hostage to Pleasure Release Contest and go into the draw for a US$75 gift certificate.

46 Responses to “Series Love”


  1. August 31, 2008 at 7:41 am

    Hi Nalini!
    You are blogging everywhere and it’s making me very impatient to get my copy of HtP!! Only a few more days. I’ll be hittin the bookstore on Tuesday!!

  2. August 31, 2008 at 7:47 am

    I forgot to answer your question…I enjoy series because we get involved with future characters and get to know them and it makes it exciting when we finally get their story.

  3. 3 Willa
    August 31, 2008 at 8:14 am

    I love books in a series because you can watch characters grow, not just the main ones who have had/are having their HEA but also the secondary characters – half the fun can be guessing whose story might be next! You get more of a rounded picture of the characters you grow to love, their backstory etc, and their future together.

    Favourite series are Linda Howards ‘Kell Sabin’ books – Diamond Bay, Midnight Rainbow, Heartbreaker & White Lies.
    Also love Nora Roberts Chesapeake Bay series – Sea Swept, Rising Tides, Inner Harbor & Chesapeake Blue and her ‘Key’ Trilogy.

  4. 4 Lisa
    August 31, 2008 at 8:21 am

    Hi Nalini:

    Hostage to Pleasure was out when I was shopping today. As soon as I log off I am going to begin reading it. I can’t wait. I have a ton of books but I wouldn’t start any becasue I wanted to read about Dorian.

    I love te Psy/Changeling series. It is very believable and the characters are likable with a great senses of humor. Vaughn is my favorite, but Dorian may change my mind.

    Currently, most of the books I am reading are series, so I do not have any books I wish to see continued in a series. I like being able to revisit old friends and see how everyone is doing. My wish would be that the sequels (or prequels) come out quicker. Waiting six months or a year to catch up on what’s happening seems way too long. Although I don’t like the price for anthologies, it is a great way to keep in touch with a series (I have the Magical Christmas Cat on preorder).

    Have a great day!

    Lisa

  5. August 31, 2008 at 8:31 am

    Like you – and other posters – have said, I love getting a chance to see older characters living their HEA in a realistic way. In a series like the Psy/Changeling one, I also like the way that we not only see the characters growing and developing, we also see the world itself growing, changing and revealing more of its secrets.

    I’m not going to get hold of my copy of HtP before the 10th (when I’m next over Manakau way) but I’m looking forward to getting my greedy little paws on it.

  6. August 31, 2008 at 9:20 am

    Nalini, you have pretty much summed up my love of series: it’s that return visit to a world we know, to remeet characters from previous books but also see what is in store for intriguing characters who have been introduced in earlier books…not just as “here’s the next hero” but with strong role that’s part of the story/plot., I love when that’s done well.

    Some favourites from category romance: Barbara McCauley’s Secrets! which started with the Sinclair brothers and sister and moved into the Blackhawks. Suzanne Brockmann’s Tall, Dark and Dangerous SEALS. Fiona Brand’s SAS dudes. Am sure there’s more but Sunday morning, insufficient caffeine.

    Bron

  7. August 31, 2008 at 9:32 am

    For me it’s the sense of community in a series that grabs me by the heart. So often our characters are orphans and they gather around them a new family. Seeing the dynamics of these new and extended family members (together with existing ones if we haven’t killed them off!) is both intriguing and rewarding as a reader and I’m always wondering who will be the next book’s h/H (if it’s not already obvious.)

    I think my favourite series (including Nalini’s Psy) are NR’s Jewels of the Sun, Tears of the Moon and Heart of the Sea as well as Dance Upon the Air, Heaven and Earth and Face the Fire. I also adore Anne Gracie’s Perfect series and, as Bron mentioned, Fiona Brand’s SAS guys (drool…)

    Yvonne

  8. 8 Rachel
    August 31, 2008 at 9:57 am

    I love a series of books for the same reasons that Nalini and everyone else have mentioned. It’s about being able to fall into the book so much sooner, because it’s not really a new start – I already know this world and these people. Like Yvonne, I loved Nora Roberts’s Three Sister Island trilogy, and also adore a historical series, like Anne Gracie’s Perfect series, and Eloisa James’s fabulous Essex sisters. Oh, and I loved the Susan Elizabeth Phillips Chicago Stars series. In fact, I think I could go on all day!

  9. August 31, 2008 at 9:58 am

    I am a totally series junkie! I like them because you can see the couple after their HEA and see secondary character come to life.

    But I have to say that I do love your world best. Its so rich and multi-dimensional. And you are so right. It would not be the same without the twins, and I love the addition of Keenan in HtP!.

    The series that I wish more had been written is Ann Maxwell’s FireDancer series (early ’80s). She only wrote three and it was just getting to the good part when she stop. Now I’ll never know if Rheba and Kirtn have their HEA. *sigh*

  10. 10 lisa lee
    August 31, 2008 at 11:30 am

    Hi Nalini I love series books so much that if i read one and find out there is a previous book I do my best to get the connecting story

  11. 11 Avi J
    August 31, 2008 at 11:37 am

    I so love series! and speaking of a great most of us would have read the DDU series amazing stuff. A favourite of mine is Lucy Monroe’s Royal Brides Series, I can’t wait to see more as the two released in July and August were fantastic.

  12. 12 Pamk
    August 31, 2008 at 12:14 pm

    absolutely love this series.

  13. 13 Dina
    August 31, 2008 at 1:03 pm

    I am a huge fan of series stories, it does not matter how long I have to wait for the next book, I never loose intrest to read it

  14. 14 azteclady
    August 31, 2008 at 1:06 pm

    *waving* Hi, Nalini!

    Personally, I don’t care much for epilogues, but series–and some continuities–allow me to see how well loved characters are doing “in real time” so to speak. I don’t like it when characters pop in simply to “check in” but when they are part of the story, it’s most excellent to see them.

    Here’s wishing you outrageous success with Hostage to Pleasure!

  15. 15 Mia
    August 31, 2008 at 1:16 pm

    Series are the best, it just draw you into this other world. For me, Day leclaire writes terrific romances for desire. The Dante Legacy is really a great series.

  16. August 31, 2008 at 1:21 pm

    Some great answers – and great series recommendations! I hope those of you who plan to read HtP enjoy it muchly!! 🙂

  17. 17 Rebekah
    August 31, 2008 at 1:31 pm

    I love a series that brings back characters I loved, especially when they were in a minor supporting role and the following book in the series is this person’s story. (For example: Gena Showalter’s LORDS OF THE UNDERWORLD series)

    Would love to be entered in your giveaway. Thanks so much.

    Rebekah
    littleminx at cox dot net

  18. 18 kh
    August 31, 2008 at 3:44 pm

    i love lori foster winston books.

  19. 19 Eva
    August 31, 2008 at 7:00 pm

    Nalini,
    your joy of writing comes though the lines*g*.
    – And that`s a reason why I love your books!
    Your stories “lives”. And you understand it very well to explore your characters.
    (And that brings a secondary talent of you… – You`re very good in torturing, because it`s allways so hard to wait for the next book in your changeling-/psy series*g*).

    I dont know if I should write that…
    – But I`ve read some other stories of you like “Awaken to Pleasure” (Note: I love the story.) and in comparision to your changeling-/psy series I think there `s also a further raise in your writing abilities.

    Greetings form Germany!
    ~Eva

  20. 20 Tiffany
    September 1, 2008 at 1:19 am

    I am an epilogue lover, as well. After I put down a book I really enjoy, I always wonder what happens next. I think that’s one of the main reasons I love your books, Nora’s trilogies, and Ward’s brotherhood. You answer that question.

  21. 21 Beth
    September 1, 2008 at 3:21 am

    I love your psy/changeling series for the same reason you mention above. I love finding out what happens after the main plot ends. I even like it when after a movie — they give either extra scenes or just a picture & a blurb of what the main cast do after the film’s story. 🙂

    On Tuesday after-work – I’m going straight to the bookstore!

    I have a ton of series I love — Michelle Sagara/West, Lee & Miller, Jennifer Rardin, Asario & many more. 🙂 I have over 400 books — which I have to keep as I reread as the urge takes me. 🙂

    I’ve must have read your psy series back-to-back 10 or 20 times. (Which takes longer as you add more books — Yay!)

    I’ve been dying to read HTP – I have this crazy idea that his one night with a Psy has something to do with this plot. I’m probably wrong but the smidgen of a chance that it could be true is just driving me crazy… well… crazier. 😀

  22. September 1, 2008 at 4:49 am

    Hi Nalini, I love your psi/changling series because of the way you develop the characters from previous books and let us see how they are getting on. I am looking forward to seeing lots of previous characters in the new book (just as soon as I can afford it that is).

    On the subject of series’ in romance I love them and have a number of them on my keeper shelf to revisit whenever the urge takes me 😀

  23. 23 LJ
    September 1, 2008 at 5:02 am

    Oh I am late for this blog, anyway today ( Aug 31 st )is Independance Day home so celebrations started early.
    I love books that are from a series. Sometimes the quickest way I buy a book is for it to be part of a series. Maxine’s Australian millionaire series was one of my favourites.

  24. 24 Liliana
    September 1, 2008 at 5:04 am

    I would have to agree with everything everyone’s said so far. I love series because you get to see characters develop and change overtime. It’s interesting to see how a character’s view on life can change from one book to another. Also, in series there is always an overall story that is thread throughout each of the books and I usually can’t wait to see how an author leads us into its climax.
    I’ve always been into the paranormal so that many of the series I read have to do with vampires. gods, demons, or changelings. I just finished reading Acheron, Sherriyn Kenyon’s latest addition to her Dark Hunter series. I’m also anxiously awaitng the next book in Gena Showalter’s Lords of the Underworld series.

  25. 25 Eva S
    September 1, 2008 at 6:20 am

    Hi Nalini,
    thanks for your wonderful series!! I love the world you have created and I hope you will write many more books. I’m a huge fan of paranormals and series and other favorite series are J.R Ward’s Brotherhood and Lara Adrian’s Midnight Breed.

  26. 26 Shari C
    September 1, 2008 at 6:49 am

    Can’t wait for ‘Hostage to Pleasure’ to arrive at my neighborhood bookstore. I really enjoy the Psy/Changeling series.
    I like series as I get to find out more about characters from earlier books which is always fun or get to see secondary characters become the lead person in a story and find out more about them and the one who turns out to be their love. Of course, your series is one of my favorites plus the Drake Sisters by Christine Feehan, the Sookie Stackhouse series by Charlaine Harris, the Black Dagger Brotherhood series by J R Ward and Kitty, the celebrity werewolf series by Carrie Vaughn are some of my absolute favorites.

  27. 27 limecello
    September 1, 2008 at 6:53 am

    Nalini – Congratulations on the new book! I really love your Psy/Changeling series! As for books I wish had sequels… haha I always blank when there are questions. I know there are a number of them but I can’t think of anything right now. Also/more importantly there aren’t *that* many as authors don’t seem to write stand alone books anymore. In fact, I can’t even remember the last stand alone book I’ve read 😛 – clearly this is a win win situation for everyone, as authors get to write more books and readers then get them too!

  28. 28 Gina
    September 1, 2008 at 7:12 am

    Series books are the best. I love looking forward to seeing the progress of the characters from the previous ones I read. Maureen Child is one author that writes some of my favourite series romances.

  29. 29 Teresa W.
    September 1, 2008 at 8:42 am

    I enjoy connected series, they always keep me anticipating on what is going to happen next. My favorite right now is Sherrilyn Kenyon’s Dark-Hunter series!

  30. 30 orannia
    September 1, 2008 at 8:52 am

    HI everyone *waves madly*

    I’m a little late and I think everyone has covered why I love books in a series, but I’ll try and add my two cents worth 🙂 Relationships don’t stop after the HEA moment and I love being able to witness the development and strengthening of a relationship over time as we re-visit characters (and meet new ones). Often life has throw the hero and/or heroine a curve ball, and while they might turn a corner within themselves WRT a relationship there is still more to the journey, and I like being able to follow that. *looks back* I’m rambling again, aren’t I?

    As for which series I like – Psy/Changeling (a given), JR Ward’s BDB Brotherhood, Linda Howard’s Mackenzies…oh, and JD Robb’s Eve Dallas series. The latter is a great example of watching a relationship develop over time. Unfortunately, I’ve finally reached Strangers In Death, so once I’ve finished I will be up-to-date!

    Good luck with the release of HTP Nalini!

    orannia

  31. 31 Joan L.
    September 1, 2008 at 4:31 pm

    Hi Nalini,

    First of all, I just want you to know how much I LOVE your Psy/Changeling series. It’s rare for me to find a series that keeps my interest and instills a belief within me that I will purchase all the upcoming books even before I know what it’ll be about. Oh, and i also love Judd Lauren – Thank You for Judd Lauren.

    I enjoy connected books to learn more about the worlds and characters described within and also I like that it allows so many possibilities like new characters, new cultures, etc. to be discovered.

    A favorite series of mine since a decade ago is called the “Night World” series by L. J. Smith – it’s got to do with vampires, witches, shapeshifters, and humans, and my favorite subject – soulmates. There’s a trilogy she wrote called “The Forbidden Game” trilogy that made me realize what an amazing experience reading can be and I wish she would write more books related to that set of characters.

    Another series (I think you’ve mentioned it before) is the “Dark Jewels” trilogy and related novels/books by Anne Bishop.

    You + L.J. Smith + Anne Bishop = Love.

  32. 32 Lizzy
    September 2, 2008 at 12:49 am

    I love your Psy/Changeling series, and any books that is part of a series I am a big fan of them.

  33. September 2, 2008 at 7:04 am

    Nalini, congratulations on the release of Hostage to Pleasure. Exciting times.

    I love series books for all the reasons everyone here has mentioned. There’s just something wonderful about the connection between stories and characters and the sense of family and friendship, more so these days when families can be so small.

    LJ, happy Independence Day for your country, and thanks for loving my Australian Millionaires series. I love Nora’s Chesapeake series, and Susan Elizabeth Phillips’ Chicago series. I adore the smaller category series books, especially the Desires, which surprisingly is my favourite line. Oh, and there was that Diamonds Down Under series by those Down Under Desire authors that was fabulous too. LOL!

  34. September 3, 2008 at 9:43 am

    What a great discussion! I’ve read every single comment and been nodding along in agreement with your thoughts about why we love series. 🙂

    Thank you to all of you who’ve made such lovely comments about the Psy/Changeling series – you absolutely made my day!

    I’m going to draw the random winner now, and then I’ll be back to post the name.

  35. September 3, 2008 at 9:49 am

    And the numbers have spoken – the winner of the giveaway is RACHEL! Congratulations. Please email me at nalinisinghwrites at gmail.com with your details (and choice of book!) 🙂

  36. 37 limecello
    September 3, 2008 at 2:08 pm

    Wow congratulations, Rachel!

  37. September 3, 2008 at 4:18 pm

    Oops, I didn’t realize the Rachel who’d posted was a brand new Desirabelle who sold very recently. She’s asked me to pick another winner and the numbers chose Teresa W. Congrats! 🙂

  38. September 3, 2008 at 11:52 pm

    Congratulations, Teresa.

    And Nalini, forgot to say earlier (how rude of me!): Happy Happy Release Day for HtP. I know it will be a huge success.

    Bron

  39. 40 azteclady
    September 4, 2008 at 4:50 am

    *applause* Congrats, Teresa!

    *poking at Bron* where have you been, woman?

  40. September 4, 2008 at 6:35 am

    LOL, Rachel it really is your lucky year! I hope you’ve bought a lottery ticket. 😀

    Congratulations Teresa W!!

    And Nalini! Happy happy release day!

  41. September 4, 2008 at 6:37 am

    Where on earth has my comment gone?

    Tis truly strange, I tell you!

    In case it magically appears I’ll just say congrats again to Teresa W and many happy releases to Nalini for HtP!

  42. 43 Avi J
    September 4, 2008 at 9:25 am

    Congrats Teresa

  43. 44 Teresa W.
    September 4, 2008 at 12:57 pm

    Excited to see that I won and thanks to Rachael! Thanks for the congrats everyone.

  44. 45 Rachel
    September 4, 2008 at 1:02 pm

    Yay Teresa!

  45. September 5, 2008 at 1:55 pm

    better late than never! Happy release day, Nalini! Why do I love series? The sense of familiarity of returning to friends to see what they’re up to. I feel it personalises the reading experience more. When I was in SF I managed to hear a talk on “creating a successful series” with Pat White, Alexis Morgan and Michelle G from the 3 Seas agency. It was interesting and entertaining and very insightful.


Comments are currently closed.

