03
Aug
08

An Aussie at RWA Nationals!

Welcome to our very first Desirabelles post!  It’s great to be able to bring this one-of-a-kind Down Under blog to you all, from a bunch of wonderful, talented ladies.  There’s some great weekly posts to look forward to in the coming months, so bookmark us and return often.

Well, the best news first – Sandra Hyde, the winner of our “win an editorial critique with Silhouette’s Diana Ventimiglia”  from the DDU blog got The Call the other day!!!!  Especially exciting for us Diamond Gals who are at Nationals because we got to cheer and dance her success at Harlequin’s popular cocktail party on Friday night.  Welcome to Desire, Sandra, and we look forward to making you a Desirabelle too!

In other news, my good Aussie friend Catherine also got The Call (but in this case, The Face-To-Face) from Harlequin American.  I believe she’ll be writing as Cathy Coburn and her book will be out in November ’09.  We don’t have the American line Down Under, so that will be on my e-book list.

More news to come when I get home and can post some photos up!!

22 Responses to “An Aussie at RWA Nationals!”


  1. 1 Ellen
    August 3, 2008 at 4:26 am

    Congratulations on getting your new blog on line. I am looking forward to it very much. And congratulations to both Catherine and Diana on their books.

  2. 2 Ellen
    August 3, 2008 at 4:28 am

    oops should have been Sandra not Diana. Sorry Sandra didn’t mean to rename you.

  3. 3 Avi J
    August 3, 2008 at 6:14 am

    Congrats Sandra and Catherine, I’ll be on the look out for your books 😀
    The fun continues here yea 🙂

  4. 4 limecello
    August 3, 2008 at 6:45 am

    Wow – congratulations to Sandra and Catherine! That’s such exciting news! I hope everyone at the conference is having fun!!

  5. August 3, 2008 at 7:01 am

    It was awesome news to hear about Catherine’s face to face call. She’s a fabulous member of RWAustralia and if her contest rankings over the years are anything to go by I can’t wait to read her books! 😀

    I have to admit to feeling very very excited, though, for Sandra, especially since I rang her with the news of her DDU critique win. We had no idea who the particular ‘Sandra’ was who was drawn when Paula did the random draw that weekend and I had to go through my deleted mail list to find her original post to the blog way back in December last year, I think. I nearly went through the roof when I realised exactly ‘which’ Sandra it was and contacted a friend of hers for her number. She’s another writer who has consistently done well in competitions for years and years and I know that sometimes she’s found the road to publication a demanding one so it was awesome to hear she got the call. And at RWA Nationals too!

    I so wish I could be there to celebrate all this wonderful news with you all!

  6. 6 christa
    August 3, 2008 at 7:05 am

    WTG Sandra and Catherine. Looking forward to more books from Down Under

  7. August 3, 2008 at 7:57 am

    Yes, fantastic news from San Francisco, it must be amazing to be there – Bron? Paula? and to be able to celebrate with Sandra. One tiny correction though, I believe Sandra won the critique from Melissa Jeglinski, not Diana Ventimiglia, that was Marian Stevens, and we have yet to hear how she fared. Though I understand it was Diana who made THE CALL!! Whatever, fantastic news to brighten up our dreary winter’s weekend.

  8. August 3, 2008 at 12:20 pm

    YAY to both Sandra and to my gorgeous friend, Catherine! Look forward to reading both your wonderful books. How fantastic that the equally gorgeous Desirebells have helped another writer get herfirst sale!

    Hope you’re having a wonderful time over there, girls. You must be with all this partying 🙂
    Hugs
    Serena
    xx

  9. August 3, 2008 at 3:01 pm

    Very exciting news all round! It’s aways wonderful to hear of new Aussie authors! Congrats Catherine and Sandra!

  10. August 3, 2008 at 6:26 pm

    Congratulations to Catherine and Sandra, and on getting this blog up and running. I’m looking forward to more posts.

  11. 11 robyngrady
    August 3, 2008 at 6:38 pm

    What a fabulous conference for the Downunder gals!! I’m so excited for both Catherine (Cathy Coburn, I like that!!) and Sandra. Yvonne, I can’t imagine how wonderful it must have been for you to deliver the news! Mega congratulations to them both.

    Robbie

  12. August 4, 2008 at 6:15 am

    Jan, I think Paula must have been drinking too much champers when she wrote this blog 😀 Not to worry, any excuse to party! I’m looking forward to seeing some photos from RWA National, that’s for sure.

  13. August 4, 2008 at 6:16 am

    Robbie, yeah, it was fun to call Sandra with the news about the crit win. I don’t think she quite believed it at first, LOL! And I agree with you that Cathy Coburn sounds great as a pseudonym for Catherine. It’s all so exciting!

  14. 14 Jane
    August 4, 2008 at 6:38 am

    Congrats Sandra and Catherine.

  15. August 4, 2008 at 6:58 am

    Congratulations to Sandra! I bet she and the other ladies must have shaken the hotel with their screams. 🙂 Can’t wait for Bron, Paula, and Nalini to get back from SF to hear all about that and the conference. Hopefully Sandra will be able to join us here on this blog and tell us more when she recovers, though that could be a while!

  16. August 4, 2008 at 12:23 pm

    Great blog, girls 🙂

    And huge congrats to Sandra for becoming a Desirabelle, and to Catherine!

  17. August 4, 2008 at 2:51 pm

    Congratulations girls on your new blog and to the ladies who got the call!

  18. August 6, 2008 at 7:15 am

    I am back from SF and almost unpacked. Just wanted to add my excited cheers and congratulations to both Catherine and Sandra. News of both sales spread like the proverbial (Aussie) bushfire around conference and every time I saw the ladies their smiles said it all. I’m sure Sandra will be along to say hello once she returns from SF but for now let’s just say she is ever so slightly chuffed that her number came up in that draw.

    Bron

  19. August 6, 2008 at 7:16 am

    Also, I do have a few photos to post once I find the download cord.

    Bron

  20. 20 Fiona Brand
    August 9, 2008 at 11:31 am

    Congratulations to Sandra and Cathy. Great news, and very well done!

    Fiona

  21. 21 Nathalie
    August 13, 2008 at 7:26 am

    Must be great to have The Call after a lot of hard work!

    This blog looks great BTW 🙂


Comments are currently closed.

